We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing sarai”
Review of Ladakh Sarai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ladakh Sarai
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing sarai”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I had booked a 7 night 8 days leh tour package with laddakh sarai. Staying outside the hustle and bustle of Leh town was in our mind and there was no better option other than this. Well right from the very beginning i.e. booking of tour with a gentleman named Jalam Singh our first interface with the Laddakh Sarai to the early morning departure on 15th June,14 the hospitality of the staff and management was just exemplary. During the tour we were provided Yurts as well as Mud Cottages for stays on different dates and we have the pleasant memories of both kinds of accommodations. The sarai is nestled down the hills in Ayu villlage some 8 KMs from Leh Airport gives the stunning view of Stoke. We were treated like royals in Laddakh Sarai as well as in Nubra Sarai and Pangong Sarai i.e. the two other resorts run by the same management. The staff there were always ready and wishing to help us in every fashion. In Laddakh Sarai, we were charmed with the readiness of the two girls running the breakfast and lunch buffet. The setting of candle light dinner hall in Laddakh Sarai was stunning and so was the location of Pangong Sarai some 8 KMs from crowded resort location in Maan Village. We took evening stroll by the side of Pangong and interacted with local pashmina goat herder. By chance we were in Pangong on a full moon day and the moon sight was magical that night.The quality of food served at all the three Sarais was very very good. We still remember the taste of Dal-chicken we relished on the last night of journey in Laddakh Sarai. the comfort of hot water was easily available in all the three sarais. At nubra, we found that the mere 1 night stay is far less than required to feast our eyes on the bounty of nature available there. And definitely we would be at the same location with same hospitality for more days in hand in near future.

Room Tip: If you like Yurts try for Nos. 6 and 7. All the mud cottages i.e Nos. 18 to 23 offer stunning views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shivikha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigzinladakhsarai, Manager at Ladakh Sarai, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time write your experience on this amazing platform. Sending back a happy and satisfied guest is our prime objective, and we are all glade that we succeeded in our endeavor. Dolma and Angmo( the two girls ), have been conveyed your appreciations. Hospitality is both fine and abstract art, it is our endeavor to perfect this, though we fall short many many times, yet its our endeavor get up and keep up the effort.
I am glade that you liked the locations of all three Sarai( Ladakh Sarai, Pangong Sarai and Nubra Sarai), though Pangong is my personal favorite, I seek my personal space at Pangong.

Best wishes and wishing you many many happy adventure,
Rigzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    55
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
92
84
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

if you are looking for an illuminating and inspiring experience in Ladakh valley, hotel Ladakh sarai would be my recommendation.All the stuff you read about Leh is highlighted with this hotel, it give you a tremendous experience. The USP of this hotel according to me would be its comforting service and the behavior of the staff. For adventure, pleasure, home like service and positive attitude i recommend Hotel Ladakh Sarai.

Room Tip: just go with the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you are open to idea of staying in luxury tents, here is an excellent option! A nice, away from the city, in the lap of nature kind of place, with independent mongolian styled cottages - a combination of tents and fixed structures. This Sarai is a premium place in the Leh context and is set in a private estate.
The food style is pretty unique (especially the dinners). There is a team of people who keep serving you from a choice of a very large menu(sit-down buffet)...dish after dish till you are inundated with the choice and your stomach refuses to take anything more- soups, starters, indian main course, continental main course, rice options and finally dessert! The food is excellent. And the team is really sweet. Very charged, fresh, hospitable bunch of young guys and girls who run around with great energy to meet even your smallest demands. I have hardly seen such speed and alacrity of staff in my so many years of travel.

And the best part is the owner himself, Mr Rigzin! From the breakfast time to the spread out dinner, he is always around talking to you, making you comfortable, taking care of the young ones, specially if someone is ill or not upto it! And he is quite knowledgeable if you are into trekking or mountaineering. A trekker himself, he is quite good to talk to, whether its travel or general things in life! He made my family feel at home! My seven year old son was completely comfortable and all by himself in this place!

Even the sales staff is very helpful and honest! Infact I got a refund as some permits which I had paid for were made free by the government, which I was unaware of! And i got some last minute changes done as the weather was very cold in my other bookings done by them, with no hassles!

The only irritation point was, the road from the city to this property was closed temporarily, and so the way to and back from the main market was very long and circuitous...so it was both time taking and expensive to move about from this location. So if you are really wanting to be very close to the main shopping markets of Leh, then this place is off the radar...but otherwise this is an excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: These are mongolian styled tent bedrooms with an attached fixed structure wash room and bath room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kamaloza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked Ladakh Sarai as part of a two week package for a very good price. The manager Rigzin as an astonishing, passionate person, everything depending more or less on him which sometimes creates little problems when everytody waits for his orders instead of doing things independently. The tours were very well planned and sometimes changed to the better last minute. You must know, though that if you yourself are sponaneously changing little detours it will be charged extra, so you should inform yourself very well what you want to do. The first driver understood no English but we got a new and better one with a much better car without problems.You should have a look at the tires, though. They were exchanged in the end...
The yourts are a special experience, we really liked it. Warm water is slow to arrive (10 minutes at least) and limited. Light is very dim, it is hard to read at night. The mongol oven is special, in the beginning very hot, rhére is no possible moderate heating. It suddenly disappeared and had to be redemanded.
Dinner can range from excellent to cold and unorganized. At the end of our trip dinner time was changed suddenly and served rather late. without notice, one had to ask staff to light the candles when we sat in the dark. Staff is very goodwilling but often overwhelmed by different demands.
Internet is very shaky, this might cause problems for people needing it even in their holidays.
Part of the package were excursions to Nubra Sarai and Pangong sarai.
Nubra sarai
Wonderful location and nice staff,tents very cold at night, no heaing but bearable with hot bags. Warm water comes in buckets, we liked it. Nice staff, simple but good food buffet stile, which we prefered to Ladakh Sarai were you always were dependent on the sometimes erratic serving. There should be no TV in such places, it creates a very bad atmosphere as everybody wants to stay in the only heated room in the camp.

Pangong sarai
The sameTV problem as Nubra sarai, even more disturbing after the wonderful experience of the lakeside walk. No heating, hot bags again. Food simple but very good.

Overall:WE had a wonderful time with fantastic experiences. I will certainly come back and stay in Ladakh Sarai, as the location is unique and the inspiring personality of Rigzin will guarantee the improvements still needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clegoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigzinladakhsarai, Manager at Ladakh Sarai, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Clemens,

Thank you for your sharing your experience. Scope for improvements is eternal part of journey of Ladakh Sarai, and has been part of my late partner and my life journey, it shall remain so for all the time to come, for us Ladakh Sarai is not only a business idea but institute of journey of our life. Here we have interacted with scores of wonderful people who have enriched our life.
I am glade that in your 15 days long stays with us in Ladakh with Ladakh Sarai as your base, your experience was not too bad. We will definitely work on the areas you have highlighted, few have already been taken cared off.
I look forward to host you in near future.

Best wishes and wishing you many more memorable holidays!!!!
Rigzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed in ladakh sarai from 18th may to 24th may 2014 with one day each in nubra valley and pangonk lake. We booked through journey to ladakh , run by hotel itself.

Positive-1- Location itself. Amazing mountain view if u get those mountain view rooms. They have tents and newly constructed mud house which r beautiful rooms and spacious. If u have family or an extra member then these houses are best as few rooms have extra bed facility. But in anyway these r best rooms with well fitted bathrooms. Tents are ordinary and one might face problems to put your luggage in small tents. Then rooms allotment are not your discretion even of u asked for it. They provide best rooms - newly constructed mud house , last day to us after coming back from pangonk. May b those rooms are reserved for bright skin people a very common problem to domestic travelers.
2- Staff- although they are not hotel management boys or girls but still they are doing things by heart. They actually want to serve u better and doing there best.
3-Drivers- Actually it is for all leh and ladakh driver. They all are very polite and simple by nature, a natural character of hills people. They know best how to manage traffic at khardung la pass - 18000 ft height and changla la, narrow roads with snow fall. Discipline is there which is required for a lane driving in those high altitude roads were traffic jam is very common. We at delhi needs to learn from these guys a lot.
Medical facility- One can have high altitude sickness for first two days. They have oxygen cylinders and tab diamox to combat these problam which i guess is sufficient to manage these kind of sickness, most of the times. Hotel owner takes personnel care regarding these but it can not substitute other aspect which are neglected by the management.

Negative.
1- Management- It appears does nothing accept lip service. They manages things very poorly. On package they will charge you for all meals and will tell you for packed lunch for nubra and pangonk visit. But on travelling day it will be asked to u that lunch will be served in respective place. In reality you will b not making on time as we realized there is traffic jam on khardung la and changla because of many reason but most common being road block due to snow fall or any vehicle / army truck got stuck in narrow lane. There is nothing u can buy in la itself. Even you can not come outside and probably you are fighting for oxygen at that height. So b prepare with food and water yourself.
2- Management again- There well known dinner for multi cuisine was total failure to me. Experience can b different depending on occupancy. It was a nice experience to me on first day when i supposed hotel was not full. But once hotel is full then it will b difficult. Soup will b served cold and you have to wait for each serving.Sometimes 10 min for next chapati. We taught we will go early for dinner but was crowded and when we did late then most food items were about to finish and this experience was for three days. U keep asking they will run but at the end these things not going to work.Management needs to employee more people in kitchen.
3-People who are managing travelling desk.- Although it is included in package from airport pickup to drop. Last day when we were coming back( flight was at 7am), they assure us there will a vehicle a 5am. I repeatedly asked as i read somewhere in trip adviser regarding frightening experience. But to our horror same thing happened to us as there was no transport provided and every time u keep calling these guys they will reply it is on way. Finally a staff guy -Mr teekam helped us . He took out the keys of there utility vehicle , parked there,at 5.30. Main road were closed for repair as holy Dalai lama ji was visiting the leh. We almost about to loose the flight as he took little time to understand the by lanes. So some how we managed at 6.10 and police personnel at airport were kind enough to accelerate our process.

One more thing about Pangonk lake sarai- It is unnecessarily at the far end of lake. 8 km from that part of lake where u actually want to stay and visit. There are many tents and few are strategically located just near to lake while pangonk sarai is far and tents are good 500 metres away from the lake.
Nubra sarai tens are basic as expected at that part of country. But i saw some tents in beautiful location at Diskit, In a green stretch with a river flowing through the tents. I inquired about those and was told they are booked via Make my trip. it is better to stay there as hundar is only 7 km from diskit and one can explore hundar ( camel riding and sand dunes) from diskit also.
My verdict - Next time i will be doing more research although i m experienced now and i will b staying some real good hotels as i seen on the way to shanti stoop.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cpschauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigzinladakhsarai, Owner at Ladakh Sarai, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Dr. Chauhan,

First of all let me apologize for all the inconvenience that you faced at Ladakh Sarai and our associate camps at Nubra and Pangong.

On your check in date you were allotted room number 8, 10. On the second visit you were allotted room number 11, 12. You insisted that you wanted 10, 11, obviously all rooms are of same pricing structure, we allot the rooms based on the occupancy of the day and continued occupancy from previous nights. On your return from Pangong , you were allotted one set of mud hut which are just newly constructed. 90% of our guests in May and June are fellow Indian and for that matter 80% tourism in Ladakh are pushed by Indian travellers. And it would be unfair to put that we allot rooms based on color of the skin( it smacks of racism).
The character of Ladakh Sarai, is our Yurts, Ladakh Sarai has existed for 20 years with its Yurts only. The 6 mud huts are just a year old.

The location of Pangong Sarai, is personally chosen by me, its far yet in the quietest part of the lake, away from all the other congested camping ground. We are situated in Maan village, there’s only one other camp. Same goes for Ladakh Sarai, we are away from the town area.
However, I apologize for all the inconvenience you faced due to the failure of the management ( which is me).

Warm wishes,
Rigzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We landed there expecting rooms, but were given Yerts (mangolian styled tents). We were then informed that tents and rooms are of the same category and they are given based on availability.
While the tent was okay and Bukhari worked well, it was small and we were taken by surprise , with 2 teen age daughters (as we had booked rooms). They changed to a room , the next day. Thanks to Tsetan for that.

Their service was very good and if you take a with a food plan , they serve well, particularly the candle light dinner was good ; Indian dishes served were quite tasty.

The stay was good , but our expectations were higher, considering the price we paid; in that sense , it is not value for money .

The hotel is quite away from the city and we had difficulty in locating the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a similar view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigzinladakhsarai, Owner at Ladakh Sarai, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glade that you found the service satisfactory and meals good.

As per the room, time again we have reiterated in our website and on this platform, the rooms are allotted as per the occupancy of the day. As per the yurts, Ladakh Sarai is known and identified only with its yurts. For good 20 years, it was only the yurts that existed. We have added six mud huts last year. The whole essence and character of Ladakh Sarai is the yurts. And each passing year we are trying to improve the amenities and comforts of the yurts.
I am sorry to learn that you have not found the resort a value for money, I so much wish that you have given a better look at our website for its clearly shown and written on our website. For me and my team, its our endeavor to have 10 happy guests than 20 unhappy guests for Ladakh Sarai is not only our business but our passion and life breath.

Stay well sir,
Rigzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited ladakh in may 2014 and selected ladakh sarai as our base for exploring ladakh. We stayed there for five nights while spending one night each in nubravalley and pangong. The experience of staying in mongolian styled yurts with bukharis - a special ladakhi room heating system was awesome. It was a different experience from staying in routine hotels with its own luxuries. The yurts face stok kangri mountain ranges and watching them from your room is a unique experience. Communal dining arrangement is another unique idea which allows interaction with fellow travellers. Although food gets repetitive after a few days it is acceptable in such remote places. Overall nice service and efforts by Mr Rigzin and his staff to please all his guests.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snehal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
2.9 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
3.6 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
3.4 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
WoodyVu Stok House
WoodyVu Stok House
#29 of 75 in Leh
34 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Druk Ladakh
The Druk Ladakh
#13 of 75 in Leh
198 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#18 of 75 in Leh
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladakh Sarai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladakh Sarai

Property: Ladakh Sarai
Address: Village Ayu | Ladakh, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leh
#2 Family Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Ladakh Sarai the intention is inherent in building vivid experiences that inculcate a true sense of the culture and traditions of the land. And while we ensure our essence remains intact, we strive to re-create your stay in a brand new way. The premises of Ladakh Sarai are now home to an additional building that overlooks the Stok Range of the Himalayas and has unrivaled views of the quaint and surreal village of Saboo. Rise at the break of dawn to watch Himalayan Hues and shape shifting clouds dance around a mighty range of mountains. Experience the jagged peaks of Stok Kangri be covered overnight by a white sheet of snow. Step out onto the deck of your private balcony for an early morning session of Yoga in the stillness of your surroundings. An abiding amalgamation of comfort and luxury with nature, the grounds of Ladakh Sarai offer a profound sense of peace and solitude seldom found elsewhere. Six beautifully appointed mud huts, 4 Duplex family suit with two private balconies in each Duplex, 5 beautifully chalet rooms with separate living room and private balconies. Each the rooms over looking the beautiful Stok Range. Two heritage rooms an old Ladakhi family home of 150 years of History now adorn Ladakh Sarai as our Heritage Wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ladakh Sarai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladakh Sarai Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing