We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Descent Breakfast”
Review of Hotel Kang La Chen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kang La Chen
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Service, Descent Breakfast”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I'll prefer to stay in Kang La Chen again if I plan for Leh again. Rooms are good, clean, hot water available but after 2-3 reminders to reception.
Location is great, very near to main market. If you're a foodie and a sweetaholic, search for a Jalebi shop in the market nearby to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from main garden, its quite down there..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nautilus087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We visited Ladakh 1-7 July 2012. I had been communicating with Mr. Jigmet, Managing Director of Kang La Chen since February 2012. Our stay at Kang Lha Chen for 5 nights, 1 night accommodation at Ulhe Eco Resort, one night accomodation at Tirith Camp, Airport transfers was all organized perfectly. The hotel even applied for our permit to Changla Pass and Khardungla.

The hotel is well located, close to the town market to do shopping and explore in the evenings. The courtyard has a really good view of Leh Palace and Leh Monastery.

The Manager, Staff and Mr. Jigmet himself were excellent hosts. They took such good care of us. Our trip to Ladakh was amazing and we will carry these memories until we get a chance to visit again in the future. I highly recommended this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor give a good view of the mountain peaks covered in snow (Depending on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was there for 4 nights and my opinion for hotel is:

Dining: The chef of the hotel is a ex chef from a hotel of Taj and therefore I must say that the quality of food is good. It is also varying between chinese and indian cuisine. The staff is always ready to look in to the details and make your stay valuable.

Rooms: There are two floors. I was staying on the first floor. The rooms are having comfortable bedding, LCD television, neat and clean bathroom with a shower, clean towels and room service. Overall I find the rooms and decent and comfortable. However, there is no heating in the room.
Hot water is from morning 0600AM to 0830 AM and in the evening 0600PM to 0800PM. I was informed by the manager that recently they have diesel boilers installed so hot water is not a problem.
Than there is electricity problem in Leh. The generators will work only in the night time and not in the day time but one night there was electric cut and the generators were not working so that is something negative.

I was also provided with packed lunch which generally includes juice, chocs, sandwich, egg and banana. It is decent.

Location: The best part of the hotel is that you have a clear view of the hill Namgyal Tsemo and it is 2 mins walk from the main market.

Overall: A very good stay with decent room, good dining and excellent service.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitesh-Xplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Been to Leh in last year.
Very Nice Hotel, sould be a option when visiting Leh.
Pros:
1) Near to Main Market (2 min Walk).
2) Fine Service.
3) Good Food

The manager was good and always keeps us updated about the electricity (there is shortage in leh), hot water availability, food options, took opinions.
Staff is courteous, garden at back and front are good to have tea anytime.
Overall one of the best options in leh to stay and nothing to worry about.

Thanks

Room Tip: Go for first floor rooms facing front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay_Mangtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel was part of the tour package which we had availed. We stayed here for 5 nights and we were abs happy with the choice of the hotel. The best part of it was tht this hotel was in the heart of the city . Leh being a small town,you dont have the husstle of large towns and we were very comfortable with the location. There were great eataries around the hotel was explooring various cusines. I was also extremely happy with the staff of the hotel esp the manager Mr vinay who provided great assistance. A few drawbacks were tht i would like to see some improvement in the toilets's standard. Rooms very good . Morning breakfast had very few little options but were good enough. Service starts early morning at 5.30 which was good...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We chose this hotel over Lharimo and what a good decision it turned out to be. This is a very beautiful property with spacious and comfortable rooms, a cozy lounge, small beautiful garden to laze around and a very hospitable staff you could ask for. Apart from this, another major add on is the location with a very close proximity to the main market, yet away from the noise and with rooms offering a beautiful view of a either palace or gardens or mountains.

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and ready to serve you at any hour, be it for extra quilts at midnight or a fresh hot breakfast at 5 AM - they are there with their pleasing attitude. All in all it was a wonderful stay that we had and would definitely stay here again when we visit Leh next. We stayed at Lharimo on our last night at Leh as Kang la Chen was sold out for that night and were really disapponited with their extremly hostile service.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SS2086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

A great location, the hotel is well run, has large rooms and is very comfortable. There's hot running water about 5 hours a day. the rooms are clean and well maintained. The restaurant is fairly decent and turns out good food - breakfast is quick, and I'd recommend the home made apricot jam. The staff is very helpful, and will go out of their way to help. the apricot trees in the courtyard were in bloom while we were there, adding to the ambiance.

The property is in a quieter part of town, but only about 5 minutes walking from the market. It provides for some privacy and because it was built a while ago, has fewer rooms and smaller crowds than some of the other places I saw. Personally liked the fact that there was always some privacy and space around, as it is a fairly large property. There are great views of the Leh Palace from the rooms, and of upper Leh and the road to Khardung-la from the roof.

The staff are always cheerful and helpful.

The last operating spring in Leh (so I've been told) and the main source for water in the winters is right behind the hotel, and you're likely to see people filling up drinking water from the spring and carrying it in carts to various parts of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor (it only has a ground and first floor) for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RV_1_9_4_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.6 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Thongsal
Thongsal
#46 of 75 in Leh
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday Ladakh
Hotel Holiday Ladakh
#29 of 75 in Leh
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ladakh Continental
Ladakh Continental
#35 of 75 in Leh
67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Palace
Hotel Royal Palace
#60 of 75 in Leh
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kang La Chen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kang La Chen

Property: Hotel Kang La Chen
Address: Sankar Road | near Main market area, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Hotel Kang La Chen Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing