We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thiksey Monastery

Ranked #3 of 77 things to do in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were on a full day tour visiting six monasteries in the Leh Valley and we had one of the greatest visits to Thiksey Monastery; We were lucky and came during a colorful ceremony which made the visit more interesting and different as we felt we got a peak into the monastic life and could sit right next to the monks and still feel welcome. The views of the valley were nice from the higher parts of the monastery.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ErikaGohde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    416
    69
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Top View..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Well it was just like another monastery but once we reached to the top floor and subsequently the rooftop , it gave a breathtaking view of the valley with indus river flowing majestically .. you see only three colors .. white .. blue and green .. great place to visit..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rpsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Picturesque!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Its the most beautiful monastery in Leh according to me. It looks but majestic from the outside and has interiors to match. It houses the a huge Maitreyi Buddha statue that is two storeys tall. At the top storey you only see the head and have to peer down the balcony to see the complete hands. We also had the good privilege to see some monks making Thangka painting while we visited the monastery. Really interesting methodology. I believe they were preparing for the visit of Dalai Lama. If you have time to visit only one monastery during your stay, this should be it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gl0balDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Spectacular sight amidst barren beauty of Ladakh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thiksey monastery is one of the most architecturally grand Buddhist Monastery in Ladakh. It was a short ride from Leh (approx 20 Kms) which took us to this 12 storey gompa nestled atop an altitude of 11,800 feet. It's a visual delight to watch this manastery surrounded by stark mountainscape of Leh Ladakh. One should visit here during his Leh Ladakh trip to get a peek into Tibetan Buddhism practiced in Ladakh region.
Interior of the Gompa is characterized by soothing ambience. Prayer bells and flags are a delight to behold. Inside the monastery Buddha's statue is placed in inner sanctum and you would also find throne of Dalai Lama. A visit here also offers beautiful photo ops.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikhil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful location, colors, charming, unaffected lamas going about their business saying prayers cleaning etc.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Beautiful location, nice drive, lots of photo ops, seeing the kitchen where food is prepared, the friendly helpful atmosphere. Great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thiksey Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Thiksey Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing