We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet location, amazing family, sparkling clean guesthouse”
Review of Raku Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raku Guest House
Ranked #28 of 204 Leh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived late in the evening from srinagar by jeep and mr angchuk was kind enough to pick us up ans bring us to his guesthouse by car.

The room was sparkling clean, literally! The bed and linen were clean and big, bathroom very modern with an amazing hot shower. It was 9pm and we were still able to have dinner homemade by mr angchuks wife with veggies grown in thd garden! The price was reasonable: 200rs per person.

The location of the guesthouse is great, a leisurely 10minute stroll to the main centre.

Mr angchuk his wife and 2 sons are an amazing family who take pride in what they do, we had great conversations in their kitchen about everything and nothing!

The breakfast is amazing. She keeps the toasts coming until you beg her to stop!

The only teeny tiny feedback i can give is to perhaps have a better wifi connection, perhaps put the router on the 1st floor for the guests.

Great job raku family, we will be coming again. Thank you and Julley!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VHRCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Raku Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had stayed for 3 nights. Owner family is very friendly.

Food:
They are serving home made less spicy Veg food. In breakfast they are providing bread, butter, jam, tea, oots, egg and fruit plate. In lunch and dinner; roti, 1 sabji, dal, rice, curd, pickle and salad. Overall food was good.

Accommodation:
Bed was confortable. Room was clean. There was attached toilet. They are not providing toilet soap and towel. Hot water is available 24 hrs. They has garden within guesthouse. Mountain view was excellent. They are allowing free access of wifi. They have television in dining area. Overall accommodation & service was excellent.

Contact Person: Angchuk Raku - +91 9419372679, +91 9622374802, +91 1982 258897, info@rakuguesthouse.com

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pratik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in the Raku guest house for seven nights from June 4th, 2013. The guest house is located in a nice and quiet area, yet the market is just about 15minutes walk from the place. The view from the guest house, particularly our room (101) was excellent. Mr. and Mrs. Raku did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Mrs. Raku would prepare tasty meals, often at short notice when got back after trips outside Leh, and often we would dine together. Our daughter, five, would even stay back sometimes with them after the meals rather than returning to the room! The vegetables are mostly from their own garden right outside the guest house. The inside of the rooms were also immaculately done. The bathroom was excellent and hot water (from their solar heater) was available. This place is highly recommended - we are sure to stay at the same place again whenever we are in Leh next!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_Chatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here from May 31, 2013 to June 7, 2013. We rented 2 rooms for 5 people. Guest house is located at beautiful location, one can see mountain peaks covered with snow from guest house itself and wherever you turn your head you will see greenery. And, still Leh market is only 10 mins walk from here :)

Rooms were clean, spacious and with nice views. Sunlight was good in room. Bedding was comfortable. Toilets were clean and were quipped with all basic modern facilities. Guest house have solar heaters fitted, so there is 24 hours running hot water available. And, there is a common room also where you can meet and greet other people or you can sit and enjoy the views with the sip of tea.

I'll just summarize my experience:

Good:

- Situated at good location.
- Clean and spacious rooms.
- Good toilets.

Cons:

- Tea was not good and charges were damn high.
- Heavy charges for breakfast/dinner.

Conclusion: I would suggest anyone to stay here (osum place) and to eat outside if you are on budget trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guptamukul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had visited leh from 4th-8th May 2013.Had booked a room from Mr Raku previously itself.
He had sent a driver to receive us from the airport.We were welcomed by Mr and Mrs Raku .Both were splendid people.They served us hot water whenever needed and which was the most important thing in leh as it was imba cold.Rooms were very clean..Service was excellent...Hot water for bath is available 2-3 hrs both in morning and evening.Food was also good.Hot water bag and extra mattresses were provided whenever needed.

Hospitality was at its best !!! Thanks a lot for that...Will definitely Advice this guesthouse(HOME) for making your stay awesome in leh..

Thank you Mr and Mrs. Raku..

Room Tip: Just provide a small variety in Breakfast :) :) :) .Rest is Perfect.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sachin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our group visited Leh during late Jan-Feb 2013 for Chadar trekking. We stayed at Raku guesthouse before and after our trekking. This place is very comfortable, nice and clean. I liked the moment in the dining room especillay when they(Mr. and Mrs.Raku) prepared and made our meals. It just liked home. Thank you very much for your hospitlity. Wish to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siriwatthana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

we're from Thailand, visited Leh in January 2013. Raku guesthouse's clean comfortable room and warm welcome as our home. The host of Raku's help us finding sea-buckthorn products and good quality pashmina shraws. Thank you very much, Raku.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorKamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.4 mi away
Karakoram Hotel
Karakoram Hotel
#24 of 75 in Leh
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barath Hotel & Guest House
0.0 mi away
Yangphel Guest House
Yangphel Guest House
#14 of 204 in Leh
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Shaolin Ladakh
0.3 mi away
Sangto Green Guest House
0.5 mi away
Niri-la Ladakh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raku Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raku Guest House

Address: Upper Tukcha Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range: $30 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Raku Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raku Guest House Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing