We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The best in Leh - Let me assure of that. However quite expensive to the value you get.

The location is very good - minutes from the market

People are good and hospitable.

The rooms very modern and clean. Very good heating with nice flow of Hot water - a requirement in the cold climate.

The hotel has wi-fi.

The food is good; breakfast of all types are available as a buffet.

But travellers can look for other alternative to this overtly expensive place.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh!!!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay at Leh. It was a delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate your time you spent, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

Kindest Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 656 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel Grand Dragon, Leh is, as on date, the only international quality hotel in Leh. Maybe, it is this lack of competition that has made it complacent. My opinion:

Good points:
The rooms are large and well appointed especially the Deluxe rooms in which we stayed. The higher floors especially 3rd floor has a great view of the mountains.Room No. 310 though minus a balcony is particularly good.The room is large enough to easily accommodate an extra mattress without crowding.The soft mattresses were an issue for us but then most guests appreciate such soft spring mattresses and I reckon hence cannot complain much!

The housekeeping staff are very polite and efficient and so are the restaurant staff including their Manager, Ashish.These staff do make efforts to personalise your visit.

Points for improvements:
The front office staff is probably just as "cold" as the Ladakh weather! No effort to personalise your stay.The lowest point is the travel desk - they are hardly interested in you and seem to have an attitude of doing a favour that you are going to go around courtesy them!! Suggestion - a travel advisor should interact on a personal basis with all incoming guests that have a travel plan booked and get an in-person understanding of the finer points of expectations of the guests, give advisory, and then tweak the travel plans to get the greatest value for the client. This will give a customised feel to the guest and make them a lot happier.And do factor in delays due to weather / blockages when planning trips and do give a backup packed hamper for delayed arrivals at destinations - we got stuck on the way to Nubra Valley at South Pulla for over 2 hours, something which is not too uncommon and also expected that day as there was fresh 1 feet snowfall and which everyone knew about in Leh. A small sandwich hamper from the hotel would have been such a blessing rather than remain hungry till one reaches Hunder or partake in terrible food costing Rs.200/= per head at Khardung. And especially when one has paid for an all inclusive package.

The food is at best passable.The hotel tries to do too much of a fusion in order to please all and probably pleases none.Suggestion - please have a menu of the day that varies with the cuisine and concentrate that day on that cuisine.This could be an add on menu along with the buffet for those like us who enjoy a holistic cuisine rather than a mixed fare.

The top management needs to have some interaction with the guests. Have conveyed this to Ms. Nusreen the daughter of the owner Mr.Mustafa - in a 54 room property one cannot afford an impersonal feel of a 200 room hotel! Did convey all this to Nusreen when I accidentally bumped into her the day before our departure. A point of example - my wife did not take the Khardungla heights forced stoppage due to snowfall of 2 hours too well and was a bit ill due to altitude sickness on the 5th and 6th day of our stay necessitating us to advance our departure by a day. The hotel knew about this but remained rather aloof in enquiring about her welfare!!

It is because of these small but high value missing dots that the hotel looses out on being a dream place for an inveterate traveller like me.However, Nusreen andMr.Mustafa can do magic to the property if they so desire. All the very bests!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IndiaRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had an opportunity to spend 3 nights in Leh from April 29 to May 02, 2013 in Hotel Grand Dragon where I found that there is a haven @11500 ft, with great amenities and charming hosts which includes the young owner. If you are in Leh and want to spend time in luxury, do not look anywhere else, just check-in at Grand Dragon and you will feel the difference. Neat beds, heated floor in the bath room and nice warm rooms, hygienic food served hot, you do not need anything else in the cold atmosphere.

The hospitality right from the check-in to check-out was amazing. Arrangement for sightseeing, top condition vehicles, excellent packed lunch with hot cuppa made us feel real pampered in an atmosphere which was freezing.

Would love to be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but try the ones at third floor as they give better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singhkjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kindest Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was absolute value for money. Besides being the best hotel in Leh, it offers the luxury traveler impeccable services. Guest requests are given utmost importance and service is personalised. Like most travellers to Ladakh we spent entire days traveling out of Leh and the hotel took care to ensure we had enough food and tea, given that it was off season and few eating places were open. The hotel driver assigned to us was fantastic even in the worst of weather and longest of drives. The only thing that we perhaps missed during our stay is local food at the restaurant which has cuisine that caters largely to tourists who prefer familiar tastes.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rollerskates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh. I am very happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

It is an honor to receive your generous feedback detailing your experience at the hotel. Your comments regarding the food and service are truly appreciated. Your special mention about our associates has been communicated to them and they express their gratitude for the acknowledgement of their efforts.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had the pleasure of conducting an event at the Grand Dragon and it was a wonderful experience. The staff is absolutely fantastic under the leadership of an amazing GM. The arrangements like F&B, cleanliness, transportation and every details were taken care.

It was a great pleasure working with these guys and highly recommend this hotel.

Regards,
Manish
Manager - Client Servicing
End to End Marketing Solutions Pvt Ltd

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish_R24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Business Development at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Manish,

Thank you for choosing our service and for reviewing your experience.

It is an honor to receive your generous feedback detailing your experience at hotel. Your comments regarding the F&B, transport and service are truly appreciated. Your special mention about our associates has been communicated to them and they express their gratitude for the acknowledgement of their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Danish Din

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a fine, well managed hotel with committed staff and professional service. Nothing very fancy (no swimming pool, spa, etc) but clean, good heating, hot water, and good food at the restaurant. They also took special care to prepare packed breakfast, lunch and hot tea in a thermos flask at 6:00 am in the morning on the day of our visit to Pangong. Superb ! The view of the snow covered peaks from our room was fabulous, except for some construction work that was going on in the adjacent land. The only downside was that our bathroom door had a tendency to get locked - it happened on a couple of occasions and was quite annoying, but the hotel staff fixed it quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToffeeTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, General Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh!

I am glad to hear that you were happy with the hotel facilities and services.
I'm happy to read that you were impressed by our amazing views and location and that you enjoyed your experience at The Grand Dragon Ladakh.
We have noted your comments on the door lock and would put in our best efforts to improve.

Look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel.

Nasreen Rehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently went to Leh and stayed at this property, mainly on account of the reviews here on Tripadvisor.com and were a bit let down by the service at the hotel...Our beds were not made properly and the toiletries as well as the tea and coffee sachets, etc were not replenished every day..In fact they were not replenished at all till we asked for it...After doing that for 2 days I finally went to the General Manager and raised my concerns (this was after having raised them to the house keeping staff already) and only then did the house keeping staff actually pay any heed to our concerns and started making our beds properly and replenishing the toiletries, etc on time...This hotel is not up to the mark as far as house keeping is concerned...And also we realized that they had a more than 25% mark up on taxi services, as compared to the rates being offered fpr the same vehicle in the main Leh market...

Guess there is lot of scope for improvement at this property...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank varunsuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDragonLadakh, General Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Mr Suri,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh!

While once again regretting on behalf of all at the hotel for the inconvenience you have faced during your visit to Ladakh, may I request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.


We have conducted a point wise investigation based on your feedback and have initiated corrective actions to bring in the desired efficiency levels and ensure that there is no recurrence of the same.

It is through valuable feedback like yours that we strive to improve our services and exceed customer expectations.

I do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when my colleagues and I can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.


I do look forward to receiving you and your guests in the future.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Thanks and Regards,

Nasreen Rehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leh hotels
1 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#17 of 75 in Leh
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#20 of 75 in Leh
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
2.9 mi away
Ladakh Sarai
Ladakh Sarai
#3 of 75 in Leh
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#11 of 75 in Leh
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Dragon Ladakh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Dragon Ladakh

Address: Sheynam Old Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leh
Price Range: $103 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Dragon Ladakh 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the lap of luxury with all kinds of comforts at 3,500m above sea level. Our hotel blends traditional architecture with luxurious accommodation to create a unique experience. We are practicing a “Green” philosophy, using 95 solar panels for hot water supply and heating system. The hotel offers 82 rooms including 3 beautifully appointed suites, each of which comes with all modern amenities like LED TV with entertainment channels, telephone, Wi-Fi Internet access, and magnificent views. Indulge in 24-hour room service, a multi cuisine coffee shop (Zasgyath), a specialty restaurant (TUSRABS) and a bakery (Solja). Avail the assistance of a well-appointed travel desk, wellness center and enjoy indoor games, cultural shows and bonfire on demand. Conference hall, board room, business centre, shopping arcade, relaxing garden, exercise lawn and jogging track are also available for guests' comfort. Book your stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh for an experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Dragon Ladakh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Hotel Leh
Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing