We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay Hotel”
Review of Hotel Omasila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Omasila
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Average stay Hotel”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Visited Leh in early part of May 2012 with my family. At start, you will surely miss locating this hotel as right opposite to the hotel road is Hotel Ladakh Residency which seems like a newly built hotel. There is no proper presence of this hotel other than a solitary old board located high on the building road side.

Reception area is very basic and most of the time there is no one to attend. Entering the room gave us a shock as everything was covered with dust. There was no Almirah/Cupboard to hang your clothes. Tv was not working as there was no set-top box. Even there was no phone instrument to call-up reception. Anyhow, on request they did arrange the phone and set-top box to watch some tv. Bathroom is small and does not have an exhaust fan (I guess all hotels are without exhaust fans in that area). Even the drainage outlet was blocked and took half hour for them to clear it off.

I also faced problem with the internet connection. The hotel does not have any and my Reliance data card did not worked. What works there is Airtel or BSNL.

Now some positives. :)
View from our room to the back side of the hotel is pretty decent. They had an open lawn with tables and chairs to sit back and enjoy the scenic beauty of Leh. What I liked most about the room is the Heat blower. Seems like a gas operated equipment which really keeps you warm in such extreme weather with control knobs inside the room. There was no problem with the Hot water in the Bathroom but do make sure that reception knows about your early start for the day. Restaurant is located in the adjacent building where they serve buffet meals. Food quality is good enough. Being a vegetarian, I was satisfied with their preparations, food taste and serving. They prepare only one non-veg item placed separately on the table.

Overall, an average time at the hotel but great time spent during my visit to Leh.

Room Tip: Can check for Ladakh Residency opposite to the road. Rooms are pretty spacious and hygienic along wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaurabhQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    86
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
54
69
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at hotel in august 2011, it was the most memorable stay of us...hotel owner Mr.Nawang and his son Mr.Phunni are very much co operative and helpful to me...rooms are clean and spacious...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tejas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It was a wonderful experience staying in this property. I was there in the month of March and though it was a tough weather to manage the hotel still it was amazing to see all smiling faces around you ready to help anytime.
The USP of the hotel is owner Mr. Tawang's personal attention and presence all time. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharitraMaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed at Omasila both before and after a winter trek in February. Like everyplace else in Leh, except the Grand Dragon, Omasila lacks central heat and running water and has electricity only a few hours in the morning and evening. And it is COLD. Despite that, everyone on the staff turns themselves inside out to do whatever is possible to keep you comfortable, including hot water bottles, buckets of steaming water in the morning, endless thermoses of tea, etc. And always with a smile. A very pleaseant experience under very trying circumstances.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building were warmer than those in the annex behind the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights late October 2011. The food was great, the views of the mountains from the hotel constantly changing, and the service was excellent.
Also, the hotel is situated a reasonably easy walk from the main part of the town.
There were many day trip options.
At this time of year, many restaurants and stores that cater to the tourist are closing down for winter.
The Gompas (monasteries) north and south of Leh are a must see. So are the natural beauties - the lakes, mountains and rivers.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank born2travelcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lee, nj
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

If ever in Leh, one must stay at this hotel. Ask in advance to stay at the room up front so you can have a view of the snow capped mountains. Truly paradise on earth.

Room Tip: high floor (2nd floor) front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoFortLee_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Omasila recently and despite it being off peak season, the place was fully occupied and it comes as no surprise to note that. Cozy always womb like warm rooms, a very service oriented team that anticipates your needs way before even you think of something, non intrusive yet always at hand with a hot cup of ginger tea or a water bag, Omasila was a delight on cold harsh days. They have a lovely terrace where you can catch great views and the sun as you lounge with a book. The owner makes sure he's around and everything runs smoothly. The food could definitely do with some improvement, however the ever smiling and able team makes up for deficiencies if any.

Room Tip: Choose room no. 4 or the one next to it as they have double windows that keep out the cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.3 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.7 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
1.3 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#11 of 75 in Leh
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Omasila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omasila

Property: Hotel Omasila
Address: Chanspa, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Omasila 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Omasila Hotel Leh
Hotel Omasila Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing