We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“money's worth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

situated close to the airport The grand Dragon Ladakh was definitely the best choice in Leh. A property with a mesmerising view, proximity to the market, excellent service, warm and dedicated staff who are not only helpful but caring in nature. An overall great experience and a must for those who want to see nature in its pristine beauty,untouched, untamed and totally heavenly.
a special mention to Mr Biju who was responsible for our group of 18, he not not gave us a good itenary but ensured a safe and comfortable holiday as we had 8 childreen in our group.

Room Tip: ask for the mountain facing rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanti1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Dragon Ladakh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 630 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great place. Very cool views of the mountains. Reservation and travel desk services - a true delight. Biju, the reservations manager, specifically took care of various nuances - helping us thru managing altitude acclimatization, recommending the right foods, packing us tea/snacks/medicines during our travel. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view of mountains.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HppyBnglrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My trip to leh would be incomplete if I don't mention about grand...hotel staff n amenities doubled our piece of fun...our stay at the hotel was a unmatched experience...be it the spic n span rooms...pool, billards , gym n other games complete the unwritten resort experience...ambiance in the hotel gives the homely touch to it...staff at the hotel is very cooperative n helpful they have no for nothing...anything you ask for they ll make it available for you...summing up I wud like to add a special thanks to sir mustafa, anjum, Danish without whom this experience would not have been possible...best place to be if u happen to be in Ladakh....cheers mates...n do see the beautiful paintings done by the family around the reception they are a class apart......seriously nothing matches the grand dragon

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saurabh1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We are group of 20 people(5 family) visited Ladakh having base at hotel grand dragon,Leh. The best way to visit is to come by road not by flight. There are two options if you come by road .1. Via manali 2. Via Srinagar-sonmarg-dras-kargil-nimmo-leh . As we had past experience of manali road we choose a Srinagar route this time. Its a very beautiful and scenic route. At the same time it is very dangerous at some place, needs a trained driver. To reduce the traveling Kms ,one has to start d journey from sonmarg early morning and have a stop over at kargil . Before that you must visit Dras memorial ( must watch) in dras , where kargil war was fought . From Dras road is very beautiful. Those who wants to do river rafting , a place just before 35 Kms of leh ,it is happening. It is a confluence of 2 rivers ( zanskar & Indus ).in month of May and early June water is not that much so no good rapids. I felt it more like boating than rafting. Double check before you wanna do rafting .And if you are looking for it ,start early from kargil .
Innova is perhaps the best vehicle to select. Some places are very cold on the way. I advice every one a vehicle to hire from leh not from Srinagar. There are reasons for that. Check that your car must have water bottles and oxygen cylinder and you should be prepared with adviced medical tabs ( many people gets high altitude sickness)
We had our vacation in 2 parts .. First 3 Days in gulmarg and 2 days in road trip (sonmarg-kargil-leh) and 5 nights in Ladakh , having our base at HOTEL GRAND DRAGON.
After excessive searches and references from some friends , I choose this hotel. I dealt directly to them. Some negotiations happened , I conveyed our budget to them . MR. DAANISH DIN ,a very young and passionate owner of this property helped me a lot . He made a tailor made package for us which includes A) 6 brand new innovas with very excellent drivers with all facilities B) beautiful deluxe rooms on d same floor (all rooms are equal , well maintained , clean and all rooms having a view of snow clad mountains all around) house keeping and bell boys are very quick on services. C) all food -breakfast, lunch , dinner during entire stay of Ladakh D) hotel bookings of night stays at numbravelly and pangiong lake E) snacks, tea,coffee, beverages , cookies and chocolates during travelling .
We enjoyed our stay at grand dragon and hotels he gave us at numbravelly very much , journey with drivers very much, food at all places and on day trips very much , sense of their hospitality very much ... I can keep on writing about this wonderful experience ...in short 100/100 marks .

P.s... Rates are little at higher side , you can do reasonable bargain if you do direct booking. They are really trustworthy people to do direct booking , will send minute details of your communication in email ,in written. Mr Danish really means what hotel and hospitality business is ... These people make Ladakh , the most beautiful experience ( not like other regions of J&k)

Have a safe journey and beautiful experiences at Ladakh .....

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank rupsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel food was too good. The hospitality was also very good. The rooms were quite big n comfortable. The bathrooms were excellent. Overall we had a good experience. Worth the money spent . Play area for kids was really nice . It had all the facilities which any 5star property has .Amit

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank payal234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

this hotel is the best hotel money can buy i feel. as soon as you enter the lobby you get the royal feeling . the rooms are well funished and the staff is very helpful and makes sure you get everyhting you need. the food at the restaurant was a bit pricy .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcchopra76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Everything about his hotel is perfect. The rooms, the services, the food, friendly staff, the ambiance, etc.
We stayed at the Grand Dragon for almost a week last month and I must say, not even once did the staff give us a chance to complain in any way. The best part about the hotel is the friendly staff always ready to help.
Special mention for Shafeeq (front office) and Gagan (F&B Service) were extremely helpful and impressive with their hospitality.

It was my Aunt's birthday during our stay at the hotel, and we shared our ideas with the front office department of different ways to celebrate the evening. On a very short notice, they arranged for local folk dancers and a big cake to make the evening special. To add it up, the gave us the Banquet room with an amazing setup for 60-80 people to sit and enjoy the show.
The hotel staff surely knows how to give a special touch with their hospitality to bring a smile on their customer's face.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Leh-Ladakh

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish_tekchandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.0 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#16 of 75 in Leh
151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
2.9 mi away
Ladakh Sarai
Ladakh Sarai
#3 of 75 in Leh
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ladakh Residency
Ladakh Residency
#9 of 75 in Leh
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Dragon Ladakh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Dragon Ladakh

Address: Sheynam Old Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leh
Price Range: $127 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Dragon Ladakh 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the lap of luxury with all kinds of comforts at 3,500m above sea level. Our hotel blends traditional architecture with luxurious accommodation to create a unique experience. We are practicing a “Green” philosophy, using 95 solar panels for hot water supply and heating system. The hotel offers 82 rooms including 3 beautifully appointed suites, each of which comes with all modern amenities like LED TV with entertainment channels, telephone, Wi-Fi Internet access, and magnificent views. Indulge in 24-hour room service, a multi cuisine coffee shop (Zasgyath), a specialty restaurant (TUSRABS) and a bakery (Solja). Avail the assistance of a well-appointed travel desk, wellness center and enjoy indoor games, cultural shows and bonfire on demand. Conference hall, board room, business centre, shopping arcade, relaxing garden, exercise lawn and jogging track are also available for guests' comfort. Book your stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh for an experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Dragon Ladakh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Hotel Leh
Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing