We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for Money”
Review of Hotel Sadaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sadaf
Ranked #36 of 139 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Visited Srinagar on Oct.2011 for 4 days and was more than happy on my trip.
Taking a taxi from the airport, the driver having no difficulty locating the hotel, he ended giving me up a discount than what they charge. I booked Hotel Sadaf, knowing it is budget hotel, I didn’t expect much, but was delighted the first time I arrive in the hotel, I was courteously greeted by the reception, without delays a hotel boy took my bag and we went to my room. Room was spacious, bed big enough for 3. 1 small table for coffee and laptop, 2 chairs, a cabinet with many drawers for my things and 1 small tv. We went to the bathroom, big enough, the water was cold but the receptionist told me to keep the water heater open so I can use hot water at anytime. Excellent! What else could I look for a budget hotel? I should rate a STAR to the hotel.
Location of the hotel was in the center of the city, very near shops and to other tourist spots like mosques, a 10 mins walk to the tourist destination center, and another 5-10mins to Dal Gate. I happen to walk from Dal lake going back to hotel it was late night but I never fell scared. Was delighted to see some police officer on the street and greeted me hello, how are you Sir?, guess there is more trouble in the news paper than in Srinagar. Although it was in the center of the city, Hotel Sadaf is like inside a compound that you won’t hear any street nor vehicle noises, there we’re birds chirping on my window instead.
From the hotel i walk towards the highway and get an autorickshaw right away, and was able to visit many tourist spots not just the Dal lake.
Totally love Srinagar, I promised to come back and would stay to this hotel again. Great value for money, great Kashmiri tea, food although they have only Vege restaurant im taking my lunch and dinner in the city anyhow, good breakfast, courteous receptionist and hotel staff. I enjoy my daily hot bath, daily cleaning of my room. Although wifi connection is off at night well im just reminded im on holiday c”,) .
My way back to the airport, the owner of the hotel offered me a ride, since they are going as well that time. What else could I ask for? Im blessed and more than satisfied for the amount I paid. I regret not giving any tip for the hotel boys staff. Summary, excellent!

Room Tip: go for the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sagalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 131 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2010

The hotel is situated just behind the main market area of Lal chowk. It's a good value for money in terms of clean lodging & boarding and really very near to all the point of attractions like Daal Lake, Bus stop & Taxi stand. The staff was friendly and showed a great deal of care for our safety with volatile political climate in Kashmir valley. Recommendation is to do online booking for this place in advace so they are prepared for your arrival and you will save your self from touts who try to sell you a room or polluting houseboat the moment you arrive at Srinagar. The in house restaurant has limited items on menu but are prepared well. Its vegetarian friendly too.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darsh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I had a good experience while my stay at hotel sadaf. Its hospitality was excellent & will be looking forwarded to them when I go back again to J&K.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divyeshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Hi Friends, I visited Srinagar on 29th May 2010 alongwith my family. I had prior booking courtesy Make My Trip.com. I took a taxi from Airport and reached Hotel Sadaf. I was very excited as this was m y first visit in Srinagar. I reached Hotel within half an hour. But I was shocked on reaching Hotel. The Hotel was in a narrow lane and there was water everywhere in front of the Hotel, I had never imagined in my wildest dreams that the Hotel will be like this. The reception area was very small in size. The Double Deluxe room which I was allotted was also very small. The condition of the Hotel was also not good. Anyways I retired myself into bed as I was very tired and hubgry. I ordered for some food. The food was of 3rd standard and very thanda. I immediately decided to change the Hotel. I reached Dal Lake and looked for a good Hotel and shifted the next day. Although I didnot get any refund for the same. The only consolation was Dr. Munir who is a thorough gentleman. He was hurt to know and sad that I am shifting the Hotel . He requested me not to change the hOTEL AS HE WILL PROVIDE ME ANOTHER ROOM FREE OF COST. But I refused her offer and changed the Hotel next day on 30th May.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank KUMARSUNIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed there for nearly 5 days at Hotel Sadaf. We went for a Honey Moon Trip over there. The Hotel is really nice, excellent & secured place to stay. All the persons including the Hotel Boys were very nice and helpful for us. We never felt any inconvenience there. ONly thing is its a Vegetarian Restaurant and I am a Non-Vegerarian, so Myself and my wife have to go to a nearby Non-Veg Hotel to have some spicy non-veg. Otherwise its a Very Good Budget Hotel we can say. The Hotel Manager Muneer was very helpful for us in a lot of ways especially arranging for sight seeing he arranged the cab to go for all places. The CAb Driver Asif was a very nice, Kind person you can say, he took us all the places in and around Srinagar, Gulmarg, Sonmarg, Pahalgam, Dal Lake, local sight seeing, everything. We never felt that we were insecure under any circumstances. All the people in Sadaf hotel are well disciplined and friendly.
I would say if you are planning for a trip in srinagar stay at Hotel Sadaf and you can feel the difference when compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alto007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I didnt enjoyed with Sadaf Hotel in srinagar jammu and kashmir. I stayed for 5days but I didnt enjoyed even single minute. I was the only guest in the Hotel and there was no proper house keeping. Location is not that good. You have travel very far for Dal Lake view. Owner was very good to me but What is the point when you dont enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gulfamahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We were 5 friends there, and the hotel was very good and good staff and cuisine specially non veg was good but they have flaws in veg. Although the rooms was clean and good painting was there along with the sights from the hotels was good. we enjoyed the stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank badridude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#32 of 139 in Srinagar
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#107 of 139 in Srinagar
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel New Mamta
Hotel New Mamta
#42 of 139 in Srinagar
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#55 of 139 in Srinagar
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sadaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sadaf

Address: 45 Samander Bagh | S P College Road, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $24 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sadaf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the business district of Srinagar,Kashmir ‘Hotel Sadaf’ provides a very secluded getaway, away from hustle & bustle of the City Centre. TOTAL SERENITY surrounds our guests as they are welcomed with an uncompromising quality service and hospitality. At a 5 minutes drive from the world famous ‘DAL LAKE’, 3 minutes drive from the Local Bus Stand(TRC – Tourist Reception Centre) & at a short distance of 7 kms, Hotel SADAF is one of the closest Hotels to the Srinagar Airport(SXR).Hotel SADAF exudes comfort, tranquility, and comforts guests with its cozy warm interiors in the freezing temperatures of Kashmere Winter & a COOL ambience in the moderately hot Summers of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sadaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sadaf Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing