We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go ahead... pamper yourself !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ladakh Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ladakh Residency
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
pune
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go ahead... pamper yourself !”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I travelled to Leh, Ladakh during last week of July and stayed at this hotel. I did an extensive search and information gathering with various other hotels and online tour operators like makemytrip, yatra etc + private tour operators. Finally resorted to this hotel purely based on reviews at this website. I am glad I trusted the reviews and found them pretty much aligned to expectations.

The property is pretty much clean, hygienic, well maintained and most importantly well managed by the owner Wangchuk, his daughter Rinchen - who you would find runnning around thru-out day , knowing every customer personally along with their itineraries.

Their personal interaction/ touch added the warmth to the stay. Coming again on property side and my package, I opted all inclusive - bed/ breakfast/ dinner/ sightseeing package with this hotel and proved decent on my purse. Ofcourse to optimise the cost, you need to have a decent size of group , say 6 to 7 where such group size can be fitted in a Toyota Innova vehicle which is dedicated to you 6 days to move around Ladakh. The vehicle given to us was well maintained, ultra clean and the driver was gem ! Softspoken and generous.

The rooms are well appointed with tibetan kind of architecture in wood, highly spacious. IN fact we were given suite for 3 days out of 6 nights stay , 1 night a deluxe room and rest 2 nights out of Leh. Stay arrangements made out of Leh were pleasant surprise. The tent camps at Nubra valley and Pangong were truly amazing. Quality of tents, hygiene, food, hospitality, warmth left us spellbound. What more can you expecat at such remote places and you are dished out with unlimited gulabjamuns :) as last course ! Well that was on lighter side. But fact remains that in mini metro/ metro places where things are available in abundance, you find cleanliness, facilities easily missing, which were made available spic and span at these places.

I feel trust, reliability, personal attention are few of the USP of this place which are nicely managed by the owners and their staff. I would highly recommend this property for future travellers. Go ahead ! Pamper yourself !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreamtraveller069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadakhResidency, Owner at Ladakh Residency, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is really heartening to all of us at the Residency to get such a glowing feedback from one of our guests.

Please do visit again- it was equally enjoyable for us to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    50
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
68
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jodhpur
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

thanks rensing for the generosity you shown to us during our stay . the property is new , well maintained and with exceptinal architecture as per ladakh standards , the rates are reasonable and the suite rooms are big enough to accomodate a family of four .... the only scope for improvement lies in food quality and selection of menu for buffet

Room Tip: go for any room . all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afzalJodhpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadakhResidency, Owner at Ladakh Residency, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are trying at all times to keep the menu fresh and updated- thank you for your feedback, we will try and ensure that if you do visit again, you don't face any such problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

To all those travelling to Leh and need a trustable and well planned package please do contact Rinchen Kalon, owner of Ladakh Residency. We visited Leh in June, and considering the unpredictable climate we had some last minute changes which were very well accomodated. For instance, since it was pretty cold in Pangong, Rinchen suggested us to move to a warmer accomodation rather than tents which was well thought of. The hotel itself was one of the best in Leh, with very comfortable rooms and very hospitable staff and all our needs were well attended. We had to spend one night in another hotel, due to some change of plans and nonavailability of rooms, but Rinchen took care of getting us an equally good room in another hotel. Kudos to Ladakh Residency and please keep up the good work.. We would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaibaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadakhResidency, Owner at Ladakh Residency, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Zaiba,

It was so very great having you stay with us. Thank you very much for taking out time to post your review here.

Hope you do visit some time again, and please do keep in touch :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Very courteous staff.Excellent food.Airy rooms with balcony facing the snow capped mountains.MrWangchuk,his wife DrAmgoandMissRinchen made our stay memorable.My heartfelt thanks to DrAmgo who helpes us in combatting AMS.
Kusumanand

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kusumanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

On our recent 5-day trip to Ladakh, I couldn't get booking for all nights here, so stayed for 2 nights. I must say its one of the best located hotels in the town and has a nice feel about it!

Ms Rinchen Kalon, the beautiful & professional daughter of the owner, was generous enough to upgrade me to a SUITE! So, for a booking of 3 double rooms, we got 1 suite & 2 deluxe rooms!

The rooms are comfortable, bathrooms neat & clean. Food served is very very good! And staff are very friendly too! All in all, a memorable experience! Most recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeshKejriwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadakhResidency, Owner at Ladakh Residency, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Though you spent only two days with us (due to the nonavailability of rooms) it was truly a pleasure having you stay with us.

Please do visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This review may be longer than the typical one. So be it. I would like to share with my fellow travellers my experience at this Hotel in as much detail as possible of how even smallest of my needs either stated or implied was taken care of with at most love and care. Generally, moderately big hotels tend to boast of good infrastructure and facilities and small homestays tries to concentrate on personal touch with basic facilities. Ladakh regency Hotel is a rare combination of providing excellent facilities and infrastructure with a human touch. I have stayed at a large number of hotels big and small in many cities in the world and I can vouch that nothing that I have stayed before came anywhere near this hotel. If I can sum up, I found this Hotel to be a real Home away from one’s own home.
My wife and I stayed in this Hotel for six nights from 15th June 2012. The Hotel is managed by Mr and Mrs. Wangchuk and her daughter Rinchen. Incidentally Rinchen holds an MBA from IIM, Bangalore. Unlike many of the other tourist destinations, Leh is a high altitude (12,000 feet above MSL) desert with oxygen levels in the air typically less than 50% of that at sea level. This rarefied air affects the traveller by high altitude sickness sometimes referred to as AMS(Acute mountain sickness) specially if one flies directly into Leh like we did from Delhi. AMS manifests itself in many forms for different people but generally results in tightening of chest, breathlessness even while doing simplest of tasks, loss of appetite and nagging headache. Hence the needs of the traveller are also different and it would help a lot if expert opinion is available at hand. It was here that we found lucky that Mrs. Wangchuck who herself is a physician on her own talked to us, gave us a lot of tips of how we should acclimatize ourselves and also gave Diamox tablets to help us combat AMS. We found later that it was a general practice of both Mrs. Wangchuk and her daughter Rinchen to spend time every day both at breakfast and dinner with the hotel guests, going from table to table enquiring about their welfare, checking about how their (guest’s) day was spent, what they intend to see the next day and offering tips about what to see, dos and donts in those places. In one such conversation, when she found out that we were planning to visit Nubra valley via Khardungla pass, the highest (18,000 feet) motorable pass, she advised us that we should carry an oxygen cylinder in case of need and arranged one from the Hotel and said that we could return it if not used at no cost. We were really moved with their gesture. They had also trained their staff to ensure that the guest’s needs are to be taken care of always with a smile. On many occasions due to loss of appetite when we could not eat what was in the main buffet, the staff were extremely accommodative in providing us alternatives. I would like to specially mention the names of David and Joshi, their dining room staff who always ran that extra mile to make our stay comfortable, be it providing with us with hot water for drinking or a plate of hot pakoras on a chilli evening.
Coming to the facilities, the rooms are spacious, spick and span with clean linens and bathroom. The view of the snow peak mountains from the room is breathtaking. Room service was lightning fast in spite of the hotel running full during our entire stay. The breakfast and dinner buffet is well spread with food from various parts of India including from our South which we found to be a pleasant surprise. The market is just a few minutes walk from the Hotel. You can get breakfast packed even as early as six in the morning if you are leaving early for sightseeing. There is 24 hours running hot water and electricity, which I later learnt was a real luxury in Leh which hardly gets 4 to 5 hours of power from the electricity board. The hotel most of the time runs on generators. Hotel has a free wi-fi facility for the guests although it is available only in the lobby.
If majority of the guests demand then the hotel arranges a cultural evening of Ladhaki dance and Music on the lawns. We were lucky to have one which we consider as a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony at the time of booking itself as the hotel generally gets full and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadakhResidency, Owner at Ladakh Residency, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking out time to post a feedback. I hope both of you are well and planning another visit to Ladakh. We really loved having you stay with us, and hope you do make another trip to Leh soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We went in a group of 6 and the service of this hotel is too good..We got some excellent advice from the hotel owners and have only good things to say about it. It is not far from the market. Also the whole package was arranged by the hotel so we had no hassle at all in Leh. Food was good. All in all great place to stay. I will surely come again to Leh and stay in Ladakh Residency...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadakhResidency, Owner at Ladakh Residency, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Hi Milin,

It was really great having all of you here with us. Do come back again- it was a pleasure having you all here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.3 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
0.7 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.7 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#14 of 74 in Leh
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladakh Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladakh Residency

Property: Ladakh Residency
Address: Changspa, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ladakh Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ladakh Residency Hotel Leh
Ladakh Residency Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing