We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills, but great staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Willow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Grand Willow
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Leh
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No frills, but great staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My family recently stayed at the grand willow hotel. We were put up there by Cox and Kings tours. It was a bit of a let down. The hotel looks outdated, the sheets and towels were not always clean/fresh and often had stains. The heater was only turned on in the evening and shut by the time we woke up in the morning. Hot water is also available only at certain times, and is often not enough for everyone. Food was also about average.
However, the staff of this hotel was wonderful. They accommodated our every request to the best of their abilities and the limitations of the resources available in Leh. They were polite, engaging and very very helpful. We were very well looked after.
It is well located - near the market in Leh. It is also walking distance from some nice restaurant (Gesmo, Chopsticks) and from general stores.
I would not recommend this hotel to travelers looking for a luxury/semi-luxury experience. However, it is an okay option for budget hotels in Leh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor since there is no elevator and walking up repeatedly is tiring an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue_denime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    19
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel Grand Willow is a good budget hotel to stay in Leh. Food is satisfactory and according to the climate. Hotel staff is friendly. Rooms with attached bathrooms are spacious hot water facility. Location of hotel is also good, very close to the main market. Electricity is a common problem in Leh, yet you can enjoy cable facility in rooms. Very cool and good palce to stay with family in Leh. Booking can be done on phone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sureshv428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This Hotel is now looking a bit tired. The phone was dead, Electricity very iffy, Bathroom quite shoddy and room about ok. The shower literally had 3 small spouts coming from it and was cold. I ended up turning the tap on instead, which was warmer, but came out of the wall at about belly button height which made it awkward to wash. The report in my Lonely Planet book was ok for this Hotel, but that was in 2009!!
The Hotel is in a very good position and the staff are friendly. As Indian Hotels go it's not too bad, the food was average, although I only had breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited on August 2013. It is very near to the main market. Cosy ambience - helpful staffs. Management will also arrange your permits in advance with transport. This is a budget hotel with a small garden infront of the dining hall & reception on the ground floor.

A new block of Deluxe Rooms are still on process just beside. Most of the city hotels do not have landscape views but the hotel offers clean rooms with hot food. Nice behavior. You can try for it.

Room Tip: Ask for upper storied rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nilanjanbasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

- located at a walking distance from the main market and yet far from any street noise.
- offers basic amneties; although hot water and television is available only when electricity is running (its pretty chilly as a weather, so no electricity shuldnt bother much).
One restaurant serves guests as per the orders coming in; they cook it all pretty fresh and thus takes more than longer. The staff is helpful if looking for some local information.
-no power backup.
- fizzy t.v. with fizzy cable network.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainankit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUDHIANA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very good hotel location. Very cooperative and energetic staff,good basic facilities,home like atmosphere and u can get food of our taste and choice at any time.Seating arrangement is also very nice. u will find greenery everywhere in hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIVEKGARG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Grand Willow is a no frills hotel; which most of them are at Leh.
This hotel is located at a walking distance from the main market and yet far from any street noise.
The room offers basic amneties; although hot water and television is available only when electricity is running (its pretty chilly as a weather, so no electricity shuldnt bother much).
One restaurant serves guests as per the orders coming in; they cook it all pretty fresh and thus takes more than longer. The staff is helpful if looking for some local information.
(Tip: always book ur Leh trip & accomodation thru a local holiday planner; this ensures better deals)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POOJAbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hill Town
Hotel Hill Town
#48 of 73 in Leh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cho Palace
Hotel Cho Palace
#24 of 73 in Leh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#13 of 73 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#11 of 73 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansarover
Hotel Mansarover
#43 of 73 in Leh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Munshi Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Willow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Willow

Property: Hotel Grand Willow
Address: Fort Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Leh
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Willow Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing