We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Very comfortable stay”
Review of The Mogol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mogol Hotel
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We(four person, two rooms) stayed at this hotel from 29.05.14 to 04.06.14. We have enjoyed hospitality from Mr Wangchuk, owner himself ans staff. Manager Mr Deepak, Cook Mr Anil and other staff were so nice with us that we could not think even this care and hospitality from five star hotels. Rooms were very clean, food was awesome. We enjoyed punjabi, continental and tibetiyan food. Its away home out of home. I thanked our travel agent Mr Rigzin(The Summit Adventure) for giving us stay in this homely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParthShah271186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogolmanager, Owner at The Mogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs. Shah,

Allow me to express my appreciation on behalf of my team for the positive review and we are all delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for the compliments. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require any assistance on your next visit to Leh.

Looking forward to your continuous support and we hope to welcome you back soon to Mogol Hotel, Leh and Silk Route Cottages, Nubra.

Yours sincerely,

Management
Mogol Hotel , Leh & Silk Route Cottages, Nubra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 38 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

We arrived in Leh in the middle of the night,after the bus journey from hell( 39 hours) from Manali.The receptionist/manager heard our knocking and found rooms for 5 of us at 2.00 am.We stayed for 3 days before finding alternative accommodation nearby but we loved it.No electricity is common all over India..not really a big deal.But the beds were definitely the most comfortable in our whole time in India( 2 months).Staff were lovely,friendly and very helpful.Many thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JULES44Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogolmanager, Owner at The Mogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Jules,

Allow me to express my appreciation on behalf of my team for the positive review and we are all delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for the compliments. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require any assistance on your next visit to Leh.

Looking forward to your continuous support and we hope to welcome you back soon to Mogol Hotel, Leh and Silk Route Cottages, Nubra.

Yours sincerely,

Management
Mogol Hotel, Leh & Silk Route Cottages, Nubra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for few days as part of our adventure trip with Aqua Terra for a climb to Stok Kangri. The hotel staff is good but the facilities are terrible. There is no electricity during the day and the hotel refuses to switch on the generator, Even at night the generator is shut off after mid night so basiclly from 12 mid night to morning you are without electricity - tip - carry torches to visit the rest room at night. Forget hot water at times there was no water at all in the bathrooms - even to flush!!! The Wi-Fi never works - the hotel kept telling us there was some issue with the entire Wi-fi in Leh although Wi-Fi at all the other places in the market and other hotels was working perfectly ok. The rooms are cleaned as per their convenience. Our rooms were not cleaned at all on one of the days depsite 3 requests by us and were only cleaned the next day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikhil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogolmanager, General Manager at The Mogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Mr. Rajpur,

Thanks for your review. We are very sorry you had to face these problems but I would like to clarify a few things. Electricity and water is a problem not due to any problems with the hotel but whole of Leh suffers from that problem, but its the first time we received such a complaint. Although public electricity supply is very erratic and inconsistent which we cant help, therefore we provide electricity through our generator but only till 11.30 pm which is standard service in a remote area like Leh where commodities like diesel are scarce. And all clients are usually informed about these constraints by their travel agencies, and also our management informs the clients and information is displayed in the information folder in all rooms.

Usually we don't have problems with water, but again unlike many other places in Leh we are yet to have running water connection we manage with our own tube well, which has to be lifted to the rooftop tanks but due to erratic electricity there can be a rare delay, which could have happened in this instance for which we apologize.

However Leh is developing very rapidly and infrastructure and amenities are improving every season. At Mogol Hotel and Silk Route its our constant endeavor to serve our clients better and improve our services. I hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again hope you will have a better experience with us next time like most of our clients.

Sincerely,

Management
Hotel Mogol, Leh & Silk Route Cottages, Nubra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was recommended the hotel by friends who had stayed here a couple of years back. Stayed here for 5 memorable days with my family!

I would like to thank the hotel management and the nice cheerful staff for making our stay a great and memorable one! Special thanks to the kitchen staff for the fabulous food! we liked everything about the hotel, maybe the bathrooms are a bit old fashioned but no problems with cleanliness or hygiene. The rooms at the back of the building (1st floor) where we stayed the first night was a bit cramped up and dingy (would suggest to avoid that) but we requested to be shifted in the front, which they did and had no problems. The front rooms are very spacious and comfortbale. would suggest to improve the lighting in rooms at the back, and do something about the noisy generator (not a big problem but was disturbing when electricity went off, which was rare).

The coffee shop on the rooftop is a great place to relax in the evening....try the masala tea and french fries with cheese!

what I liked the most about the place is its decent, homely and quite - you feel you are at your home (maybe its due to the friendly attitude of the staff and overall atmosphere), location is great - just a few minutes from city center, ofcourse food was definitely among the best Indian food I had....Chinese and western good as well.

The staff and management were very helpful and efficient - they did their best to make us feel at home....we hope to return again! Julley!!!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the front they are much better, spacious...avoid the 2 rooms at the extreme bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMac564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogolmanager, Manager at The Mogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at Mogol.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again and definitely address the issues as highlighted by you.

Warm regards,

Management Mogol & Silk Route

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place has very nice ambiance and the overall decor creates a good feeling at first. Then one sees the unclean toilets, poor restaurant services, totally unprofessional behavior of staff. Then one decides never to come back here ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandakphu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogolmanager, Manager at The Mogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Sir/madam,
First of all thank you for taking the time to review our property/business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we really appreciate your positive and critical feedback. While we will continue to strengthen our strong points we will do our best to address the problems you highlighted.

We would like to reassure you that Mogol Hotel and Silk Route are among the older and most trusted properties in Ladakh. However at times we do encounter occasional constraints attributable to human resources related issues especially with turnover of staff which is a challenge in this remote part of the world but we will continue to do our best to offer the best services.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed five nights at the Mogol Hotel in between road trips. Cute and cozy place within walking distance of markets and restaurants. Unfortunately the management is very disorganized. Lots of yelling between staff members and lack of clear communication. Told us we only needed to be at the airport
one hour ahead of time and missed our flight. This hotel would be a great mid-price hotel with better management.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogolmanager, Owner at The Mogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Madam,

Apologies for the delayed response.

First of all thank you for taking time to write fhis review.

We take every feedback constructively and try to improve our services constantly. However I would like to highlight the fact that Ladakh is one of the remotest areas in the world, where tourism, like sectors are in a relatively early stage of development.Well qualified human resources is scarce and we constantly strive to do our best within the given circumstances.

We hope you to serve you better next time.

Best wishes,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

we were very satisfied....the people at the hotel are very hospitable and caring. love them all. it is located in the center of the city, so it's easy to go downtown. we really feel like home, since al the people at the hotel are very kind.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endangsetiawati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogolmanager, Owner at The Mogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Sir,

Allow me to express my appreciation on behalf of my team for the positive review and we are all delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for the compliments. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require any assistance on your next visit to Leh.

Looking forward to your continuous support and we hope to welcome you back soon to Mogol Hotel, Leh and Silk Route Cottages, Nubra.

Yours sincerely,

Management
Mogol Hotel , Leh & Silk Route Cottages, Nubra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.6 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#20 of 75 in Leh
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Silk Route Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Shambhala
Hotel Shambhala
#40 of 75 in Leh
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Omasila
Hotel Omasila
#16 of 75 in Leh
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#17 of 75 in Leh
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mogol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mogol Hotel

Address: Chanspa Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range: $83 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mogol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mogol Hotel and Silk Route Cottages - Your home away from home!Welcome to the mystical land of Ladakh! See towering mountains reach up to a clear blue sky. Hear the rythmic chant of Buddhist monks in an ancient monastery where time stands still. See the rushing waters of an icy river surge down from a glacial height. Ladakh - the "land of passes" and "the roof of the world" awaits you! Explore a gompa, go mountaineering in the Himalayas, camp on the Ladakh Plateau where the earth seems nearer to the sky, trek on treacherous and breathtaking routes, see rare mountain goats ascend the slopes and cranes fly overhead. The Mogol Hotel Leh welcomes you to holidays in Ladakh. Tour a land that will amaze you with its stark beauty and delight you with the warmth of the Ladakhi people.The Mogol Hotel charming 18 room family run hotel set in relaxing locations where we give our guests a comfortable, relaxing and truly memorable holiday in idyllic surroundings of Chanspa that is most ideally located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Leh town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Mogol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mogol Hotel Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing