We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely Kidar Guest House”
Review of Hotel Kidar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kidar
Ranked #17 of 202 Leh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Kidar Guest House is a gem! The management, accommodations, staff, and food are top-notch. Off the beaten path in Leh, it was the perfect home base in our travels throughout Ladakh. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

Right from the meeting with owner to bidding adieu we had no complaints whatsoever. The food , staff and every thing around made us feel very very comfortable. The owner is very soft spoken and caring.
In all the place to stay if find the rooms vacant. Best if luck.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhagat-Ashok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Kidar. All because of a helpful and well- trained & well- mannered staff.The rooms are very clean, spacious and at an affordable price. Most of the rooms in the hotel give fabulous view of snow capped mountains. There is a well maintained garden where one can relax, laze around or even enjoy having delicious food served by the hotel. Mr. Jigmet is a very genuine and an amicable person and looks after the guests as family. I highly recommend Kidar for those who plan to visit Leh to make their stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parag_gharde72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, we had a great experience here..Location is nice, rooms are very clean and above all all staff are very polite and trained. Jigmit, Manager of this hotel is very nice person and could guide you well to see leh and around places.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jigar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Beautiful hotel with a great view of snow capped mountains on the left and landscaped garden with sitting arrangement in front.
Hotel Kidar is nestled away from the city and the local market is couple of Kms away but the view from the hotel makes it worth it.
This was the best hotel that we stayed in our 10 days trip of Srinagar-Leh. The landscape just takes your breadth away.
The service is at par with the top hotels. The staff members are very polite, helping and ever smiling.
You get 24 hrs hot running water in the taps and warm drinking water in your room.
Mr Jigmet as Sanket said is a gem of a person and helps you in every way possible and takes care of all your needs. We stayed there for 4 days and that included 1 day breaks when we stayed overnight in Nubra and Pangong lake. Mr Jigmet agreed to keep our luggage in the hotel for the duration we were not staying in the hotel.
The food is very home like and unlike most other hotels, you get green vegetables for lunch and dinner.
Although the only complain I had was there wasn't much choice in food!! Chinese food items are also very tasty but you have to inform the kitchen staff well in advance to order Chinese.
We had to check out of the hotel at 5 am and the hotel staff helped us in moving our luggage into the car early in the morning.
Overall, our stay in Hotel Kidar was probably the highlight of our trip and the management and staff ensured that we take back only fond memories with us.
If I go back to Leh again, I would definitely want to stay in Hotel Kidar!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the extreme left with a seperate balcony overlooking the small farm in front and sn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jigs_Bng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beautiful, spacious, clean and homely rooms. Extremely courteous, warm and helpful staff - especially Jeevan. The owner (Jigmet) is also very helpful and suggested us good places for eating out. They have a nice garden and a huge kitchen garden wherein you can enjoy you cup of morning and evening tea / coffee. The food was outstanding - absolutely like what we have at home. If ever I go to Leh again, I am definitely staying here :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manisha_Saini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel Kidar is by far the best value for money accommodation in entire Leh....Beautiful rooms along with excellent view of snow clapped mountains..great food...excellent service... only 10-15 mins walking distance from main market...
Mr Jigmet, owner of the hotel, is a gem of a person and will take care of all your requirements in Leh
The staff members Jeevan, Kamal, Lakpa are always there to help you with a smile....thx for making our stay memorable in Leh!!!

JUST BOOK IT

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanket K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.1 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.4 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#19 of 75 in Leh
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Holiday Ladakh
Hotel Holiday Ladakh
#24 of 75 in Leh
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sia-La Guesthouse
Sia-La Guesthouse
#1 of 202 in Leh
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kidar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kidar

Address: Lower Tukcha Fort Road, Leh 194101, India (Formerly Kidar Guest House)
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range: $60 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kidar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kidar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kidar Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing