We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

OK... If you are looking for 5 star hotels in Leh forget it. There are not any as far as I am aware. But this place is up in the Himalayas and remote. We found it very pleasant. It was quiet, there is no pool, yes it does look over a building site at the back, yet there is some charm about the place. It is quiet and peaceful, we found the staff pleasant and friendly. The buffet dinner was excellent although they did keep telling me the spicy dishes were really spicy (i.e. lots of chilli) but this was because we were European. We love chilli.
All the hotels on our extensive trip to India charge for the internet. The speed is not great but it got us the basics of what we wanted. The rooms are not great but they are pleasant enough, clean and well looked after.
You have to accept Leh is off the beaten track and the Golden Dragon goes a good job of at least trying to look after you in a reasonable way and we liked it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNickFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and wee are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    182
    24
    2
    6
See reviews for
185
142
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located a bit away from the dirty, noisy and chaotic center of the small town Leh this is a hotel with international standard. Rooms are quite spacious, water and electricity are well functioning (which is nearly nowhere the case in Ladakh), the staff is helpful, and the restaurant has a wide offer of good dishes at reasonable prices. We stayed on the whole five nights and could well recover from the tiring tour through the Himalaya. - What is really to be improved: The breakfast - here the variety of the offer for Europeans is poor - but if you are able to eat spicy/hot stuff already in the morning it is OK....And it must be said that 150 Euro per night for a double room is - for Indian standards in Ladakh - an absolutely unjustified price. The rooms should be cheaper!

Room Tip: The rooms to the south face on a huge construction site - explicitely demand a room on the "gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tancred180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and wee are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have just returned from a trekking tour in Ladakh and the only downside was this hotel. The service staff were lacklustre, the view from the room was of a building site and the Internet connection non existent. They consider themselves to be international standard with prices to match but upon closer review the whole place looks in desperate need of a makeover. It's away from the main drag and walking back after 7pm from the centre will require a torch. Def not good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

We are extremely sorry that our Hotel did not meet your explications.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a very well located property. It is maintained very well, and looks beautiful - portraying the rich heritage of Ladakh region. To be honest, this place has no competition, and is the best in town. Even then, the service is excellent, and staff is on their toes to help you in whatever way they can. The hotel is a true ambassador of this region which understands the needs of the first timers and seasoned alike. The views from this hotel are only second to that from Shanti Stupa.

Room Tip: Choose any room. All views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VK2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and wee are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We (family of 4) just returned from Leh after 5 days, and had a fantastic stay at the Grand Dragon. The hotel is very well kept, food is good, and location is good as well (about 10 minutes into town). The grounds are very well maintained, and the room well appointed.

Most of all though, the Grand Dragon is a place that takes care of you. We arranged our itinerary through them, and we had a fantastic time, including an overnight at Organic Retreat in Nubra Valley. The staff were always asking how we were doing. They were very flexible with our itinerary, even after our flight was delayed by a day. Most of all though, our thanks to Mr. Bijou who was so kind and helpful throughout our stay. Having traveled to many hotels around the world, there are few hotel staff like Mr. Bijou. Enjoy your stay at The Grand Dragon and seeing beautiful Ladakh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and wee are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding family run hotel in tough terrain high altitude. Food quality and service very good. Hotel owners remain concerned about guest requirements and comfort with packed food, hot tea or travelling arrangements to medical backup from oxygen to hospital or doctor on call at any high altitude. From our landing to take off with flight cancelled or delayed are taken care personally by hotel and kept on calling us to have breakfast at hotel without charge. I should say that without stay in this hotel and their services the leh Ladakh trip is not complete.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HARRYGOYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and wee are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a warm welcome by the traditionally dressed staff. The rooms were bright and modern. So also the bathroom which was akin to any 4 Star Hotel. Views from the window were distant snow capped mountains. The staff was very kind and friendly and exceedingly helpful. The FOOD, was the strength. Amazing variety in the buffet; a la carte was also delicious and so also the mouth watering cheese toasts we ordered at tea time. The desserts were simply irresistible! The service was faultless - always eager to please. Good lawn, lobby and loved the public lounges on all floors! Kudos to the owners and to the manager - cant be easy when so much has to be flown in! Really made our Ladakh trip memorable and comfortable to have this jewel in Leh!

Room Tip: The higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsmehta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.0 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#15 of 74 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.5 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.4 mi away
The Auspicious Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Dragon Ladakh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Dragon Ladakh

Property: The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Address: Sheynam Old Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Dragon Ladakh 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the lap of luxury with all kinds of comforts at 3,500m above sea level A holiday to Ladakh is an enriching experience where you have the opportunity to observe and absorb a whole new culture. And you can do this without giving up on all the comforts you're used to by booking a stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh. The hotel, which is just 5km from Leh airport and half a kilometre from the city centre, is an eco-friendly property offering services such as a 24-hour coffee shop, a multi-cuisine restaurant with a separate vegetarian kitchen, a shopping arcade, relaxing garden, exercise lawn and jogging track, a health club and a spa. You don't need to worry about any acclimatisation issues as the hotel provides for a doctor on call as well as a complimentary oxygen cylinder in your room if you so desire. The Grand Dragon Ladakh is built in traditional style and practices a 'green philosophy', which means that it has 95 solar panels to save energy and heat water for central heating and the bathrooms. And if you want to hold your business meeting or plan a wedding or other event here, you'll find everything you need to make your event memorable. The Grand Dragon Ladakh has a conference hall (which can accommodate up to 200 people), a banquet hall and VIP lounge-along with a business centre for any corporate needs. Book your stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh when you travel to Leh for an experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Dragon Ladakh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Hotel Leh
Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing