We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to b in ladakh!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“the place to b in ladakh!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

nice place, good staff, nice (rather amazing) food!
he staff's really well versed and cooperative and caring...
this being a centrally heated hotel is a real plus point considering the extreme temperatures here...
overall a good, comfortable and memorable stay...

Room Tip: make sure the room gets direct sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RahulAgarwal1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    187
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
198
144
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

this place is fantastic , we went during the season when most of the shops and hotels are shut but this hotel deliver the best , staff, management were fantastic, made our stay way beyond being comfortable.
staff was very polite and smiling, food was simple and good, rooms are warm and clean.
big thank you for the team of grand dragon hotel for making our stay and visit wonderful. i would surly come back to this wonderful land for purly becuase of wonderful people of Leh, Ice hockey and this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I have been last year there and I did not find the hotel very good or the best the hotel was very expansive and the service was pore the location was good the food was good but the room and the services of staff was not good at all
When I ask the rooms server to bring some bottle of water he toke 1 hour
And the behave of them was not so good the ware seam not happy with Clint of the hotel of them
So I will not recommend this hotel

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tulsib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a liked the Hotel location and food.

We apologies for the late room service.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh. With better service in future.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Ideally located , it is a great place to stay in, in Ladakh.The close proximity to the market and shopping area was a great advantage. The rooms were very spacious , comfortable and aesthetically decorated. The varied choices at both breakfast and dinner needs a special mention.The courteous staff and administration were always ready to lend a helping hand. Our stay was made more exciting as both Shah rukh Khan and Omar Abdullah cm of Kashmir happened to stay there at the same time. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nithya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

First, probably one of the most comfortable options in Leh. The rooms are large and well-furnished, extremely clean, and the bathroom has a tub plus shower. But the public rooms, while spacious, are a bit gloomy. Perhaps in full tourist season this wouldn't be so obvious, but since we were at the tail end of the season, we seemed to be rattling around in both the dining rooms. Dining is very good UNLESS it's the buffet - bland and warmed over - we were so disappointed after having had two very good meals previously. Staff is anxious to please and friendly. Elevator out of commission for a few hours while we were there - not such a big deal, except that there were no signs - and we were stuck between floors for a few minutes. Overall, the staff and the location make this a good choice for Leh. No Wifi, although the reception staff said we could check our email on their computer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am travelling with 2 friends in India and we stayed at the Grand Dragon Leh Hotel, which was a great surprise and excellent experience. Service is very good, staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. We had breakfast and dinner every night there: breakfast was Buffett style, with good choices of continental and Indian. Staff always attentive to all our needs. We had one night a Buffett dinner, which was very good, the other nights a la carte. Food was great( we eat Indian) and tasty!

Room Tip: I cannot coment on this because I did not see other rooms, so couldn't compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWLSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and myself stayed there for a week in early October. From check in to check out it was absolutely comfortable. The staff was happy to help and courteous. We had MAP plan, therefore buffet was palatable and good fare for vegetarians. The room service staff and speed was impeccable. I would recommend Grand dragon for any grand holidayer to Leh !! Not to mention the rooms were amply warmed for a comfortable sleep !!

Room Tip: Both sides of rooms have great views of the Himalayas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisankit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.0 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#13 of 75 in Leh
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.5 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dragon Ladakh
Hotel Dragon Ladakh
#19 of 75 in Leh
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Dragon Ladakh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Dragon Ladakh

Property: The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Address: Sheynam Old Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Dragon Ladakh 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the lap of luxury with all kinds of comforts at 3,500m above sea level A holiday to Ladakh is an enriching experience where you have the opportunity to observe and absorb a whole new culture. And you can do this without giving up on all the comforts you're used to by booking a stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh. The hotel, which is just 5km from Leh airport and half a kilometre from the city centre, is an eco-friendly property offering services such as a 24-hour coffee shop, a multi-cuisine restaurant with a separate vegetarian kitchen, a shopping arcade, relaxing garden, exercise lawn and jogging track, a health club and a spa. You don't need to worry about any acclimatisation issues as the hotel provides for a doctor on call as well as a complimentary oxygen cylinder in your room if you so desire. The Grand Dragon Ladakh is built in traditional style and practices a 'green philosophy', which means that it has 95 solar panels to save energy and heat water for central heating and the bathrooms. And if you want to hold your business meeting or plan a wedding or other event here, you'll find everything you need to make your event memorable. The Grand Dragon Ladakh has a conference hall (which can accommodate up to 200 people), a banquet hall and VIP lounge-along with a business centre for any corporate needs. Book your stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh when you travel to Leh for an experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Grand Dragon Ladakh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Hotel Leh
Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing