We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly coming back here!”
Review of Hotel Kidar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kidar
Ranked #17 of 203 Leh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I was a solo traveller looking for a good home stay in Leh, and it couldn't have been better ! Extremely warm and hospitable family, who helped me in every way possible. I still remember how Jigmet's mother got me a rug to sit on and have tea, saying "thanda lag jayega"...this was just one of the examples I can think of. Very good quality food, lovely rooms (extension of their home) and very traditional dining areas. Slightly off the main market but if you have a vehicle to yourself, it should be just the place to stay in! For those who are interested they also had Tata sky connection

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiteshK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 189 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

We enjoyed sitting in the upstairs seating area for breakfasts of eggs, bread and tea (breakfast is not included in the room rate), chatting with the other guests. The sitting room has a nice collection of pots and pans, low tables, and a good view of the mountains. We especially appreciated the family’s recommendation that we go see an archery competition held as part of a nearby village’s annual festival. That ended up being our only opportunity to try butter tea and chang while in Leh. Running hot water was available from 7am till the afternoon. Our double room, with an attached bathroom, cost us Rs. 500 per night. They also did laundry for Rs 15-20 per item. Kidar opened its doors to guests in 2003, when a Japanese tourist knocked on their door and asked if they had a spare room. They have since built a second floor, and are currently constructing an extension to the building. We took a taxi there from the bus stand (it’s a little hard to find, but behind Hotel Mansarovar), but otherwise walked into town from the guest house. Others complained about dogs barking at night, but we slept well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed at Kidar for about a week. The guest house is a basic one, and really feels like an extension of the owners' home. The rooms are comfortable, and clean. The food is good by Leh standards (which are pretty low though). The location is just a little off the main market, which we appreciated. Loved the family managing it - Angchuk and Dholkar in particular were very helpful, and pretty much accommodated all our requests.

A couple of tips: ask the family to make you some the local bread they have for breakfast - it was the nicest thing we ate on the trip. Keep a torch handy - power outages are unexpected and often enough. Don't ask the owners for too much information, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

its the best place to stay in leh, hospitality is excellent, very homely environment and they are there to help you in every possible way. its more than what u get in such a reasonable rate. overall everything is excellent. if you need taxi or for that matter bike on hire they will guide you to right person without any hassle.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhutia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Kidar Guest house is the best place i think to stay in Leh. Here you can get all of homely atmosphere. Genuine rates and can get good support in case you find any problem during your trip.
During our trip we got all necessary guidelines from Jigmet, what to do and how which make our trip most memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitin_uniyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This place has an excellent ambiance.
The room service is very nice.
Also the food and room rates are very reasonable.
Overall a nice place worth staying !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpesh_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Mr angchuk and his family take good care of you and provided us with running hot water whenever we requested. The homemade meals are delicious .The common lounge is tastefully decorated in traditional ladakhi style . A comfortable place to stay if you have young kids & a total value for money .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasiirfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.8 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.8 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#12 of 75 in Leh
170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#22 of 75 in Leh
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kidar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kidar

Address: Lower Tukcha Fort Road, Leh 194101, India (Formerly Kidar Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 203 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range: $59 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kidar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kidar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kidar Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing