We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Leh”
Review of Shanti Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanti Guest House
Ranked #71 of 206 Leh B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The place is comfort. Staff is very kind. It's family business, we feel as part of thier family.
Location is OK, it located in quiet area near Shanti stupa. walking around 10 minutes to city center for more choice of food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipatpong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have travelled to Ladakh many times over the past 25 years and I have found no better place to stay than this wonderful guest house on the outskirts of Leh. Within 10 minutes walk down the Changspa Road from the main bazaar Shanti Guest house is both quiet, clean and very comfortable. When my son suffered from altitude sickness on our last visit the staff were extremely caring and helpful and offered well informed medical advice. Both Dorjey and his wife are very well travelled and have excellent English and can help with every possible adventure you could possibly want to have in Ladakh. The guest house also has it's own wifi - what more could you wish for when needing to contact home or update your Facebook !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDJSALTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The guest house is located under the shanti stupa, a littlebit out of the crowded mainstreet but walking distance reasonable. the family who runs the hotel very nice and helping, Dorje, the owner is a hiking guide and have a lot of knowledge. there is a small restaurant in the garden for breakfast and they also serve dinners inside the house. the rooms were OK, and they had a family room for 6 persons which was very comfortable. also because of the food and the garden you can stay and rest until you get used for the heights.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with the bathrooms inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms on the first and second floor are nice. However on second floor the Wi-Fi signals can be an issue. The food was between ok and good. The guest house is at a walking distance from market thus you have plenty of eating options nearby.

They generally have a room available and thus can be kept as a safe fallback option in case you are unable to find something better.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginnupotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We happened to drive from New Delhi to Leh in 2nd week of April via Srinagar route - the Zoji la opened up in record time this year. Hence when we reached Leh, due to pre-season, most hotels were shut. We called up Shanti Guest house and it did have a room for us.
The route is a bit tricky with no proper signage actually. Secondly, you have to park your vehicle on the main road - safety can be an issue.
The room cost us 1000 bucks and was on the 1st floor - it did look cosy though the lack of t.v did move us. What was comforting was free wi-fi and it worked like charm. However, inspite of multiple requests, warm water never came in the pipe nor was offered for basic face / hand wash.
Breakfast at best was a bit bland but then i guess they are used to making food for international guests! We checked-out after just a night as we had to go to nubra and then to pangong tso. We again came back after 2 days and got a ground floor which completely lacked the cosy feel of the one on the 1st floor. Again, wi-fi was comforting but like our first night experience, warm water was not present in the pipes. Only a bucket full was given - hello - this is April and not January!
We had informed the staff 2 times that we needed to leave early at 7am back for Delhi and wanted breakfast before that - it didnt happen. Only when i raised my voice at 8am for the bill did they came running with the food.

Overall, there are better options in the main town at 1000 bucks - wifi is good but food is bland, no hot water most of the times and no shops around the place, nearest being a good 10-15min walk away. And you cant walk to this place in the dark - the dogs will eat you away!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms i guess are more cosy. No TV though. Wi-fi however is a life saver
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BunnyPunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Shanti Guest house became my Home when I go to Ladakh,out of the city you can have your quiet ; you have a splendid view on the mountains and you need only10 mn walk to be in the center of Leh.It is situated under the Shanti Stuppa and it is also very easy to go up there for sunrise or sunset..Beauteful ones !!!
The rooms are clean with central heating.and there is also WI-FI.......a reel luxury in Ladakh Tsering and Drolkar who run the G.H. are very warmhearted people always trying to help you and make you feel comfortable and happy ..They have also a travel agency and trekking has no secret for Tsering He has a big experience and you can trust him completely, his advises are very precious .
The food is also very good with a friendly atmosphere in the Tibetan dining room .
It is the right place to have a very good time.and have a stay comfortable and easy.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank frodesanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were here during the winters. This place is very close to the Shanti Stupa. There are 3 levels with several rooms on each floor. It is run by a lady and her family.
Rooms are moderately spaced. There are enough blankets provided. There was 24 hours power supply unlike previous years. But the central heating was turned off from time to time especially at night.
There are big water tanks in the bathroom which is the only source of water. Hot water is provided on request.
Food is average. The only non-vegetarian item is egg. Hot drinking water is provided.
There are all weather ACs fitted in the common area which is the only cozy place in the hotel.
In peak winter, this hotel provides the basic amenities such as food and shelter but not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukeEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.9 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#20 of 75 in Leh
177 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
1.2 mi away
OYO 5052 The Auspicious Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Bikamp at Leh
Bikamp at Leh
#6 of 128 in Leh
50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sia-La Guesthouse
Sia-La Guesthouse
#1 of 206 in Leh
333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gangba Homestay
Gangba Homestay
#5 of 206 in Leh
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Guest House

Address: Changspa | Shanti Stupa road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range: $29 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1st Centrally Heated House In Ladakh Region. Its open through out the year You can contact us for any travel related service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shanti Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Guest House Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing