We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hospitality, preformance and service delivery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Caravan Centre
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional hospitality, preformance and service delivery”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

leh, has a very few good options for boarding and lodging to choose from, but this hotel was one of the best on almost all counts, right from the start till the end.

Hotel is blessed with one of the best staff and owner ship thus delivering exceptional care, hospitality, preformance and service delivery

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RajatSharma79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    72
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
38
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

A very cosy hotel located a few feet away from the noise of the city. It has a beautiful surrounding with a nice garden. The snow capped mountains will take your breath away. We booked a junior suite but was very lucky to get upgraded to a suite. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean and comfortable. The furntiures are minimum and there is a tea-coffemaker available. As soon as you enter the hotel you are greeted with a warm cup of team with a plate of assorted biscuits. The breakfast is prepared and is served hot. Although the choices are limited but no complaints due to the great service. The waiters Sonu and his two colleagues make sure that you have a great stay with regular follow ups and guidance.The hotel gets your permits done to visit Pangong and Nubra. The lunch and dinner is a set menu but has quite a few options and is changed every day. Dont expect too lavish dishes. You will get great good which is served fresh. The hotel also provides tour packages which you can check out. We had booked our own vehicle. The hotel is located very close to the airport and near the market. But the kind of warmth we got during our stay will pull us again to this hotel.

Room Tip: A quiet property located a little away from the hustle bustle and amongst the natural beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzo_Pops_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our Maiden Trip to Ladakh was unique in every aspect and Mr G M Kakpori from Hotel Caravan Centre exactly knows why... We were awe struck by the mighty beauty of Ladakh and the warm hospitality of Hotel Caravan Centre. Right from food, stay, travel, et al everything was just incredible as we saw it unfolding... All this was impossible had it not been for Mr Kakpori's experience for putting up such an exemplary show!!!! Our regards to Mr Suresh and team from Caravan Centre also for providing a terrific support structure....
Varun Sharma and Group
IL&FS
New Delhi
16 Aug 2011-23 Aug2011

Room Tip: Try Deluxe Suites of Caravan Centre overlooking Great Himalayan Range..... Its an experience!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShreeVarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We ( 3 of us) had taken a 7 day package (including sightseeing) from Caravan Centre. The hotel assisted us from the point we reached the Leh Bus Stand from Manali. A phone call ensured that a car from the hotel rushed to pick us up from the bus stand. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and the service was especially good. The rooms were clean and spacious and housekeeping was prompt. The food buffet (breakfast and dinner) were sumptuous and tasty. Contrary to an earlier post here, they do serve non-veg at dinner.

Regarding the sightseeing trips, we had a very good driver (Namgyal) assisting us in the journey. We especially enjoyed the trips to Nubra Valley & Pangong. In Nubra Valley, the hotel had arranged for tented accommodation at Hundar as part of the package. All the trips were conducted professionally and the driver was always on time.
I would strongly recommend this hotel. You are in safe hands here and can leisurely enjoy your vacation without any worries. A big thank you to Mr Kakpori and his team.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eroych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Hotel Caravan Centre: Leh
Stayed July 2011
Rooms: 311 and 312: Deluxe suites
We booked this hotel after doing an extensive internet search. Most of the reviews were outdated. We apparently arrived in a middle of a heat wave, as the temps were in the mid 30s C.
The rooms we had were the biggest rooms that they offered, with a sitting room and bedroom that were approached by a staircase in the back of hotel.
We had 2 families (2 adults + 2 kids and another 2 Adults). We were given the deluxe suites because of the sitting rooms having two settees that could be converted to makeshift beds.

312 did not have a balcony, but 311 did, which overlooked the kitchen.
Since it was July and hot, we asked for table fans (no ceiling fans). Apparently there are no fans to be had in Leh, but the hotel staff was able to find two table fans at a local store for us and delivered them to our room.

I would not recommend room 311 in the summer. It is the biggest of the bunch, but that balcony overlooks the kitchen, and if you have the windows open, the rather nauseating smells from the kitchen overwhelm the room. We sent a staff member out for incense sticks and burned them nonstop for the duration of our stay, which helped mitigate some of the smell. (Altitude sickness nausea + kitchen smells do not make for a good combo). In the winters, I presume the windows would be shut.
The website says "multicusine restaurant" when in fact, it was a dining hall with buffet for lunch/dinner. The dinners were "themed" in that one day was north indian, one day was indochinese, etc.. The food was excellent!
Breakfast was cooked to order, eggs, toast, etc. with an indian option such as aloo puri, etc.
They apparently have no fridge on site, so ice cold water and soft drinks are a bit hard to come by (an issue with all of Ladakh).
The staff was top notch and outstanding, in terms of service and responsiveness. Requests for bottled water and tea were handled promptly. Wifi access depended on internet connectivity for the city in general. Rs 50 for 30 minutes, Rs 100 for an hour. The staff was able to run errands for us, such as picking up cookies and chocolates for the kids at the local shops, which we paid for and supplemented with tips.
Leh is very dusty, that combined with the heat and open windows made the room dusty, and the floors reflected that. Requests to mop the floors were done promptly.
As for the tours, we booked through the hotel, and it was essentially just the fee for the driver and vehicle, no guide (extra cost). Please be sure to request a newer car. First day was a old Scorpio, which jostled our insides. We requested a Xylo for the rest of the days.
We booked the hotel based on the availability of hot water, which is centrally provided. The timings for the hot water a still a bit of a mystery, and the water temp is very dynamic, from tepid to scalding in seconds. I suspect that all of the hotel guests took baths at similar times, and thus depleted the hot water. We had to call several nights to make sure that the hot water was on. Room 311 has an annoying plumbing leak in the center of the floor in front of the sink, with water pooling on the floor after using the sink. A towel on the floor solved that problem.
The hotel is in the center of a residential area, and the views are not entirely unobstructed, but beautiful nontheless.
If we ever go back, we will stay again, but not in the deluxe suites we had, as we simply did not need the sitting room, and wished to be away from the kitchen. The adjacent room we had, 312, did not suffer from the kitchen smells.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 311 in summer when you have to keep windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank From_Houston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
We are thankful to the reviewer for taking time to post a detailed review of the hotel and its services, the destination and its limitations. We are indeed encouraged by the few positive observations in the review which otherwise is a critical appraisal.

We must, however, place on record the factual position about some of the points raised in the review regarding the hotel and its services.

1. The reviewer had booked with us through e-mails, specifically requesting for the ‘deluxe suites.’ So it’s not the hotel which on its own offered the deluxe suites as observed in the review. It was the guests’ own considered choice to book the ‘deluxe suites’ only.

2. Approach to the suites block is prominently frontal - marbled stairs leading up from the garden side and not from the backside of the hotel as mentioned in the review.

3. True that in Ladakh hotel rooms don’t have ceiling fans as dictated by the general climatic conditions. But the management provides table fans as and when guests require these, without having to go around searching for fans in stores around the town.

4. Leak in the bathroom of room 311 - The reviewers never brought to our notice any such problem. Hotels do have such operational hiccups, but like any other hotel we have plumbers on duty to attend to such problems immediately when informed, and not leave these to appear in reviews.

5. That suite 311 is located over the kitchen is not a fact. In fact the kitchen is a single storey structure with nothing over the roof, and it is actually located aside, not underneath the suites.

6. The reviewer had not pre-booked any tour with us. That decision was taken much later after their arrival at the hotel. On their request, we designed a tour itinerary for the 3-days available with them henceforth. A professional English speaking guide was arranged at the prescribed fee. But the reviewer decided to forego the guide service, preferring to take help from their guide books.

7. Since the restaurant service in the hotel is exclusive for the hotel guests and not for walk-in customers, it’s often taken for just a dining hall. But the service is ‘multi-cuisine’, offering a mix or alternating selection of different fares in buffets. However, restaurant service like snacks, soft drinks, tea / coffee and other beverages are offered to the hotel guests at all reasonable times.

8. That the hotel is located in a residential area is not unique to the Caravan Centre. If the reviewer had time to explore Leh properly, he would have realized that it is essentially a residential town with 95% of the hotels & guest houses integrated within residential areas. In fact some of the best managed hotels & guest houses are extent ions of the residential houses of the owners.

However, we regret any shortcoming in providing the best possible service to our guests, for any reason whatsoever. But we do continue to make sincere efforts to provide the best possible visitor experience to our guests, notwithstanding the limitations of infrastructure and support systems prevailing in Ladakh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

we had a comfortable stay at caravan centre, hats off to Mr Kakpori and Mr. Suresh and their entire staff for their efficient service. A good tour package organised by them. The innova was very comfortable and loved the travel. The driver Jismet was very experienced. Loved the ladakh tea prepared by Mrs. Kakpori. every minute of our stay was exciting.

Room Tip: any room facing the mountains is good for a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayathris1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The place has been my home for almost 2 weeks in June 2011. There has not only been high quality of service but a level of hospitality that comes close to friendship. The hotel management as well as the staff made me feel exactly this way... This was much more than one could expect. Everyone was very helpul even in little matters and the experience in organizing for excursions in the area invaluabe ! Also liked the pretty setting amidst tranquil surroundings very much.... A great 'thank you' - heartfelt !!!
My best wishes to the management & staff of the 'Caravan'.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michaelstoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.4 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.4 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#11 of 75 in Leh
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravan Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravan Centre

Property: Hotel Caravan Centre
Address: Skara Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravan Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aesthetically built in the traditional architectural style of Ladakh, Hotel Caravan Centre is set amidst serene ambiance of Skara, an exclusive part of Leh, capital of Ladakh. It is conveniently located midway between Leh Airport (3 kms) and the City Centre (2 kms). Caravan Centre is a centrally heated "Deluxe-A" class Mid-Range Hotel, offering well-appointed guest rooms and suites, all with en-suite facilities, duly supported with professional management and personalized service, and enjoying the ambiance of a resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravan Centre Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing