We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really need to pull their socks up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Acre Guest House
Ranked #26 of 358 Srinagar B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2013

They need to decide on who out of the 3 owners (family owned & managed by mother with 2 sons) will manage the property. Too many cooks spoil the broth.

Pathetic housekeeping. Dirty laundry. Torn towels. Lovely lawns & helpful staff.

They really, really need 1 person control.

The property can do wonders if well managed in a professional manner.

Breakfast area had dirty sheets and the cutlery could do with a good wipe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hemant_Ggn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

I selected this guest house based on the reviews read on Tripadvisor.in and certainly it turned out to be the correct decision. It is the best place to stay with your family at Srinagar. Very homely atmosphere, neat and clean rooms, Excellent Staff very well guided by Vivek and his family members. The food was excellent and if you order the food well in advance you can get the best kashmiri good at the restaurant. If you are going to Srinagar, then just do one thing in advance and that is book your room at Green Acre Guest House.

Room Tip: Since I stayed in the new block, I can recommend the rooms in that block but I think rooms in the he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumukh_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were a large group of common friends between the ages 63 to 83 years. The booking was done thru' a local friend ex- tourism dept. The place is very convenient just near the entrance to Raj Baug locality a short walk from the Govt.Tourist Office. The weather was excellent and the right time to be in Srinagar.
This hotel is an extension of a cute bungalow and superbly maintained by a family consisting of LOH, MOH, son and daughter (Family). The rooms are lovely, clean, and decently decorated. The bathrooms are also good. Our trip was all included, and the food like home cooked. The staff is extremely courteous and ready to accommodate any reasonable whims. We would always like to stay once again,if in Srinagar. Jaffer Diwan

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaffer_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Green Acre --run by the Wazir clan, is an excellent place to hang your hat in Srinagar. The old bungalow rooms --and the bathrooms!-are amazing, and the service is polite, friendly and prompt. I would recommend it to people coming to Srinagar who are weary of the typical tourist-y experience.

Room Tip: The old bungalow rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levitatestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Over the last two years I have been traveling often to Srinagar on a project. Once I stayed at Green Acres on the recommendation of a friend, it has become our home in Srinagar. The facilities, friendly and efficient staff, simple wholesome meals, excellent personalised attention are all things my associates and I take for granted now. The lovely bungalow, once a home of the Wazir family, has expanded as though to extend its warm hospitality. What however gives a special character to this place is their lovely garden. You may say that Srinagar has plenty of gardens and all hotels have attractive foliage, but the garden at Green Acres is planted and tended with a special love for plants, so that it is a delight in all seasons, a place to return to.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank nilimasheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Whether you are traveling as a family, solo, with friends, or for business, Green Acre will meet all of your needs. I was impressed by the diligence of the staff, who observed my needs and tended to them before I even had to make a request. The room service is speedy and the variety is great. Customer service is excellent and the owners and staff take your requests seriously and fulfill them as quickly as possible. If you need help with anything: directions, transportation, tour bookings, recommendations, shops, etc, they are happy to help and the guest house employs several trustworthy drivers.

Even though there were many guests I felt like the only guest based on the level of service and friendliness of the owners and staff. The property is notably quiet and peaceful and has everything you need including a strong wifi signal 24 hours, sufficient heating, extra electric blankets, nice decor, comfortable furniture, a fantastic garden view, almost 0 street noise, and much more.

The property is beautiful, tranquil, and secluded, though you will only be less than 5 minutes from the city center. I felt very secure at Green Acre and was able to relax as I would in my own home. Guests and owners both enjoy sitting outside on sunny days and there is a balcony, as well as, tables on the lawn so everyone can enjoy. The food is perfect! Everything is prepared in-house and is home-made quality. There is plenty of variety at each meal and other dishes can be requested, as well.

I have to remark on the impeccable cleanliness of the guest house. The staff clean each room thoroughly every day. Also, there is always plenty of hot water and the bathroom facilities are spacious with good lighting and spotlessly clean. I felt more comfortable at Green Acre than I have felt at a guest house or hotel in a long time... maybe ever. I will definitely choose Green Acre every time I return to Srinagar and I look forward to my next visit. Every guest is at ease there and the atmosphere is happy and relaxed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here around 10 times during my Business Trips. I must say that I am fully satisfied by the service of Guest House. Rooms are really good, they have centralised heating system now which makes your stay comfortable during Winters. I like the garden area and cherry trees. good homely food. very friendly staff and owner are very good. Good for both long and short stay.

Room Tip: Go for old rooms they are built with rare wood and the engraved ceiling looks awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrigariousTraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
5.5 mi away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 139 in Srinagar
1,158 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#15 of 139 in Srinagar
358 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
2.2 mi away
Hotel New Mamta
Hotel New Mamta
#40 of 139 in Srinagar
70 reviews
2.7 mi away
New Bul Bul Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acre Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acre Guest House

Address: Rajbagh, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Srinagar
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Acre- For a luxurious stay in homely comforts with modern hotel facilities. Situated in the picturesque state of Kashmir, India, amid acres of lawns, landscaped gardens, and woodlands, Green Acre provides a sanctuary to all seeking a secluded getaway. Breathtaking panoramic views of mountain ranges surround our guests as they are welcomed with our uncompromising service and hospitality. A place where you can be pampered by pleasant surroundings, fine cuisine, and excellent service. Green Acre is a comfortable and affordable family-friendly alternative for all travelers. Green Acre exudes comfort, tranquility, and provides guests with a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Green Acre Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Acre Guest House Hotel Srinagar
Green Acre Guest House Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing