We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy House.”
Review of Hotel Kidar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kidar
Ranked #16 of 206 Leh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I visited Kidar guest house in the month of October.It was just beginning to get cold in Leh at that time.
I booked the trip through Rinchen Namgial of Yama Adventures,
www.yamatreks.com
It is through Yama adventures that we happen to be in "Kidar"
The weather had roughened up by the time we came in October.
The reception was good and prompt.
The rooms were spacious and clean.
The guest house actually is a family business and we were looked after very well.
It had just snowed and the garden in front of our rooms looked pretty.
Mrs Namgil supervised our travel arrangements superbly.
The food served was good,clean and not costly at all.
The only drawback that we all faced was the absence of any heating arrangement in the rooms and absence of hot running water. That left us all very uncomfortable .
The basin tap water was icy and the toilet seat felt like a slab of ice.
Some of us took ill because of travel fatigue,high altitude and the extreme cold.We had to abandon the travel in the midst as the weather conditions became very inclement.
Mr.Rinchen Namgil and Mrs.Namgill made every effort to help us out.
The owners Mr.Angchuk and Mrs.Chorol went out of their way to comfort us.
I plan to return back again next year in April with dozens of my other friends.
Other Indian travellers do not forget to see the "Trishul Army Museum".This museum dosent appear in the POI's. This museum is open only to Indian Nationals.
Do visit the market,as we purchased some very good coats and boots .
Try and taste the Yak milk,it tastes good.
Overall ,excepting for the major drawback of absent heating system and running hot water this is a gem of a place.
I would come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brownhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2009

We booked Kidar Guesthouse through Rinchen Namgial (call him NAM-gill) of YAMA ADVENTURES in Leh. Kidar is a Ladakhi-owned and family-run guesthouse. Service is impeccable: Angchuk and her husband Chorol are friendly and welcoming and also very discreet. The house is a short walk away from the bazaar in a quiet but nice neighborhood. We had breakfast in the garden every morning (don't miss the homemade Ladakhi bread--you'll need the carbs). Angchuk's food is traditional and fresh (vegetables, momos with homemade chutney, Ladakhi skew, and if you like something special, she'll cook it for you).
Besides recommending this guesthouse, Namgial prepared a very balanced travel itinerary for our 10-day visit. Namgial's English is amazing (highly idiomatic) and his knowledge of Buddhism and Ladakhi history gave us a great intro and stimulated our curiosity to learn more. It was a treat visiting monasteries, discovering views, and spending a night at his family's home on the way back from the Aryan village (Dha). Namgial's wife Nilza helped me navigate the fabric shops and get outfitted in a traditional Ladakhi dress, raw silk blouse and all. His nephew Sharb (SHAAH-rab) is a fabulous driver, very reliable no matter how bad the conditions around him--and how bad other drivers are.
Our itinerary included monasteries in the vicinity of Leh (Thikse, Hemis, Shey), Lamayuru, Alchi, Hanu, Likir, Tenisgam, village of Dha, the crossing of Khardon La, Deskit, Hundar, a day hike, etc. AWESOME TRIP! Enough time to rest, enough time to roam.
[----]

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

A very nice stay in Leh with a very friendly family. Choose Rooms with garden view. 7/8 rooms, 2 very large rooms (family rooms) with attached bathroom. The garden is so nice !

Not far from the center and the taxis are so cheap !

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramseshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank sasi_timudom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle kamers ongeveer hetzelfde, bovenste verdiepeing heeft het mooiste uitzicht
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arnoud P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Masticoergosum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
1.2 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#20 of 75 in Leh
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sia-La Guesthouse
Sia-La Guesthouse
#1 of 206 in Leh
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
OYO 5052 The Auspicious Hotel
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kidar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kidar

Address: Lower Tukcha Fort Road, Leh 194101, India (Formerly Kidar Guest House)
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range: $53 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kidar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kidar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kidar Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing