We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Services for Austrian Group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Caravan Centre
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
“Services for Austrian Group”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent services provided by the staff of Caravan Center and owner of the hotel showed personal involvement in services for our group from Austria. This is A Class Hotel with spacious rooms. Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joginder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    76
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
72
39
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were among 180 passengers of Jet Airways flight 2345 of 12th June 2013 which returned to Delhi on a/c of bad weather( with just few minutes left for landing at Leh Airport). After a long discussion for 4 Hours Jet airways agreed to run an exclusive flight at 0900 Hrs on 13th june. All the passengers assembled at Delhi airport the next day and the flight took off at 1200 hhrs and landed Leh at 1300Hrs.There were no bounds to our joy when we reached Leh.
The food was served with utmost care and was so delicious that we felt like home.Went for city go round at 1530Hrs same day.Night dinner was simply superb with moth watering dishes.All 6days excellent we had very tasty and healthy variety food at Caravan.

Sivakumar.s
Chennai

Room Tip: Rooms were small and average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivam600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Sivakumar,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your experience at our hotel. It’s indeed very satisfying for us all at the hotel that you found our food delicious, healthy and mouth-watering!!!

However, we fail to understand the reason for rating the hotel low on the value scale, meaning it was expensive. But your room and tour booking was done with us by your travel agency and we were never in direct contact or correspondence with you about your room / tour booking or cost thereof, nor did we collect any payment directly from you for your stay / tours. If you find the hotel expensive, that complain should have been addressed to you primary travel agency and not clubbed with your review of our hotel.

Secondly, you have mentioned that rooms were small and average. Indeed if the room meant for comfortable stay of two adults (about 180 Sq. ft. net carpet area) is used by 03 adults, it is bound to feel congested and small. But since you had chosen to book a double room for your family of 03 adults with an extra / third bed placed in the double room, it will naturally look small and average. Since it was your own choice to use a double room for housing your whole family, your observation about the room is unjustified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Returned this morning from a week long trip from Leh, Ladakh and couldn't wait to write about the excellent service we experienced at Caravan Center Hotel. Mr. Kakpori and his manager Suresh gave personal attention to each of their guests. Their genuine concern for their guests begins even before their guests arrive as was in our case when he insisted that our itinerary needs to have rest and easy activity for the first few days to acclimatize. As it turned out, I did fall very sick on the first day, due to altitude and they had oxygen handy to help me stabilize until the doctor they called arrived. By the next day I was completely recovered and was able to enjoy each and every activity we had planned including rafting and 3 days of trekking! The staff was also very friendly and helpful and it was a very homely atmosphere with heartwarming food and heartwarming people. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you! from Anjana, Bela and our kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear patron

Thank your very much for the wonderful post about your Ladakh trip with us. It is a matter of great pleasure for us to learn that you had an excellent holiday in Ladakh and that we were instrumental in providing that holiday experience to your group.

Ladakh is a unique destination offering many options for multi-activity holidays including cultural tours, spectacular landscape, adventure activities etc. In this context, we treat our hotel, not just an accommodation facility, but a complete holiday solution for our patrons, offering all these holiday elements packaged for the convenience of our guests. We are very happy to learn that your group enjoyed this multi-activity holiday mix of sightseeing, trekking & rafting that we had the pleasure to package for you.

We thank you so much for choosing us for your stay and holiday services in Ladakh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonipat, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

although i have been visiting leh regularly for last 5-6 years ,my stay at caravan center has made my resolve to keep visiting leh even stronger.once at caravan center i feel iam in safe hands now.i handover all my worries to the people at caravan center.
The G. M. "Kakpori" of Hotel Caravan Center with his contagious smile is always around and motivates every traveller. The food is fantastic and i never felt away from home.veg-, non veg or anything else they never said no.
The rooms are cozy and ambience is relaxing.
The staff is always willing to help and go the extra mile ,wether is our sudden lunch orders or late night check ins.
my whole group really thankfull to Hotel Caravan Center for having made our stay so memorable. I hope to keep going back to leh and experience another weather there,may be winters next year.. but Hotel Caravan Center it will be.. where i wil stay .
I like their kitchen garden also. Organic food.. light on tummy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakesh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Rakesh,

This is a belated response to your review, mainly to thank you for the warm and positive review of your stay with us. It has always been a pleasure to host you and your group over the years. At Caravan Centre, we always make an effort, not only to provide comfortable staying option, but to provide a complete holiday solution for our patrons.

We once again thank you for taking time to post your warm and encouraging thoughts and hope to be of similar service again on your next adventurous jaunt in the Ladakh highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful tour of Leh. The added pleasure is our stay at Caravan Center. Stayed there for six days and never felt away from home. An excellent hotel with nice, big, clean room. The front desk is immensely helpful, headed by Mr. Suresh. The service is quick and satisfactory. The owner, Mr Kakpori is always present personally to look after the guest's interest with a smiling face. The restaurant serves delicious homely cooked food, with great spread which changes everyday. I will always remember the ever smiling faces of Sushil, Sonu and Suresh who are at your service any time. The package arrangement was perfect and never faced a problem anywhere. The hotel arrangement at Nubra was also very good and comfortable. The hotel is situated at a quite place of Scara area. One can have a leisurely sit out at the spacious lawn of the hotel and enjoy the sight of the snow peaks. A 10 minutes drive from the Airport, only a bit away from the market area, which makes your stay calm on the other hand. The hotel is centrally heated, which is a big plus in the chilly time. Overall, it is an extremely comfortable experience, to be remembered life long. Thanx a lot towards all the staff for rendering such excellent service. Definitely wish to come back again.100% recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RanaDKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Patron,

We write to express our thanks for the excellent post about your experience of our hotel and services. For us it is quite gratifying to have sent you back a happy and satisfied visitor to our hotel. The hotel team is thrilled to learn of being instrumental in making your holiday a happy and successful one to remember.

We are also happy to know that the central heating system of the hotel added to the comfort level and attractiveness of the hotel for our patrons. As it is, we always make an effort to upgrade and improve the hotel facilities constantly in keeping with visitor demands and the ever-increasing guest expectations. Your feedback encourages us to continue these efforts.

We thank you for choosing the Caravan Centre Hotel for your Ladakh holiday and hope to be able to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in Carvan centre for 4 days out of 6 days in Ladakh. Just returned from there. Location is a quite area inside Skara road of Leh which I loved. Not a very scenic location but you can see the snow peaked mountains all around you from hotel. Nice lawn area with good exposure to sun for Sun bathing. Warm reception, people are polite to talk to. Room was big with a big bed and washroom area was also big. Nice and clean rooms. Centrally heated hotel and it was working. That kept us warm in the night without the huge Rajai's. Food was very good and our suggestions for the food was welcomed. Mr.Kakpori, owner of the hotel actually arranged for our trip around Leh, kept all the promises. Room service was prompt. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a good accomodation in Leh. Visit Ladakh, it is Heaven

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor has a better view and take the rooms towards the lawn area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear patron,

This is a belated response to your post, mainly to express our appreciation for your warm thoughts about our services. We are so very happy to learn that we have been able to provide your group a satisfactory holiday experience, including comfortable stay at our hotel and the trips around Leh.

We have noted your observation about the location of the hotel. However, from the many reviews about the hotel we have understood that location is a relative term for different people at different times. For some, a market location is better despite the crowds and the noise. Others like a quiet and serene location away from the crowded areas. From scenic and ambience viewpoint, we command quite a favorable location. This is apparent from your own comment that you could see the snow peak mountains all around you from the hotel.

We thank you for choosing Caravan Centre for your Ladakh holiday and for recounting the positives features of the hotel and our services in your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Though not with the best location this place is worth a recommendation . It has reasonable sized rooms with heaters . Clean place . Good n helpful staff . The food provided was nice n u could request for food of your taste. The owner of the place takes personal interest n Is always willing to help n guide u .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10DSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.5 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.5 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#11 of 75 in Leh
161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ladakh Residency
Ladakh Residency
#9 of 75 in Leh
196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#16 of 75 in Leh
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravan Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravan Centre

Property: Hotel Caravan Centre
Address: Skara Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravan Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aesthetically built in the traditional architectural style of Ladakh, Hotel Caravan Centre is set amidst serene ambiance of Skara, an exclusive part of Leh, capital of Ladakh. It is conveniently located midway between Leh Airport (3 kms) and the City Centre (2 kms). Caravan Centre is a centrally heated "Deluxe-A" class Mid-Range Hotel, offering well-appointed guest rooms and suites, all with en-suite facilities, duly supported with professional management and personalized service, and enjoying the ambiance of a resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravan Centre Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing