We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Namgyal Palace
Ranked #62 of 75 Hotels in Leh
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality and Staff”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Four of us went on a road trip to Leh and stayed close to 8 days in this hotel. Its a great value for money place and the staff and the management are helpful. Food is apt and as per region. Breakfast is included in the room rent and rooms are clean and hygienic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arpan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A good place to stay at leh.
walking distance from market.
one doesnt expect much from hotels at leh but relatively a good to stay at hotel
manager specially 'ram' was a delightful and helpful person
up's: rooms, wifi (only in lobby though), location.

ok's: food, restaurant service.. 2 good food options available which are: 'tibetian kitchen' and 'chopstick noodle bar' are at walking distance from this hotel

down's: bathroom cleanliness, hot water problem, no heaters or centralized heating system.

Room Tip: Go for 3rd floor rooms.. awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_kushal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked this hotel for 4 days but after 2 days we changed it to other hotel. The owner and staff are terrible in hotel. they did not give us hot water single time in 2 days they just giving excuse that somebody has washed their cloths in bathroom so they will not gave us hot water and they shut down the boiler.........what the *****......was that? i gone to owner he told me he will not start boiler as somebody is washing the cloths. Ok thats day 1. Now on day 2 same problem occured once again and answer was really not tolerable. Owner said i will not start boiler, whatever happens. At the time of booking he told us to give 24 hour hot water, than this happened. our trip is for kashmir and Leh for 14 nights which was very good except 2 nights in Namgyal. Than I transferred with my family and friends to other hotel which was really good one. Do not go ever for this hotel there many other good hotels in Leh

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhavalvaghasiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leh hotels

Gujarat, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Rooms are spacious and carpeted but bathrooms are not upto the mark. Hot water problem - not always available. Service, especially the room service, is very bad. Room service attended after 2/3 reminders. Buffet meals lack variety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkbasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

stayed 2 this place for 2 nights along with my friends in July 2012. The place was decent , simple and homely. Hot water & Television were a problem though. As Leh suffered from Power cuts regularly cant blame the place. Loved their open air and space. The major disappointment was food so we kind of decided to eat outside. A nice cozy place for travelers who are on the go and for expedition. Would suggest this place for friends and group.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Varun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent a few days in August 2012. Rooms are simple with very basic furniture. The hot water is only a few hours because of frequent blackouts. Throughout the Ladakh impossible to communicate with mobile phones. We recommend that you do not diner in the hotel but would prefer local restaurants. The choice is poor and always the same. The hotel is still convenient to walk around Leh in the evening. Excellent hospitality at the reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mic_Man_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Me along with 2 of my friends stayed at this place 4 yrs back. Rooms were really nice and clean. Place is not in heart of crowd and you can quickly walk to main market . Mr. Namgyal was really help full and they arranged a fabulous driver for us. Great place over all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.1 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#18 of 75 in Leh
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mogol Hotel
The Mogol Hotel
#30 of 75 in Leh
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#13 of 75 in Leh
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ladakh Continental
Ladakh Continental
#37 of 75 in Leh
69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Nubra
Hotel Grand Nubra
#53 of 75 in Leh
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Namgyal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Namgyal Palace

Property: Hotel Namgyal Palace
Address: Fort Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Namgyal Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Namgyal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namgyal Palace Hotel
Hotel Namgyal Palace Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing