We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladakh Residency, Leh”
Review of Ladakh Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ladakh Residency
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were booked on this property by by my Travel company who organised a Group tour to Ladakh. I along with my wife stayed at Ladakh Residency for 5 days . Our experience was excellent. Quality of food was outstanding be it Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.

The staff was very well behaved and co-operative. It was service with a smile whenever we had a chance to interact with front desk or kitchen.

We will strongly recommend this property to any first time visitor to Leh.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are overlooking the garden. And each room has a balcony. Hence most of the rooms a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashok A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Ladakh Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 204 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Well There's sooooo much to say... Amazing Hotel, what a great hospitality, a place where u can walk up to the owners and chat till whatever time u want, a hotel where u get the best advise for what to buy where to buy and where all to eat, a hotel where u can request for whatever u feel like eating and in the next meal its served to u. well i must say the Kalon Family surely knows how to impress and take care of their guest in the most homely way... Few things i will never forget:- The warm welcome by Neema ( Sorry If i have spell ur name wrong), those random chats with Wangchuk Uncle and Rinchen...!! a hotel Highly RECOMMENDABLE..!!

Thank You Kalon Family for Making my stay a MEMORY...!!!

Room Tip: Well All Rooms are Excellent... try getting one of the Balcony Rooms they are amazing specially when...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanujTulsiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Thanks to Rinchen and her father Wangchuk, right from the beginning of our planning stage to our three night stay in Leh and overnighters in Nubra and Pangong, everything was perfect. Rinchen planned the entire itinerary for us while we were there in Leh.
On the day of our arrival from Sonmarg we received a warm welcome from Nima and Wangchuk with a traditional Ladakhi drape.
The best part of the hotel, the rooms are centrally heated and you have running hot and cold water 24 hours, a luxury in the state of Jammu and Kashmir where power is a serious problem.
The personnel managing the kitchen and dining areas took extra care while we were there; like packing our breakfast for our early morning flight, and for our six year old kid a packet of chocolate in his box speaks volumes about the details and personal touch that they put into their service.
The driver cum guides who took us to Nubra and Pangong were simply wonderful. The one who took us to Nubra also gave us a walking tour of the village of Hunder, where we camped. Special mention of Jerry who took us to Pangong. He is an efficient driver and managed the Chang-La Pass brilliantly, which was snowing when we were there.
Overall, highly satisfied with the services, could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudarshana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very beautiful property located very close to the main market in Leh (walking distance). Other restaurants are also at a walking distance.
The property is designed beautifully & the rooms are spacious, neat & clean. Even bathrooms are very spacious & clean.
Hospitality is awesome & the staff is very polite & extremely helpful. Front facing rooms on have a beautiful view of snow clad mountains at a distance.
Food is the best part. Amazing Indian food is available & the quality & taste is really good & suits our palate

Room Tip: Front facing rooms with a garden attached (where you can sit & have tea/coffee). The front rooms...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mayuresh_kondkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed there between 1st May and 7th May this year. Seldom have we come across a place where there is so much involvement from the hotel owners or staff. The property is very beautiful itself built in Ladakhi style. The rooms are very spacious and clean with modern fittings and upholstory. The bathrooms are very good too! The hotel is located about a kilometer from the main market and this is walkable. My husband and i did a few trips to the market.
The food was well cooked and considering that they had a very limited choice (No vegetable and fruit supplies in the market, owing to the Srinagar-Leh highway being closed) they did a pretty good job. Infact throughout our stay and in various hotels in Ladakh this was the main problem (No Pepsi/Coke). But the fact that the owners and the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, more than made up for it. I would definitely give it a two thumbs up!

Room Tip: The second floor Suite is good
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBM0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

It was really unforgettable stay at Hotel Ladakh Residency... from 4th May to 9th May 2014. All the members of our group of 15, were really pleased with the hospitality and food that we received at your Hotel.

The services of the hotel staff and drivers was extra ordinary.

The guidance and precautionary advise from Hotel made our trip much easier.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony adds value, as it is very pleasent in day time.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIPINBSHAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in the last week of April 2014, just about the time the season starts. While many reviewers have complained about the food during this period, nobody in Ladakh was able to provide good food since the supplies from Srinagar had not yet started in and the choices were limited to whatever they could manage from canned, stored supplies etc. Travellers need to bear in mind the massive odds the locals have to fight to run this region. So I will keep the food aspect out of this review.
We booked our complete itinerary through the hotel for a stay of 8 days. Rinchen (who owns and runs the hotel from the front desk) is the soul of the property and took care of it all. She is an excellent,practical and very hands on resource and great to generally chat up.
We dont have a single complaint from the complete itinerary starting from the well planned schedule, the clean hotel, the very polite driver, the hotel stays in Alchi, Hundar et all. We stayed in the pretty large suite (family of four). The hotel has 24 hrs running water and central heating, is very walkable from the main market, the staff friendly and responsive.
Our best memory was the packed breakfast they handed to us for our early morning drive to the Pangong lake. While we had asked for Paranthas to be packed, the lovely touch of adding a bottle of juice, and a chocolate in each pack was touching and to have that sitting on rocks next to a stream of ice cold water is the most picture perfect moment of the trip.
All in all, we will carry great memories of the holiday and a large part of this is due to the hotel, their staff and Rinchen!

Room Tip: The suites are large but dont have a balcony. Not sure you will have the opportunity to sit in the b...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.3 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
0.7 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
3.5 mi away
Ladakh Sarai
Ladakh Sarai
#3 of 75 in Leh
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladakh Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladakh Residency

Address: Changspa, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Leh
Price Range: $59 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ladakh Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ladakh Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladakh Residency Hotel Leh
Ladakh Residency Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing