We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mandala
Nearby Hotels
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$66
$46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$175
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$59
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
29
21
9
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
21
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsserve vegetarian foodten minute walkfresh applesrunning hot watergerman bakeryroom servicedecent hoteloff seasonrooms are cleanladakh trippangong lakefirst floorplace to stayhigh altitudemarketwifihospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 64 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After spending number of days in Hotel Mandala, the thing that comes across is that the staff puts in a lot of thought behind their services to the guests. And what's more the owner - Karma - goes that extra mile to deliver the winning punch. Though not overtly luxurious, the hotel satisfies all your needs on a holiday to Ladakh. And probably the best place to dine at Leh.

Room Tip: If available, for the suit rooms. They are simply superb.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

6 friends - trip to Ladakh - 10 days. All age between 20 - 35.

Reason of given above details as the way we were been treated in the place called heaven and they made us feel like another heaven. Taken care of every minute details for our entire itinerary whether it is for carrying hot bags or food or best places to hang out in between.

Specially food - from momos to pizza or say chinese, parathas etc. Every night we had some or other special thing arranged for us.

Full fun and the stay was amazing.

Whole heartedly must check in hotel to enjoy the best hospitality you can imagine. Just feel like home.

During trip do's and dont's informed earlier to be taken care at that altitude. Really helped!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pratibha_Periwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotels usually cash-in on luxury to make an impression. Sensual lighting, super-soft beds, swanky coffee shops and all that jazz. But one doesn’t often come across hotels which leave an impression based solely on their service.

I had been to Leh-Ladakh in 2012 with my family and was yearning for a trip back with friends. And I had absolutely no hesitation in deciding that we would be staying with Hotel Mandala again.

Simple reception, well-kept rooms, clean laundry, prompt response to needs and the very courteous staff are just what you expect when you arrive already breathless due to rarefied oxygen. Even if you arrive at odd hours, say well past breakfast but before lunch, the kitchen would be more than pleased to offer a sumptuous meal. And after you’ve stuffed yourself up to your throat the steward does put you in a dilemma by asking what would be your preferences in lunch. Honestly, their courtesy and eagerness made it hard for us to even politely turn down the question of lunch (lunch was included in our package, of course, but you’d need appetite to fulfill your end of the deal!).

And now enter Mr Karma Jora, the owner of this hotel. In all my travels across India and overseas i haven’t come across a person (let alone a hotel owner) who takes sheer delight in customer delight.

Mr Karma had all our Ladakh excursions planned out for us. Bookings, transport, packed lunches, permits, arrangements at our stays at Nubra, Pangong and Tso Moriri were all taken care of. No hassles. No waiting. Plain, simple seamless. On the evenings at the hotel he made it a point that we enjoyed a barbecue, bon-fire and the like rather than just crashing back to our rooms tired from long journeys. His “what new would you like to do tonight?” attitude is something we looked forward to even after witnessing Ladakh’s majestic grandeur in full.

I must mention here that Mr Karma took special care of each of us, talking to each of us in person rather than just one group coordinator. On the occasion when we requested him to extend our Nubra valley excursion till Turtuk village he expressed concern only regarding travel fatigue and offered to arrange overnight stays at Turtuk at a moment’s notice. At no point was there a worry of additional cost (only afterward, that too nominal). Mind you, it takes a big heart and a sporting spirit to carry that off. Hats off to you, Mr Karma!

Unfortunately, one of us suffered high altitude sickness. Mr Karma’s response to rush to the hospital (even tough this wasn’t an emergency) would put some of the world’s best emergency medical services to shame! Touching, that. Needless to say, our consequent excursion got adjusted “automatically”.

To sum it up, let me put it this way: it is one thing to stay at a hotel; but it is altogether different staying at a friend’s. Mr Karma and Hotel Mandala’s warmth makes you feel you have cozied up at a childhood friend’s place. I can’t help but marvel at this feeling.

Room Tip: All rooms face south. Do opt for the suite in case you are a family.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MukulChaudhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel Manadala is a good hotel for the price, good rooms and good hospitality. What makes this hotel stand out is the warmth of its owner Mr Karma ji. Karmaji not only gave us good rates for the rooms but planned out our entire travel and stay in Ladakh and he is highly recommended to anyone planning a visit to Ladakh. What topped off a fabulous trip was his packing up of food for us without even asking him to do so while bidding us adieu. His personal attention ensured that our trip was indeed memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkuBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Mr karma of Mandala hotel just blew our mind with his impeccable service. He not only gave us the good deal but went out his way to ensure all the travel and stay arrangements are spic and span. He did all the arrangements in ladak. He provided us with the SIM card since our connection was not working and also gave us complimentary dinner and breakfast.
He is the man to be trusted if you are in Ladakh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neervipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews