We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zahgeer Continental
Ranked #125 of 142 Hotels in Srinagar
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This hotel is located behind Exchange Mugal Garden Zone, Nishat, Shalimar Road,Srinagar. An experience in traditional hospitality, prompt servicing & practical furnishing brought together in a successful combination made possible with you in mind. It is a Deluxe hotel located in the heart of Srinagar. This Hotel was started in 21th century and completed in the year 2004, at near by on the banks of world famous in between of Nishat Garden & Shalimar Garden.
The hotel has budget rates and good staff support. The view from the hotel is great. It was really great to watch the setting sun with my sweetheart in my arms from the window. Thinking of visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank artiagg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2009

The other reviewers are correct: the place is filthy, the beds are awful, the noise and stench from the kitchen is abominable. But it's cheap, brightly painted on the outside and shocking as it sounds, it's better than a lot of the competition in the area.

If you're from a 1st world nation, carry baby wipes and a pair of rubber thongs with you. They will be lifesavers. Brush with bottled water if your belly is sensitive; otherwise do as we did - make it a ritual to have a gin and tonic each evening while you review the photos of the day. It kept the British alive and it will serve you well too. Just do it in your room; this is Muslim country, so think of it as a 'dry county'.

Here's the bottom line in all of India, not just Kashmir: 5 start hotels are pretty likely to be 5 star quality, although some will be more like 4 star, including the Lalit in Dahl Lake. Everything else, drop 2 stars and expect filth to compound the problem. There is no 'culture' of maintenance in India. Things are built constantly, but nothing is maintained. Keep this in mind and do not expect to find things as you left them at home - that's not why you traveled 7,000 miles, is it?!

Get into the swing of things; enjoy the incessant sales pitches. It becomes quite funny when you expect it and play the game. Haji, the owner is the cat; you're the mouse. Staying out of his trap (the 'Emporium') is your role. Trying to get you there and sell you stuff at 3-5x the going rate is his job. Just know the name of the game and play. It's part of the experience.

Eat elsewhere. Tak taks and taxis are cheap as all get-out, so don't worry about that. There are several decent joints in Srinigar.

Finally, there's a new hotel coming online around spring of 2010. This boutique hotel is likely to be the best deal in Srinigar/Dahl Lake. Built by Gulam Rasool, with 'western' sensibilities, we expect it will be an oasis of comfort in Dahl Lake.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEOmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Its very far off from City center - about some 12 Kms . There is nothing around this hotel... not even a shop to buy necessary things. The auto fare to the hotel is 150 Rs. one way. This is good only for people who want to be aloof and happy sitting inside the room. Not for tourists.

The rooms are really small. Food was ok. There was no water heater.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Senthil Kumar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed here and within 1/2 hour of checking in the 'owner' (at least he said he was . . . he stays on the property but we found out later he's the owners' brother) hauled us in to the carpet store in the back and made a salespitch. The staff were nice but the bathrooms were very dirty and some of the things they said on the Internet weren't true (no A/C and no fridge). It's also quite a long way from 'anywhere' so you pretty well have to take a taxi to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lugnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

My wife and I were planning a trip to Srinigar because we'd heard about how relaxing it was to stay on a houseboat. We decided to stay at a hotel for the first 2 nights and then look for a houseboat (unfortunately we chose the Zahgeer Continental). Do not stay at this place ! ! We had 'many' problems with this hotel and I will describe some of them to you. You must realize also that my wife and I are coming up to our Anniversary and this was to be a 'special' holiday for us. I paid the 'extra' money for the suite thinking that it would be special. At Rs 4500 per night we were expecting what we saw in the pictures on the internet.

- our room was quite a bit lower than the standard that we saw on the internet. There wasn't any A/C, the bathroom are filthy. I don't know when the last time the bathtubs were actually cleaned. They were covered in grime.
- the beds were very hard and so were the pillows . . we both had sore backs and necks the next day
- the Internet ad said refridgerators in each room . . . Nope
- we lifted the mattress on the 2nd bed to use the sheet and found a live bug (we call them silverfish, similar to centipedes)
- upon returning from a long day of shopping, loud music starting playing in the courtyard below us. It started at about 9:00pm an continued past midnight
- we decided we wouldn't be able to eat there that night. If the bathrooms are that dirty and there's bugs we couldn't imagine the kitchen !! . . . so we went to eat somewhere else. We'd already experienced Delhi-belly a few weeks ago and didn't want to take any chances
- the following morning we went for a coffee in the morning and the milk and sugar containers had dirt 'settled in' on the top of them .
Luckily for us, we moved out on Friday and found a very nice houseboat and met some beautiful people and had a very nice experience of the beauty of Srinagar and it's people.

Anyway, we survived and we are back home and have many great memories of Srinagar and will definitely go back there. Unfortunately, the Hotel Zahgeer 'almost' ruined things.

3  Thank Cymano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

Me and My family stayed in Hotel Zahgeer Continental in June from 18 th to 25th. The stay was wonderful and it was very comfortable. Infact the prices were very reasonable. Last year my freind's family stayed and they recommended the place the booking was done through Southern Travels Pvt. Ltd.New Delhi. My children liked the garden very much. The food was excellent. But they dont have all items of South Indian. My little daughter likes Rava Dosa. But some how they managed to get us.

Stayed: June 2006
8  Thank akmohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0 mi away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 142 in Srinagar
1,173 reviews
0 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
0 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#13 of 142 in Srinagar
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
New Bul Bul Group of Houseboats
0 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
0 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar - Member ITC's Hotel Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zahgeer Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zahgeer Continental

Address: Behind Telephone Exchange, Mugal Garden Zone | Mughal Road Nishat Garden, Srinagar 191121, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 142 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range: $49 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zahgeer Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zahgeer Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zahgeer Continental Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing