We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Asian/Chinese/Fusion restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chopsticks Noodle Bar

Chopsticks Noodle Bar
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Asian, Thai, Indonesian, Tibetan, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A restaurant with both indoor and outdoor sitting, serving authentic Ladakhi food and the best of Asian cuisine. Vegetables are sourced from our very own organic farm and from local farmers. A communal dining concept with the chance to meet new people and share travel experiences. As the saying goes "There are no strangers, only friends you have not met yet." Conversation abounds at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, where we have chosen to keep it unplugged. We made that choice deliberately. You'll see people sharing tables, enjoying their meal and just talking. We promise a dining experience with less distraction and more interaction. Open for lunch and dinner.
Colombo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Modern Asian/Chinese/Fusion restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

After eating out in simple, local restaurants a lot during our stay in Leh, we really enjoyed the clean and modern atmosphere of this restaurant. We sat outside and immediately made friends with the lovely couple owning the place. They both went the extra mile for us, even helped us get something typical from the region that was difficult to find - the local beer.
We went back a couple of times for lovely Asian food. Big portions, just perfect to fill our tummies after a long day's hike. In the evening, one can sit outside and watch the locals, tourists (and donkeys, dogs and cows) walk by. Lovely, can't wait to get back. Thank you for the great hospitality!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Tanya

Julley! Thank you for the wonderful review and the generous rating. It was such a pleasure to meet you and your friends.

We can’t tell you how great it is to receive such a positive feedback. We are also glad that we were able to find some “chang” for you and your friends. It is important to us that your visit to Ladakh is a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ladakh, hopefully soon!

With our best regards
Juma and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    184
    47
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

we had a dinner with our army friends, the food is not as tasty as described in many reviews here
looks they have offered some incentives to write a good review i doubt. The main problem was too much added mono sodium you can feel on your tongue, too oily and less in quantity. The momo was just a sticky dumplings in sushi basket the worst mono i ever tried.
we enjoyed our best Chinese and Tibetan food was at Tenzin Deki Rest,(run by a Tibetan couple) just below chopsticks, has wonderful menu reasonable price, freshly cooked amazing taste, There are so many down the street much batter. Sometimes the best reviews are the worst place to visit

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rani-mumbai-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Rani

Julley! We are sorry to read from your review that you were not pleased with your visit to our restaurant. Your review is not at all reflective of our usual standards. As you are probably aware, we have numerous loyal customers from the Army.

We are very surprised to hear that you were not pleased with our famous momos. We designed our menu to allow tourists to experience authentic Ladakhi dishes the way our mum prepares it at home. We do serve our famous momos in Dim Sum (and not Sushi) baskets as the baskets are used to steam the dumplings and also to keep them warm.

As clearly stated in our menu, we do not use artificial flavorings or colorings in our food. In fact, we were the first restaurant in Leh to introduce such an initiative. Whenever possible, we strive to use organic produce, either sourced from our own organic farm or from local farmers. Please rest assured that there was no MSG in any of our dishes.

We do agree that we are slightly more expensive than the smaller canteens and cafes in Leh. This is because we serve dishes which are not available in the other restaurants in Leh.

It is always regrettable when we fail to meet the expectations of our valued customers. We thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. If your travels bring you back to Ladakh, we hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to wow you.

With our best regards
Juma and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
183 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Service a bit slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Service here was a bit slow. Food was nice but maybe a bit on the pricey side. I was here for lunch and the place was deserted, but I'm sure it gets busy in the evenings and the decor was very nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathmanduMazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Julley!

Thank you for taking the time to post the review. It is disappointing to read that you were not able to enjoy all aspects of your experience with us.

We would like to apologise for the slow service on that particular day. July and August are the busiest months in Leh.

In relation to your comment on our prices, as we specialize in Asian cuisine, most of the spices and ingredients are transported from Delhi and across the great Himalayan passes to Ladakh! Due to the climate in Ladakh, we are unable to acquire these spices and ingredients locally. The prices for most of the freshly made noodle and rice dishes are however comparable with the other larger restaurants in Leh, especially the vegetarian dishes. This is because the vegetables come from our very own organic farm or from the local farmers’ markets.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With our best regards
Juma and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay @ Ladakh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice place to have Chinese food in Ladakh, great food should definitely tryout. Food is not that expensive. decor is good

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sayandeep N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Julley!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant.

We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience at Chopsticks and found the Chinese food to be great and the prices reasonable. Although our emphasis has always been on the taste and freshness of our food, it’s great to know that you liked our decor too.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Ladakh.

With our best regards
Susy and Juma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Superb food here....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

One of the best chinese restaurant of India...Great menu with great food...
We have done lunch here & it was really fanastic (Hakka Noodles & some other thing)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shailesh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Julley!

Thank you for the absolutely wonderful rating. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Chinese food, especially the Hakka noodles. It is our aim to deliver more authentic versions of Chinese dishes at the restaurant although we sometimes do receive requests for the “Indianised” versions. We are therefore thrilled to read your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Ladakh.

With our best regards
Susy and Juma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopsticks Noodle Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chopsticks Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing