We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with scenic location”
Review of Lotus Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lotus Hotel
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Guwahati
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with scenic location”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

One of the beautiful Hotels in Leh with two unique family rooms (open Air and closed). Had a lovely time there. However, fixed menu dinner was a problem. Also, it is 1KM away from the main market area which makes it difficult to go for evening walk or dining out. The staff were very polite and helpful

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxed_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    41
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
28
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edegem, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Perfect Service for an affordable price.
Backpackers should love it in the colder months, even less adventure minded people should go there.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fabbe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Very nice hotel, beautiful view from window. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Liked — Very comfortable, very clean
  • Disliked — Was not centrally heated for winter stay. I understand they have done it lately
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DrPradeepBakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We spent 4 nights in Lotus Hotel during our recent Ladakh trip. The hotel is located about 10 mins walking distance from the main market and is in a comparatively quiet place. All around you will see greenery rather than concrete houses and in the distance is the Leh Palace perched on a cliff. The hotel staff are welcoming and very helpful, sometimes going beyond their duty to provide their gustes a comfortable stay.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean, though basic (luxurious by Ladakhi standards), lobby is tiny. The garden and terrace are magnificent, perfect for lazying and soaking up the sun or drinking a bottle of beer.
The hotel provides continental breakfast (no cold cuts though), lunch & dinner menus are planned in advance and served in buffet style. Each day of the week it is a different cuisine, but be aware it is Ladakhi interpretation of world cuisine and may not stand up to goumet criticism.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pathin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I stayed here 2 nights at the end of a trek and found this hotel very pleasant.

Abundant hot water was always available; which I understand isn't always easy to get in Leh.

My room was basic, but nice and sunny and surprisingly warm considering it was October and there was no heating (but plenty of blankets)

Hotel staff were quick with serving beers in the nice garden area. Food in restaurant was particularly good with a buffet selection of Indian food one night and western food the following night.

  • Liked — Dinner was really good
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Ladakh is not for the unfit or for travellers addicted to luxury. However, the 17 room Lotus - where we spent five nights recently - is a good choice for those who want to use Leh as a base to explore the nearby Buddhist monasteries or to acclimatise before a trek in the Zanskar or Ladakhi mountains. The hotel is well located at the edge of Leh, a 10 minute walk from the town centre. It has a small garden and excellent views. The rooms are relatively large and have attached western style bathrooms (shower only). The public rooms are in an external pavilion. There is no internet access and no heating (but lots of blankets) and the lighting is poor. The hotel serves three meals - the breakfast is western and the buffet lunch and dinner are also good and sometimes include Chinese or western choices. The staff are cheerful, helpful and efficient and there is a fast laundry service. It’s difficult to rate Ladakh hotels by ‘western’ norms and the assessment should be seen in context. Recommended to travellers who accept the limitations of hospitality in remote areas. Tip - don't visit Ladakh without research and be sure to acclimatise before any exertion, especially if flying in from Delhi.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.9 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.0 mi away
Hotel Glacier View
Hotel Glacier View
#10 of 75 in Leh
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
1.5 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#11 of 75 in Leh
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ladakh Residency
Ladakh Residency
#9 of 75 in Leh
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hotel

Property: Lotus Hotel
Address: Upper Karzoo,, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leh
#10 Family Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing