We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious & comfortable...but can be much better...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gawaling International
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“luxurious & comfortable...but can be much better...”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

good & comfortable environment inside the hotel..delicious food..quick & caring services..hot water availability is a bit troublesome..well maintained room..affectionate behaviour of the staffs..nice place to be in ..home away from home may be....

Room Tip: try to be in the lower floors..since breaking stairs take lots of energy..but to have agreat scenic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prasenjit012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
25
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I visited the Hotel in last May. The staff is very cooperative and a nice place to live. The views from hotel are very wonderful. I would always be ready to go back in Hotel for holidays. Every thing was wonderful. The food was very delicious. Good call services. In all every thing was perfectly ok.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RinkuAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Hotel Gawaling is a very decent place to live in; given the remote location of Ladakh, and its capital Leh. Running hot water IS a precious commodity, and they DO have it, albeit for a limited number of hours. Rooms are spacious, very clean, ok sheets and towels. The location is okay, it is a bit of a walk to downtown, but very dooable. Above all, the staff is VERY caring, EXCELLENT food , cooked fresh using locally grown and garden produce. My daughter was sick when we arrived, and the entire kitchen staff would not rest until her appetite returned, coaxing her with different foods. Nce packed lunches for day trips too. Guets were from all over the world, Israel, Europe, USA, India.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on a higher floor, lower ones could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleA_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Extra bad service, dirty rooms, no hot water. I would personally avoid this place if I could

Room Tip: Find a different hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We a family of four stayed in Hotel Gawaling International had a fantastic time out there. The staff was very helpful and courteous. They served us the veg food as requested by us every time we asked. The aloo paratha was the best we had in the dinning hall.
The view from the balcony was fantastic as we could see the snow covered mountains drinking the hot chai.

It is 1.5 to 2 km away from the city, but the walk is very beautiful from the hotel to city and back.

If plan to go back to leh for holiday and I would be always staying in Hotel Gawaling International.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShubhaRao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We arrived at Gawling International Hotel on August 02,2011.The hotel is located about 3 kms away from the main city and private transport is a must for any tourist planning to stay at this hotel.
Inspite of booking the room in advance we had to wait for 20 mins before being allotted a room.
The room was in a bad condition with dirty bed linens and pigeon droppings in the room and in the adjacent balcony.
Tariff charged for the room was not in lieu with the services offered at the hotel.A day later, we moved out of Gawling International into another hotel which at half the tariff of Gawling offered us a better room and decent service.
I would not recommend Gawling International Hotel to any tourist visiting Leh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank priya005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

HOTEL GAWALING INTERNATIONAL is truly a hotel that provides you with everything that you can possibly wish at a tourist destination several thousand feet high. Friendly people, warm receptions and smiling faces are sure to rule your days at the hotel from dawn to dusk!! and before you know, its time to make a sad parting with a sweet memory in your heart.. miss them all!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Suchetana_Sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Mogol Hotel
The Mogol Hotel
#32 of 75 in Leh
33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Shambhala
Hotel Shambhala
#33 of 75 in Leh
81 reviews
7.4 mi away
WoodyVu Stok House
WoodyVu Stok House
#30 of 75 in Leh
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Silk Route Ladakh
0.0 mi away
The Grand Ladakh
The Grand Ladakh
#36 of 75 in Leh
22 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ladakh Sarai
Ladakh Sarai
#3 of 75 in Leh
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gawaling International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gawaling International

Property: Hotel Gawaling International
Address: Upper Tukcha Road | Lower Changspa, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gawaling International 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gawaling International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gawaling International Hotel
Hotel Gawaling International Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing