We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and decent ambience”

Chopsticks Noodle Bar
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A restaurant with both indoor and outdoor sitting, serving authentic Ladakhi food and the best of Asian cuisine. Vegetables are sourced from our very own organic farm and from local farmers. A communal dining concept with the chance to meet new people and share travel experiences. As the saying goes "There are no strangers, only friends you have not met yet." Conversation abounds at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, where we have chosen to keep it unplugged. We made that choice deliberately. You'll see people sharing tables, enjoying their meal and just talking. We promise a dining experience with less distraction and more interaction. Open for lunch and dinner.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and decent ambience”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were in for a quick lunch and ordered a couple of dishes. We are vegetarians. The options are limited though the food tasted nice and the spices were done well. Perhaps a shade oily for me, but that varies from person to person. Overall its certainly worth a dine, especially compared to most of the spots around.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahtrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Julley! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor.

Yes, we have quite a different set up compared to the other establishments in Leh. As you know, most of the restaurants and cafes in Leh serve international cuisine, which includes Mexican, Chinese, Indian to Italian etc. We specialize in Asian cuisine only, and for this reason you may have found the options limited.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal. We regret that you found the vegetarian options to be insufficient. Most of our dishes come with a vegetarian option, especially the Thai and Indian curries and the noodle and rice dishes. As we specialize in Asian food, perhaps the variety of vegetarian dishes is not as wide as in other cuisine. You may be glad to know that this year, we have introduced a couple more Japanese vegetarian options.

We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

With our best regards
Juma and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    192
    49
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Chinese... yummy....”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

best ambience restaurant in entire leh for sure...
good chinese food...
warm welcome...
we are pure vegetarians... may disappoint veggies...
not too much for the vegans on the menu to offer...
loved the ambience....
a must for the non-veg chinese lovers...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ParekhDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Julley!

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor and for your recommendation.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Chinese food. We do offer a variety of options for vegetarians but perhaps not for vegans. Most of our Asian dishes come with a vegetarian option, especially the Thai and Indian curries and the noodle and rice dishes.

It is our aim to deliver more authentic versions of Chinese dishes at the restaurant although we sometimes do receive criticism as our dishes are not the “Indianised” versions. We are therefore absolutely thrilled to read your review.

We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

With our best regards
Juma and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good we couldn't stop going back!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved chopsticks. It was the perfect spot for us to settle down for the evening to eat great food (delish momos), and a few cold kingfishers (and sometimes something a little stronger). The staff are friendly, and welcoming. The barbie beers were our favorite (as named by us)
The only advise would be to work on the bathroom, the smell was pretty rank.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Julley! What a wonderful review! Thank you.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you found the staff to be welcoming and friendly. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team.

We are also glad that you liked the “Barbie” beers. Out of respect for the local culture, we decided to dress up our bottles, and it seems to be a favourite topic amongst our customers.

As for our washroom, we have taken the time to address your valuable comments with our team in order to ensure that we learn from your experience. As we are the only restaurant in the neighborhood that has a restroom, we often receive requests from non-customers to use our facilities. We have requested the authorities in Leh to address this major issue. In the meantime, we have decided to give priority to our customers and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Once again, we appreciate the wonderful review. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in Leh.

With our best regards
Juma and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A class above the rest”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A nice change from the rest of the restaurants in Leh. It’s sophisticated and classy and offers a menu unlike others. Where do we start? The spring rolls and momos were amazing. We kept coming back for more. It’s a pleasant surprise to see Thai food on the menu which was pretty authentic and delicious. It was a very clean place, spotless and was a favourite. Recommend the nice patio on a sunny day. Nice owner and staff. Recommend highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiliamsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Julley! Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate your compliments on our food, especially the spring rolls and our famous momos.

We regularly have tourists from Thailand and they have praised the authenticity of our Thai dishes too. Thai food is a favourite for both of us and we therefore ensured that we hired a Chef that specializes in Thai cuisine. Our Chef will no doubt be delighted to know about your review.

Once again, thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With our best regards
Juma and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as reviewed”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Not as good as it has review Thai food is not as thai cuisine but more indian with too oily
expensive menu

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kushmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumaLeh, Owner at Chopsticks Noodle Bar, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Julley!

We are sorry to read from your review that you were not pleased with your recent visit to our restaurant. As you can see from trip advisor, we have received numerous compliments on our Thai dishes, especially from Thai tourists. Perhaps you are more accustomed to the more “Indianised” Thai dishes which we regrettably do not serve. It is our aim to serve the more authentic versions of Asian dishes at our restaurant.

The menu was carefully designed to provide a sampling of the best dishes from various regions of Asia. We do agree that we are slightly more expensive than the smaller canteens and cafes in Leh. This is because we serve dishes which are not available in the other restaurants in Leh. Most of the spices and ingredients are not available in Ladakh and requires transportation in truckloads from Delhi and across the great Himalayan passes to Ladakh. We do also cater to those on a lower budget. The prices for most of the freshly made noodle and rice dishes are comparable with the other restaurants in Leh, especially the vegetarian dishes.

We thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

With our best regards
Juma and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopsticks Noodle Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chopsticks Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing