We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a good plush hotel”
Review of Hotel Royal Ladakh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Royal Ladakh
Ranked #32 of 196 Leh B&B and Inns
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just a good plush hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Royal Ladakh is a very plush looking hotel, but you won't get any Leh feel there. Except, if you looked at the ceiling done in wooden logs.
We were told that room 102 was the only one available, though we saw many guests arrive after us. It is on the ground floor and overlooks the garden, so one has to keep the curtains drawn. Rooms are nice but could be bigger. The bathroom was clean with hot water 24 hrs. Staff was very brisk though, getting enough warm water to drink seemed tougher than at other places we stayed.
I found the breakfast spread limited, and staff was not very courteous. Items on request etc that were available as we saw a foreign tourist group having, was not communicated. I was also looking for something other than poori bhaji and such heavy stuff, so I was limited to bread toast and fruit. The manager too seemed overly business minded. And staff over focused on the larger groups and foreigners.
At 4K a night, everything was nice and modern. So, if you want that, this is the hotel for you. It is near the market. We stayed at a homestay called ThupWang that was between Nalanda Ladakh and Royal Ladakh, as onemoves towards the Bazaar and that was much better, We stayed there for the next three days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our cost of those three days was also lesser than this one night, and with hot water all though too :-)
so, to each his own!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RituHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
22
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel (under INR 4,000/night) is bit away from the main market (20 minutes downhill to market and 30 minutes uphill from market) but in a serene surrounding. It is a beautiful budget hotel with lawns from which one can see Leh Palace, Shanti Stupa and snow capped Stok range of mountains. The hotel is clean with comfortable reasonable sized rooms and almost full day hot water. We found the room neat, airy, bright and hygienic. Hotel staff is friendly. The food is reasonable. Since it is in some smaller lane, it is difficult to locate easily at first instance. But once in the premise, you will fall in love with this hotel. It does not have any lavish amenities like gym, club house and swimming pool but is priced also accordingly. Negotiate for a good deal. In Ladakh, when the purpose is to stay at hotels in late evenings to early mornings, such budget hotels are best suited to the pocket and RoyalLadakh is amongst a good option.
4 on 5 for this nice hotel – worth the money.

Room Tip: Lawn / front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kotharidhimant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Royal Ladakh is a great choice at Leh, India.

The rooms are spacious and clean, with towel and bed linen are ok by the indian standards. The restaurant serves indian and continental food, with a simple but nice buffet. The staff are helpful and polite.

The surroundings of the hotel are very quite and beautiful, you can reach the city centre in a 10 minute walk.

We we`re hosted for 2 times, between we had a trekking, and they manage a free luggage room, which was great.

Only 2 points to get better:
1 - We`re hosted for 2 times, in the first one we had a room with the bathroom near the room but not in the room, which wasn't what we book. In the second time the room really had a ensuite bathroom, according with the booking.

2 - The booking process was not easy at all. The hotel has internet problems and we only receive answers at sundays (?)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have repeatedly stayed at the Royal Ladakh because of its superb location (the view of the mountains in all directions is magnificent) and friendly service. They are always happy to accommodate any request and the food is both traditional and tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumblegoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Me and my daughter stayed 3 weeks long here. Hotel - clean,hot water,electricity whole day-this isn't anywhere else in Leh! The food hygienic clean,this is for us Europaer the most important thing, no health problems.And the all stuff is the best in the world! Helpfully, kindly,they made for us more than necessary.We can warm recommend Hotel Royal Ladakh.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good room had lovely view of mountains – recommend but they need to work on the food quality & menu planning. Quality of breakfast ????????? Need to learn how to make omelets & good toast? The most horrible food I had at Leh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitabh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Royal Ladakh is a very good place to stay when visiting Leh-Ladakh. The rooms are very spacious and very clean, with excellent views of the mountain ranges and temples near by. The hotel also has an outdoor sitting area that is lovely, and if you request their ginger tea you can sip it outside and nibble on the cookies that are brought out too. The service is very good, and the hotel staff will help you reserve a taxi or schedule rafting trips etc. The buffet in the morning isn't a big spread but they welcome you to make personal orders free of charge- request the coconut pancakes, they're quite the treat!

Our only complaints are that sometimes while sitting outside we'd smell fumes from a nearby generator (but with the motorcycles and generators all over Ladakh it's sometimes hard to get fresh air) and it can get a little loud on the ground floor because the hallways echo.

*Note: The hotel is a little ways outside the main shopping/food area of town (10mins by foot). It is far enough to give you excellent views and the feeling like you're in a small village amongst locals, but far enough that the first time you walk back to the hotel at night you might get a confused about the exact route in the dark. No matter where you stay, it's recommended that you have a flashlight because there are practically no lights in the town after sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room on the first or second floor. You'll have the best view in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoSee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Palace
Hotel Royal Palace
#60 of 75 in Leh
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lingzi
Hotel Lingzi
#16 of 75 in Leh
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dragon Ladakh
Hotel Dragon Ladakh
#19 of 75 in Leh
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Ladakh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Ladakh

Property: Hotel Royal Ladakh
Address: Upper Karzu Road, Leh 194106, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Ladakh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Ladakh Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing