We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your money!”
Review of Il Forno

Il Forno
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Leh
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Watch your money!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My poor review is entirely due to an incident I had when having lunch. I paid 470rupees with a 1000 note and 500 rupees were missing from my change. When I called the waitress to complain, he took 500 from the til and gave it to me without even telling him the reason why I called him so he knew what he was doing. Nothing said he gave me the money and I left.
I'm sorry to say this but in India this is a very common practice, it happened in several occasions in shops and bars. Watch your money!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfquintero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    59
    30
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
1,194 reviews
510 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
“good for view and drinks”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fully agree with other reviewers that this restaurant is not clean or appetizing. But i had a chai and enjoyed the view over Main Market and the surrounding mountains/hills. It was enchanting at sunset. Go with the right expectations for view and drinks, and you'll enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Terrible service, terrible food, very dirty”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We thought we would experiment a bit and try one of the other roof terraces but Il Forno was definitely a mistake.

The menus are extremely dirty. What is the point of having laminated menus if you don't even clean them? The service is almost non-existent. To be fair, it was a busy night but they had three waiters. It took ages to place the order, an hour for the starters to come and then five minutes later the main courses arrived. The beer was warm and the tea was cold. 20 minutes to bring the bill.

All in all, not the best dining experience ever, you are better off going across to the Leh View Restaurant that has better service, a nicer view and more decent food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apfelwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasteless, badly done food.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

There were four of us, and between us we ordered 5-6 dishes, and everything turned out to be terrible. Will definitely never visit this place again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fadooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leh, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“orange tomato sauce”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Climbed the stairs, I enjoyed the view, but the - not great. Not bad either, go here for the roof top, have a drink and that would be fine for II Forrno. I would go back for a sundowner, but not any orange tomato sauce pasta.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno also viewed

 
Leh, Leh District
 

Been to Il Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing