We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in The Grand Dragon Hotel in Leh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a warm welcome by the traditionally dressed staff. The rooms were bright and modern. So also the bathroom which was akin to any 4 Star Hotel. Views from the window were distant snow capped mountains. The staff was very kind and friendly and exceedingly helpful. The FOOD, was the strength. Amazing variety in the buffet; a la carte was also delicious and so also the mouth watering cheese toasts we ordered at tea time. The desserts were simply irresistible! The service was faultless - always eager to please. Good lawn, lobby and loved the public lounges on all floors! Kudos to the owners and to the manager - cant be easy when so much has to be flown in! Really made our Ladakh trip memorable and comfortable to have this jewel in Leh!

Room Tip: The higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsmehta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 662 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Leh is a fabulous place to visit but it is small and remote, so do not expect luxurious accommodation. Having said that, The Grand Dragon is a more than adequate hotel with comfortable, unfussy rooms and helpful staff. It is an ideal place to stay to visit the fabulous Buddhist temples that are dotted along the Indus Valley, and a suitable launching off point for longer trips to view the isolated scenic beauty of Ladakh.

We were very happy with the evening buffets which offered a good range of dishes to satisfy most tastes. The serving staff were outstandingly helpful and friendly.

One thing I would say is that although the lack of air-conditioning probably makes sense given how cold it is for most of the year, in early August the standing fans struggled to cope with the warmth. Opening the windows to benefit from the cool air at night was not really an option either given the noise made by hundreds of stray dogs. That apart, our experience at the Grand Dragon was positive and we recommend it despite feeling that it is a little overpriced for the level of comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. This is first time in Ladakh the weather is so hot, we are defiantly going to make some arrangements.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a warm welcome by the traditionally dressed staff. The rooms pleasing as expected..pleasant view.. good hospitality and service, very warm and friendly staff, the whole trip was well organised, loved the food at the hotel, enjoyed it thank u for a memorable experience..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virtualinsane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a warm welcome by the traditionally dressed staff. The rooms pleasing as expected..pleasant view.. The staff was very kind and friendly. The FOOD, was the strength.. Marvelous food! We had buffet on all days..amazing variety..great taste..great service..in all breakfast, lunch and dinner..from snacks to deserts..it was outstanding.. Good lawn, lobby and cozy seating area..loved it..complete value for money.. Made our Leh trip memorable..We left all smiles:) and smiles:)..must stay..

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Juhi2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Ladakh again.

Warm regards
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Want to have an uninterrupted clear view of the Stock Range from your bed while you sip on your morning coffee? You should definitely get a room at one of the upper floors of The Grand Dragon.

The reception and the dining halls have a retro look; series of vintage photographs add to the old world charm. The photographs in the dining halls will offer you an altogether different perspective on Leh and Ladakh than you may get from standard touristy attractions. The food is really good; more choices than you expect at 11,562 ft above sea level.

As you move on from the lobby area, go past the long corridors you will enter your room with a view. The retro feel is gone as you close the door behind; rooms are sleek, smart and most importantly clean. Baths may have weird shape but that doesn't really matter when you can have a really comforting shower. In the bath expect everything that you may need - toiletries, multiple towels, hair dryer etc. The heating system is really good; I visited Leh in early winter when all the hotel had closed down or were about to close and I can vow for Grand Dragon's heating.

The hotel staffs are cordial, friendly and well trained. Room service is excellent.

The Grand Dragon has a cloakroom which is really convenient when going out of Leh for few days; you can check out, store your luggage at the hotel and check in again when you are back in Leh.

There is a souvenir shop at the lobby. Like any other hotel souvenir shops, they too had over priced shop. But its worth a visit for its collection; shopping there will also save your time. You will probably get everything at a lower price in the main market but that will eat up a lot of your energy and time.

The BEST part of the story is Grand Dragon is open all through the year; I am sure a visit in peak winter will be super rewarding.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Ladakh again.


Warm regards
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked the most expensive room at the hotel. A suite which is a normal room connected to a lounge room with bathroom.

Pros
- Well trained staff
- Comfortable room
- Good room service menu and well priced.
- Check out those priceless photos in the restaurant
- Good wifi connection
- Well run hotel

Cons
- Our suite was on the 1st Floor which lacked privacy. If you had left your windows open, anyone could enter your room directly from the roof of the ground floor. During our stay, we had workmen walking pass our room all day long and even closed our window whilst cleaning up their mess outside. This was also a security concern which meant we had our windows closed at night which resulted in a very hot room. This is disappointing considering we paid for the most expensive room at the hotel.
- Breakfast lacked western choices
- The toilet was hard to flush.

Room Tip: Electricity cuts several times a day so bring a torch. This is normal and the generator usually kick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank jcjchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback. We are working towards better English breakfast for the future. Please accept our apologies for flush and workman passing your room.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Ladakh again.

Warm regards
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

very cozy and comfortable hotel..closest to 5 star luxury .we there in winter ..what i like best is their toilets are also heated. we stayed towards the end of trip.loved the comfort offered by the hotel before we headed home.

Their restaurants serve some the best Kashmir i dishes .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pskap00r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Ladakh again.

Warm regards
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#17 of 77 in Leh
156 reviews
1 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Himalaya
Grand Himalaya
#46 of 77 in Leh
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#20 of 77 in Leh
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
1 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Dragon Ladakh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Dragon Ladakh

Address: Sheynam Old Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leh
Price Range: $107 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Dragon Ladakh 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the lap of luxury with all kinds of comforts at 3,500m above sea level. Our hotel blends traditional architecture with luxurious accommodation to create a unique experience. We are practicing a “Green” philosophy, using 95 solar panels for hot water supply and heating system. The hotel offers 82 rooms including 3 beautifully appointed suites, each of which comes with all modern amenities like LED TV with entertainment channels, telephone, Wi-Fi Internet access, and magnificent views. Indulge in 24-hour room service, a multi cuisine coffee shop (Zasgyath), a specialty restaurant (TUSRABS) and a bakery (Solja). Avail the assistance of a well-appointed travel desk, wellness center and enjoy indoor games, cultural shows and bonfire on demand. Conference hall, board room, business centre, shopping arcade, relaxing garden, exercise lawn and jogging track are also available for guests' comfort. Book your stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh for an experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Dragon Ladakh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Hotel Leh
Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing