We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MTR - Mavalli Tiffin Rooms

MTR - Mavalli Tiffin Rooms
Ranked #22 of 10,808 Restaurants in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $4
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Mavalli Tiffin Rooms, known more popularly as MTR, was established in 1924 and is one of Bangalore's oldest and most well known restaurants.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Among the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I fall short of words while writing for the amazing place. During my stay in Bangalore from 2007 to 2009, I had visited this place almost every weekend for breakfast. Had pushed so many friends to accompany me for early morning breakfast and trust me no one ever regretted missing on the sleep.

Must try : Rava idli, masala dosa with desi ghee.

You may have to wait in queue for 30 mins for your turn but trust me its worth it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amitc_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    756
    231
    57
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food,Authentic south indian taste. If you want experience Indian festival food(Veg) ,then MTR is the best place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The food is great.Well trained service team.If you want to try the real south Indian food,varieties of it please make a visit to this place.
MTR is always crowded and not really meant for couples for some one who wants to impress their partner and all. Try their lunch ,dosa varieties etc.If you plan to have lunch be sure to reach the place early before 20:30Pm. They don't entertain table bookings and all.It first come first serve basis.

It ffels like u are experiencing a festival food or so.The offer too many Items in their typical lunch. I think they offer around 20+ Items including two types of sweets. Over all great food,great service and great value for money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BangaloreTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food..Age old restaurant...same quality all the time ..very economical as well ...and taste predictable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Unclean..not up dated for years ..for all the money they make the least they can do is to make the place presentable and comfortable !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HARI N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had heard so much about it, that I badly wanted to go to have their lunch.
The food was fantastic, though I think it is a little overhyped.
But the quality of food is amazing.
It is a little difficult to spot, so don't look for a very posh looking restaurant. It looks very simple, but its really the food that will make you want to go back there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PriankaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Level Contributor
411 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Try a piece of local history, delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

1st opened in 1932 and still going strong, and if you are a foreigner like me and want to have a real exotic local dining experience, then this is the place to go. Taken by a local, we went for breakfast and it was difficult to get a table in this historic, atmospheric old building with lovely old photos of times gone by on the walls. Felt a bit uneasy as I was the only white person there, however that feeling soon disappeared once the food arrived, and with the help of a colleague was able to eat a delicious moong bean masala dosa, lightly dosed with ghee and served with delicious and not too spicy sambhar and chutney. I was full after this, but I will be back to try the idlli's and Wada, which seemed to be what most other customers were munching. A lovely experience, and for 2 the bill came to 2US and 20 cents.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MTR - Mavalli Tiffin Rooms also viewed

 
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 
Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 

Been to MTR - Mavalli Tiffin Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing