We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of Lharimo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lharimo Hotel
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in Leh
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What matters most is the feeling of being welcome and the warmth and these guys are full of it. A perfect getaway while being comfortably close to worldly amenities. Keep it up guys . you are here to stay...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GK1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Any traveller to Leh will be aware of the fact that there aren't too many luxurious accommodation and 5 star properties in the city.

What works for Lharimo is the location , it is located close to the leh market at the end of the lane.

The hotel building and the lawn area are both well maintained.The rooms are clean but they first like to get rid of smaller sized ones, so if you are not happy with the one you have been allotted , request them for a better one.

The service leaved a lot to be desired. The intercom does not work and we had to leave early in the morning for sightseeing so we had to go down for any kind of assistance early in the mornings. Hot water is available during specific timings but there were times when it was not available even during those time slots

We visited Nubra and stayed there overnight and when we were re allotted rooms , we got far inferior ones then the ones we were staying in. The hotel staff knew we could not do much about it and we had just one more night to stay in the rooms , so we did not make a hue and cry about it

The cook is very unimaginative and the breakfast especially is very repetitive and boring

But Leh is not about the accommodation, it is about the splendid mountains, rivers, snow capped peaks, barren landscapes and breath taking natural beauty.

So , it does not matter where you stay, you will come back feeling like you have just seen heaven because I yet have to see a more beautiful place than leh

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank explorerspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

they have a great location, nice rooms. but i found them partial to foreigners :( no offense to the foreigners but there was a very evident favoritism towards them.

the chef is EXTREMELY UNIMAGINATIVE. he can cook only different kinds of eggs for breakfast. the main course was a hodge podge and you cant decide if it is - indian, chinese, american, or what not.....

Room Tip: if you are in a group of 4 - ask for the 2 cluster rooms they have which have a common sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purvi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

There's nothing fancy about this place. On the positive side it is very clean and managers are responsive. The location is quite good. The rooms are basic and the price reflects that. The bed was medium comfortable but linens were in exceptional shape, very good. Leh has limited electricity so hot water is a timed commodity. I was there in Sept 2011 and had 2 hours hot water in morning & evening. Plan for that. The food was hearty and healthy, but nothing special.

Practical advice: if you need even a little pampering this is not the place for you. (And maybe Leh isn't either. ) The garden area in the center is a great place to gather with friends at end of the day.

Would I stay here again? Probably would try a different hotel.

Room Tip: Floodlights from neighbor properties turn on in early morning when electricity is restored, be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dianawallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I "lived" in the Lharimo Hotel for a little over two weeks and the staff was nothing but fabulous. For those commenting on lack of hot water, lack of internet, lack of electricity etc. you obviously did not belong in Leh. If you want to explore India past Shimla you have to be accepting of a lack of hot water, its part of the experience, and it appears that these other posters failed to realized ALL of Leh loses power from 8 pm - 11 pm. It doesn't matter how strong your generator is. The Lharimo Hotel is clean and well kept, the staff is trustworthy and for those who are complaining about their experiencing going to Nubra and coming back to realize the hotel staff had moved your luggage, why are you acting so surprised? If you are away for 3 days riding the camels in Nubra and exploring the area, you are not paying for the Lharimo Hotel, whatever your travel trip told you so they have every right to move your luggage and belongings to a safe locale while you are away. For those who made comments like this, I suggest you research India, and Ladakhi culture more before you come to the area. Northern India is not the United States or Western Europe and the moving of luggage is not uncommon so to act as if your privacy was violated just shows a misunderstanding of the culture of tourism in the area. From most of the reviews I have read on this website most people who stayed at the Lharimo Hotel could have benefited from learning a bit more about the culture before coming because the days of the "hippy, I'm going to hike and roam around" traveler days are over and you need to be aware of that. The staff is amazing they are just use to groups being condescending and rude so show them respect and you will get respect in return. You are staying where they work but they are not your "slaves" which is such a poor Western misconception. Lharimo is in an amazingly safe location and is an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jenniferstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The location is quite OK, just a few minutes walk to the main market street.
Facilities are fine as well, simple but clean.
Warm water can be expected only in the morning and late afternoon (from 18-20) and power-supply cuts are quite typical (in the whole town). As long as You know it - should be not an issue.
There's a little garden as well where You can relax.

The service, however, (or shall i rather say lack of it?) is really bad. It feels to me that they don't want the people to feel welcome or just don't care.
The guy in the reception is really not very customer-oriented. He just sits behind the desk all the day and mumbles. Also one of the guys working in the restaurant has really a very bad attitude. The meals are quite often late (especially breakfast) - and - i'd say rather "monotonous" (how many times can You eat spinach and chicken).
You will find much better options just behind the fence, there are many good restaurants in Leh.
Here's also one concrete example of their behavious:
On the evening before our departure the reception guy explicitly promised us that we'll get breakfast at 7 am (normally they start "around" 7:30). But then in the morning, when we entered the restaurant, nothing was ready and the "nice" member of staff stated -> "7:30 is the time for breakfast". Why couldn't they just politely told us the previous evening that it's just not doable. That i could swallow...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We booked the trip to Ladakh through Make My Trip and were assigned this hotel, Here is our experience with the Hotel

1. Service was really bad to say the least. There guy at reception would either not pick up the phone or will speak rudely

2. The quality of food was biggest disappointment. Staff would come up with strange excuses for not preparing filling breakfast. The food was often found cold

3. Availability of hot water : Either you get it early morning or during evening which was not a major issue but on the last day of our trip, there was no water at all post 10 AM

4. We had to pay Rs. 20 if we ask for boiling water

5. During our trip to Nubra Valley, our room was assigned to some other guests with out our knowledge or any prior intimation. This happened with all fellow travelers from Make my trip

Our advice...Visit Ladakh but stay away from this hotel....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vrooooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.6 mi away
Sangto Villa
Sangto Villa
#20 of 75 in Leh
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mogol Hotel
The Mogol Hotel
#30 of 75 in Leh
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karakoram Hotel
Karakoram Hotel
#24 of 75 in Leh
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lumbini
Hotel Lumbini
#65 of 75 in Leh
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#13 of 75 in Leh
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lharimo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lharimo Hotel

Property: Lharimo Hotel
Address: Fort Road, Leh 0194 101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Lharimo Hotel Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing