We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"great place to stay"”
Review of Hotel Shangrila

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Shangrila
Ranked #43 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel shangrila ladakh during our one week visit to Leh and Kashmir. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff members were friendly and responsive. The location also is near to the airport and situated at a quite place. In total I would like to stay and recommend everyone else to stay whenever they visit leh.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearl_3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 81 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

I still remember when i checked in this Hotal and i was absolutely stunned by the staff ,rooms and the service....
The Rooms were brilliant,clean...
Food was above the expectation and the Location was like perfect for me.....
I really enjoyed my business trip ....

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nishu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaladakh, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangrila, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Hotel Shangri-La Ladakh !

Thank you so much for the clear compliments you have stated upon us.
We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with our visitors and want you to walk out feeling refreshed. It is also an honour for to have esteemed guests like you .
Thank you once again. Visit again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Shangrila during a four day visit to Leh & surprisingly it was comfortable & hospitable.The rooms were nice although very low on amenities viz tea/coffee arrangements, room bar, etc. However, everything was available on a call with a responsive staff. The location is great, very close to the Airport & with a breathtaking view of the surrounding mountains. The food was average & it took some time to realise that the water was being served in steel tea pot..!! The recent mudslide had caused communications to be disrupted & hence for any calls / internet, the market was nearby. Should make for a good stay on a honeymoon or otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaladakh, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangrila, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your sincere review on TripAdvisor . It feels great to hear that you felt Shangri-la Ladakh quiet , comfortable and hospitable . We at Shangri-la Ladakh believe in the maximization of our guest's satisfaction by providing the best hospitality . Looking forward to welcome you someday , I promise you will have a comfortable stay with us . Thank you. Visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Shangrila in Leh, Ladakh for 2 nights in August 2009. This was one of our most terrible experiences in the many years of travelling across India. The owner/manager was mouthing foul language to somebody which should have set the alarm bells ringing for us. The service was terrible and the staff was rude. Our kids plucked couple of flowers from their garden and were given a dressing down from the staff. I agree that growing flowers is not easy and the kids should not have plucked them but there is a way of admonishing kids. There was some construction activity going on due to which sleeping in the rooms was next to impossible. The food was horrible.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samk1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaladakh, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangrila, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2015

Dear Guest ,
I apologize on behalf of the Shangri-la Ladakh team that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback. Although its been 6 years to what you have experienced , I would like you to know that today Shangri-la Ladakh is a certified 3 star hotel , providing the best services in Leh region along with tremendous changes. Its my humble request to you that if you visit Leh again , please give us the opportunity to take care of you. I promise you will surely have a wonderful time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

we had conference organised in ladakh. the hotel experience was fantastic. as first day every one was breathless due to high altitude.all stayed in hotel. food was rich but we all hardly had appetite. on the down side hotel was bit expensive as i could make out from their menu card but for me travel, stay ,meals, sight seeing all were taken care by organisers so i dint feel the penny pinch.hotel was centrally heated. most of the other occupants were foreigners. i would suggest this hotel for stay in ladakh.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdeepakchauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaladakh, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangrila, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2015

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Hotel Shangri-la Ladakh!

Thank you for your benignant feedback on Trip Advisor . We truly appreciate the rating you have given to us. We are also thankful to you for suggesting our hotel to the fellow travelers. Shangri-La Ladakh in these 5 years has grown tremendously , I hope when you plan to visit again , you will be happier then before. Thank you . Visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We booked this hotel for our weeklong stay
it was the time of my birthday.we enjoyed there too much as i love cool places.afterall it was the swarg of earth

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirag999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaladakh, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangrila, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2015

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for the feedback.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Shangri-la Ladakh . We hope to see you soon in the near future and wish you the best . Thank you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Staying at Shangrilla was comfortable , they give hot water only between 6to 9 am and 7 to 10 pm,inbetween the hot water stopps once the boiler gets empty.
even heating systems works only between 7 to 11 pm, if the room is not sufficiently heatedup, you will feel the great chill of Leh.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JITEN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaladakh, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangrila, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2015

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Shangri-la Ladakh !
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Providing our guests with the best possible service and hospitality has always been our mission. Today, Shangri-la Ladakh is a 3 star luxury , with running hot/ cold water 24 hours. Our rooms are bigger and better with central heating . Next time you come, we promise you will have a very good experience . Thank you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#17 of 75 in Leh
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Willow
Hotel Grand Willow
#54 of 75 in Leh
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gawaling International
0.9 mi away
Sangto Villa Resort
Sangto Villa Resort
#13 of 75 in Leh
85 reviews
6.4 mi away
WoodyVu Stok House
WoodyVu Stok House
#35 of 75 in Leh
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangrila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangrila

Address: Old Road Sheynam | Near Petrol Pump, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range: $106 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangrila 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A star luxury hotel in Ladakh. The hotel has 45 rooms . 4 Shangrila suites, 23 Deluxe rooms,18 Super deluxe Rooms which are spacious and cozy and have attached baths with shower running hot and cold water. Outside the rooms there is a courtyard where you can sit, relax and enjoy snacks as well.The Hotel is centrally heated.You are personally attended here by the manager of the hotel and the staff here treat all visitors as special guests and is always eager to show you the warmth and hospitality of the Himalaya. We are the only hotel with capsule lift in ladakh. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangrila Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing