We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place to stay in leh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kidar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kidar
Ranked #13 of 185 Leh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chennai
1 review
“best place to stay in leh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

its the best place to stay in leh, hospitality is excellent, very homely environment and they are there to help you in every possible way. its more than what u get in such a reasonable rate. overall everything is excellent. if you need taxi or for that matter bike on hire they will guide you to right person without any hassle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhutia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    45
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
48
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Kidar Guest house is the best place i think to stay in Leh. Here you can get all of homely atmosphere. Genuine rates and can get good support in case you find any problem during your trip.
During our trip we got all necessary guidelines from Jigmet, what to do and how which make our trip most memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nitin_uniyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

This place has an excellent ambiance.
The room service is very nice.
Also the food and room rates are very reasonable.
Overall a nice place worth staying !!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpesh_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Mr angchuk and his family take good care of you and provided us with running hot water whenever we requested. The homemade meals are delicious .The common lounge is tastefully decorated in traditional ladakhi style . A comfortable place to stay if you have young kids & a total value for money .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vasiirfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

I visited Kidar guest house in the month of October.It was just beginning to get cold in Leh at that time.
I booked the trip through Rinchen Namgial of Yama Adventures,
www.yamatreks.com
It is through Yama adventures that we happen to be in "Kidar"
The weather had roughened up by the time we came in October.
The reception was good and prompt.
The rooms were spacious and clean.
The guest house actually is a family business and we were looked after very well.
It had just snowed and the garden in front of our rooms looked pretty.
Mrs Namgil supervised our travel arrangements superbly.
The food served was good,clean and not costly at all.
The only drawback that we all faced was the absence of any heating arrangement in the rooms and absence of hot running water. That left us all very uncomfortable .
The basin tap water was icy and the toilet seat felt like a slab of ice.
Some of us took ill because of travel fatigue,high altitude and the extreme cold.We had to abandon the travel in the midst as the weather conditions became very inclement.
Mr.Rinchen Namgil and Mrs.Namgill made every effort to help us out.
The owners Mr.Angchuk and Mrs.Chorol went out of their way to comfort us.
I plan to return back again next year in April with dozens of my other friends.
Other Indian travellers do not forget to see the "Trishul Army Museum".This museum dosent appear in the POI's. This museum is open only to Indian Nationals.
Do visit the market,as we purchased some very good coats and boots .
Try and taste the Yak milk,it tastes good.
Overall ,excepting for the major drawback of absent heating system and running hot water this is a gem of a place.
I would come back again.

  • Liked — solitude,service and price
  • Disliked — absence of hot running water and heater
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

We booked Kidar Guesthouse through Rinchen Namgial (call him NAM-gill) of YAMA ADVENTURES in Leh. Kidar is a Ladakhi-owned and family-run guesthouse. Service is impeccable: Angchuk and her husband Chorol are friendly and welcoming and also very discreet. The house is a short walk away from the bazaar in a quiet but nice neighborhood. We had breakfast in the garden every morning (don't miss the homemade Ladakhi bread--you'll need the carbs). Angchuk's food is traditional and fresh (vegetables, momos with homemade chutney, Ladakhi skew, and if you like something special, she'll cook it for you).
Besides recommending this guesthouse, Namgial prepared a very balanced travel itinerary for our 10-day visit. Namgial's English is amazing (highly idiomatic) and his knowledge of Buddhism and Ladakhi history gave us a great intro and stimulated our curiosity to learn more. It was a treat visiting monasteries, discovering views, and spending a night at his family's home on the way back from the Aryan village (Dha). Namgial's wife Nilza helped me navigate the fabric shops and get outfitted in a traditional Ladakhi dress, raw silk blouse and all. His nephew Sharb (SHAAH-rab) is a fabulous driver, very reliable no matter how bad the conditions around him--and how bad other drivers are.
Our itinerary included monasteries in the vicinity of Leh (Thikse, Hemis, Shey), Lamayuru, Alchi, Hanu, Likir, Tenisgam, village of Dha, the crossing of Khardon La, Deskit, Hundar, a day hike, etc. AWESOME TRIP! Enough time to rest, enough time to roam.
[----]

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

A very nice stay in Leh with a very friendly family. Choose Rooms with garden view. 7/8 rooms, 2 very large rooms (family rooms) with attached bathroom. The garden is so nice !

Not far from the center and the taxis are so cheap !

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramseshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Auspicious Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.5 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Ladakh
Hotel Holiday Ladakh
#31 of 73 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kidar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kidar

Property: Hotel Kidar
Address: Lower Tukcha Fort Road, Leh 194101, India (Formerly Kidar Guest House)
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kidar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Kidar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kidar Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing