We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort, best hospitality & great food”
Review of Hotel Kidar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kidar
Ranked #17 of 214 Leh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at 2 different hotels during out visit to Leh. Staying at Kidar has been an amazing experience, only wish we stayed here longer!

The resort consists of multiple buildings and beautiful gardens. The gardens are breathtaking, very well maintained & refreshing to see. Our room was on the ground floor next to the garden, the room was spacious, had windows all along the walls, giving us a beautiful view of the resort.

Everyone at the hotel was very hospitable & friendly, including staff & the owner, Jigmat.

We ordered evening snacks, dinner & breakfast & the food was sumptuous! Tasty & home made feel.

Highly recommend this hotel, you will love the experience!!!

Room Tip: I loved the room on ground floor because of the garden view. Rooms on other floors have balconies &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaVoyageurMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 190 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

the hotel's staff and the owner will make you feel at home . morning tea (or at times rum) cant be had in a better place with the flower bed and the view of the mountains.......its also not very far from the market.
food is very nice ,,specially the fresh apples for breakfast from their own garden.
I highly recommend this place .

Room Tip: they have rooms with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virajdewda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It’s like relative's house in leh. Staff and Owner Jigmet are all wonderful people.
we are group of 12 people.
pleasant feeling in the surroundings. The rooms are very well maintained and strategically designed to overlook the mountains.



we stay there for 4 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank santosh_hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Little bit out of town .... we had no problem walking 10-15 min in and out of it. Preferred little bit of walk opposite to staying in noisy downtown.
Have flashlight on you if coming back in the evening when dark since street lighting is non existent in close proximity of hotel and you can make yourself visible to the mad car drivers that seem to speed up in the night.
Gardens are charming and nice to sit out in the sun.
Hot water was in constant supply (need to run a tap for a good few minutes- sad in place like Leh where running water is in short supply, but once it arrives , it was hot and plenty)
Place is basic but clean. Beds were comfortable. There was no heaters provided and it got little bit cold in the night. We have had blanket provided.
Electricity and Wifi supply scattered, but that is the case anywhere in Leh. We asked owner to switch on generator and he did it when we did not to put up with power cut for any longer.
Buffet breakfast was served morning we have arrived, since large group in hotel. After first morning and group left, breakfast was made to order. It took over half hour for masala tea, omelette and paratha, but it was freshly made and OK. Early start mornings (6am) there was no one around to make the breakfast.
When we needed any advice or our room cleaned, owners were happy to help upon request.
Still, considering we have stayed on the end of the season, I would like to pay less for this accommodation. If compared to other accommodation offered around and their standard & price in this time of the year, we did pay way too much.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from upstairs drain water. Close your bathroom door for sound sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiittleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went as a group of 16 during our visit to Ladakh and It was a totally wonderful stay here after the long drive. Top notch hotel, absolutely clean and very comfortable beds to sleep on. Totally recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AshishDatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel Kidar - 10 mins walk from main bazaar in Leh, is a beautifully done hotel with wooden interiors and lovely garden area. It was a bliss after long day drive from Pangong lake. As soon as you enter you get a very homely, pleasant feeling in the surroundings. The rooms are very well maintained and strategically designed to overlook the mountains. Staff was very helpful and ready to help. Best part they were smiling all the time and full of warmth. At Kidar I woke up to a positive pleasant morning. It filled my heart with love and an encouraging feeling which I will never forget. The morning at Kidar is an unforgettable moment which I will cherish forever.
Big Thanks to the owner. Keep up the good work! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhappy0143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in the first week of September and it was simply wonderful while being at this hotel. Staff and Owner Jigmet are all wonderful people. The hotel is well located and is in quite area, away from the crowd and noise in the Market area. Food is great. There are lots of travel agents nearby from whom you can get a good deal for sight seeing. The room was always clean and service was always prompt. I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Look for a room on second floor as it offers the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheenu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.1 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sangto Villa Resort
Sangto Villa Resort
#11 of 77 in Leh
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#17 of 77 in Leh
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sia-La Guesthouse
Sia-La Guesthouse
#1 of 214 in Leh
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kidar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kidar

Address: Lower Tukcha Fort Road, Leh 194101, India (Formerly Kidar Guest House)
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range: $54 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kidar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kidar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kidar Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing