We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely breathtaking view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking view”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I was here on a work visit and this hotel has a really stunning view of the eastern himalayas. Very picturesque and charming. Quite warm and cozy place considering the cold weather outside. It's probaby the best hotel in Ladakh

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tharaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    193
    25
    2
    7
See reviews for
207
145
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kandivali, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

we have enjoy the hotel location , the food was excellent , the hotel was centrally heated , the room has been fully modern amenties and centrally heated , room service was fast and helpful . hotel have big garden and playground ,

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This hotel is just simply excellent. It is an ideal place to stay at Leh with very good quality of service and spacious rooms. Though slightly costlier than the other hotels, it returns for everything you pay.
I had stay at this hotel while on tour with my family and the experience at this hotel was too good, it simply made the holidays memorable. :) The staff was attentive and very co-operative. Cleanliness at the hotel was also good, Rooms were nicely designed and decorated. The hotel is really worth an experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aads321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Between hundreds of guesthouses and small hotels the Grand Dragon Ladakh offers highest standard available in Ladakh.
It's centrally heated, has 24h power, warm water (even all the time) and satellite internet. It has a good restaurant and many other benefits.
Unfortunately the mood of the receptionists is sometimes very poor, even unfriendly. This has to improve to play in the league of ****-star hotels

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhirner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The rooms were spacious and the service people were very friendly- always ready to help with a big smile on their faces.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Supornas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I happened to read about the Grand Dragon Leh on the internet and it seems to be only 4 star hotel in Ladakh. Apparently there are only two types of hotels in Ladakh - A class and the 4 star.

As it was my first time to Leh i wanted to stay at the best hotel there , and after some research i found out that this was the best they had to offer

The hotel staff is very good and the hotel is very near the Airport and also very near the main shopping area in Leh. Our room was a Deluxe room which was very cozy and clean with all modern amenities.

I really liked the service and the food also. I would recommend it to all people - who spend with get their moneys worth here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujaysolanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I stayed at the Grand Dragon in April 2010. While the hotel was not cheap - it met all of my expectations. They took care of me when I got altitude sick on the first day (be careful of the altitude if you fly in). They set up an excellent guided tour of the surrounding areas. They even shipped my very nice noise canceling headphone to my next hotel after I forgot them in my room.

If you are planning on staying in Leh - and want something better than a backpacker hotel -this is a great bet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#17 of 75 in Leh
145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.4 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dragon Ladakh
Hotel Dragon Ladakh
#23 of 75 in Leh
121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ladakh Residency
Ladakh Residency
#10 of 75 in Leh
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Dragon Ladakh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Dragon Ladakh

Property: The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Address: Sheynam Old Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Dragon Ladakh 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the lap of luxury with all kinds of comforts at 3,500m above sea level. Our hotel blends traditional architecture with luxurious accommodation to create a unique experience. We are practicing a “Green” philosophy, using 95 solar panels for hot water supply and heating system. The hotel offers 82 rooms including 3 beautifully appointed suites, each of which comes with all modern amenities like LED TV with entertainment channels, telephone, Wi-Fi Internet access, and magnificent views. Indulge in 24-hour room service, a multi cuisine coffee shop (Zasgyath), a specialty restaurant (TUSRABS) and a bakery (Solja). Avail the assistance of a well-appointed travel desk, wellness center and enjoy indoor games, cultural shows and bonfire on demand. Conference hall, board room, business centre, shopping arcade, relaxing garden, exercise lawn and jogging track are also available for guests' comfort. Book your stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh for an experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Dragon Ladakh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Hotel Leh
Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing