We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Expensive !”
Review of Mantra Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mantra Cottage
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Ladakh
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent Location,Rooms are small but very cozy and well planned,decorated.Its expensive till the time we had met other tourists and seen places at leh.We realized that when we are doing bookings from a metro directly with the cottages or go through agents like make my trip or expedia etc,we are charged high for the basics.I agree that Jun-Sep are peak time for tourism in leh but there are better place to stay for a minimal amount.We paid 3800 with MAP for a night but we could have found the same kind of place for 1000-1500 too.Its readily available in leh.Prefer for a homestay,coz its good and cheap and safe.At Mantra the staff,service,hospitality and food was great.Leh is a place where one doesnt laze around in the room.You would love to go the market or travel to the tourist site.All the tourist sites are atleast 50+ km from leh,so one has to leave early by 6-8am and reach by 6-8pm,so one hardly spends time in the cottage.So why spending so much.But if you are going to laze around in the hotel then its a nice place.Leh has lot of things to offer when it comes to tourism.

Room Tip: From all rooms you will we get the same scene.Mornings and evenings are good for photography
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSMAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

Was with my family at this place. Must say, a great place with awesome views. The cottage was very comfortable. I read somewhere it does not have TV, but surprisingly they have LCD TV in each room with dish connection. Unlike other hotels all the chennels were subscribed. Food was the delicious, service was excellent, staff was very friendly and we felt like we are staying in our second home. Unlike other hotels I saw in Leh, this place had huge space to unwind, our children really enjoyed since, in cities they do not get that kind of open spaces to play. We met some couples who extended thier stay holidays just to stay at this place - relaxing. The price was very reasonable and the extras we ordered did not put a hole in our pocket. Overall an excellent experience, highly recommended to people traveling to this Paradise on earth.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virender38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This cottage was really a eco friendly and traditionally built.Even the food was good and the hospitality was excellent.The location was brilliant and the view from the hotel was really terrific in the mornings

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajeshm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This resort is next to a running stream and therefore you can hear the nice running water sound throughout the day. the rooms are a bit small and do not have TV, but, these are compensated by a very hospitable and friendly staff, very good food etc. the room has a coffee maker. the resort also organizes bonfire dinner if you are in a group. would recommend to those who are not looking for too much of a frill and travelling in a group.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvsriram56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I am a frequent holidayer and go on a holiday in every 3 months. This time our travel agent suggested to visit Ladakh in summer vacations. So we were off to one of our most memorable holiday. We stayed at Mantra Cottages for 06 nights and I must say the resort is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the resort to go to the sightseeing. But we did most of our sightseeing trips. It was so cold and rush outside; we couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility of the resort. We stayed at the cottage M3 with private lounge area in front of the cottage. We were just expecting a few nibbles but meals were delicious and the chef went out of the way to include our kid’s and sometimes our demands to the fixed buffet meals. We ordered a lot of dishes which were not the part of the menu and we were always surprised by the preparation of the dishes - Matched to perfection. Our kids are 11 and 13 and they enjoyed it. The owner, Mr. Stany Wangchuk took extra care of us and was always there to personally oversee the arrangements at the resort. He even organized a special party for our family on my son’s birthday including bon fire and bar be que specially for us. That’s what I call personalized service.

Overall I would say this is probably the best resort we have ever stayed in on a holiday and I am extremely fussy! But to mix a little personalized service with the adventure then this is an absolute must place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Handsomeprince111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank U053778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank 靜儀 陳
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladakh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.9 mi away
Himalayan Residency Ladakh
0 mi away
Hotel Skittsal
Hotel Skittsal
#87 of 91 in Ladakh
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sonam's Guest House
Sonam's Guest House
#79 of 267 in Ladakh
10 reviews
0 mi away
Lzakar Guest House
Lzakar Guest House
#81 of 217 in Ladakh
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Cottage

Address: Yurthung Rd, 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Ladakh
Price Range: $60 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MANTRA COTTAGENestled amidst the seductive landscape and the historical treasures are the uniquely designed Mantra cottages that exemplify the new standard in modern luxurious hospitality. Located within the walking distance from the Leh town, an idyllic retreat ensconced away from the humdrum of the city pacifying your spirits, Mantra cottages unarguably provides the perfect destination for the discerning travellers. The 17 room boutique hotel includes 07 stand-alone Deluxe Cottages, 8 Luxury rooms and 2 suites room with a stunning view of the ancient royal palace Tsemo Khar and the breathtaking scenes that splash majestically across the city. The rugged snow peak and mountains with cascading stream below the hotel shall leave one intrigued and bewildering. The tranquil ambience of our hotel is further enhanced with attentive caring staffs making it the premiere luxury hotel in the city. Revel in the lavish, art –filled comfort and impeccable service.The warmth and hospitality that you’ll experience in our hotel will be etched in your mind as we are fully geared to cater to all your needs cent percent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing