We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect views,service and excellent accommodation .faultless”
Review of Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Perfect views,service and excellent accommodation .faultless”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A colonial style building,tastefully converted into a hotel with multiple community areas and sitting facilities.manicured gardens lead directly to the lake and one can watch the view and lake activity for hours.attentive ,personal service and excellent food at a competitive price.
Forget the discomfort of houseboats or the pretentious isolation of the taj.this is the place to be.but please don't spoil it!

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    96
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
184
90
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Serene, spotless, attentive staff, great service and amenities. I'd go back in a heartbeat. Right on the banks of Nageen Lake- all the water lilies and lotuses in bloom, and the best part- the personal shikarawala for a perfect lazy afternoon snooze on the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona Vale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We are a large group of Aussies staying for a traditional Wedding and the hotel has been fantastic. The staff are very accommodating, the hotel is clean and the location is amazing. We had originally intended to spend the first couple of days on a near-by house boat, but after we arrived at the house boats everything wasn't as agreed so we moved out early into the Hotel Dar Es Salam - the best decision we ever made. The food has been very good - much much better than the Taj, and the staff have been very forgiving and accommodating.
All the rooms that we have have ensuites. There are no single beds- just very large kings.
There are several sitting and sun rooms done up in the old hunting lodge style.
Not a lot of shops near-by but the hotel can organise drivers for you for however long you want them.
Highly recommend a trip on the lake - the hotel can organise small gondola like boats to paddle you around the amazing canals and across the Lilly covered lake, with the fort on o huge hill to one side and the magnificence of the Himalayas on the other.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great property, great location, right on the banks of Nigeen lake, which is by far, the lake to do a Shikara ride at. The 5 am shikara ride to the vegetable market was out of the world. They arranged a very convenient pick up from the airport as well. Food was mindblowing. Rooms, esp the lake facing one are done very tastefully. Some lovely rooms and corners in the property, where you can while away time, reading or some other such thing.

Why not an excellent review, well, i asked for a wake up call, since i had an early morning trip to Dachigam. The response i got was "You should put an alarm in your mobile phone". I was a little surprised with that answer. Incidentally, did not get a wake up call the next day either, and literally had to wake up the guys to open the gates, so that i could leave for my trip.

That was the only blot in an otherwise excellent stay. Mr. Khurram Hussain, the owner is a thourough gentleman.

Room Tip: Lake Facing Rooms are far nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinaySub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Well let me start the review with my 2 cents
“If you are a traveler who likes to be around the happening places & have all the shopping/attractions around you, well then you are at a wrong place.
This so called property is nested right at the banks of "Nigeen Lake" which is quite scenic & placed like a jewel.

Will try to share the details as much possible
Hotel: It is family owned legacy property, which few years back was converted into a hotel; Owner's father still lives there. This property has approx. 14 rooms, most of them being same, barding some which are classified as suites. One would love to sit and have Tea & coffee in the lawns (facing the lake) and the first floor common area (as it gives the fabulous view of houseboats & Mountains)
Room: Well almost everything which we could see was of wood, so no complains there, being a boutique hotel I would say that rooms were worth being compared to 5star rooms (Only miss being no bath tub) else it had everything one can ask for. Hence the pricing of the room is neither cheap nor too expensive. We found it worthy enough. Only 2-3 rooms have partial view of Lake. Also the rooms have mini fridge but they don’t have a mini bar or any snacks (better buy them on your way to hotel)
Food: Well that’s one of the USP, they have buffet all across all meals & believe me it’s the most killing part, we ate 4 meals out of 6 in our 2 day stay, and compared to food we ate outside the hotel buffet was on the better side.
Misc. : Well we got the airport pick & drop arranged from the hotel guys, we found it cheap for a AC invona they charged INR700(each side). We took the shikaar from hotel itself (banks of nigeen lake) which took us from there to Dal lake (via golden & silver lake) it was the best part of stay, as one usually only stops at Dal lake & takes a shikaar ride for a hour, but our was a 4hr ride from Hotel to Dal Lake (vis a vis), if you have the time then don’t miss this, these 4 hrs. one will cherish for his/her lifetime. Charges for Shikaar are fixed at INR 400 (per hour).

Improvement area: Although i have no complains, but as an improvement, we didn't find property having much of recreational activities, forget about having any TT table or billiards, when asked for some board games all they had was a very old chess board (that too only in common area) & very shabby condition Monopoly. Hence if you have kids better bring-in your own stuff.

Summary: I did lot of research while booking this hotel. hence have no regrets because a good hotel or houseboat in Srinagar will easily cost INR 5000 a night, hence paying 2k extra (approx.) per night is worthy enough to stay at this beautiful property.

Room Tip: Well there are only 2 -3 lake view room (that too partial) we stayed in one of them, room No 10 Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puneet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

excellent property - which is managed very well . we were four couples and went to srinagar in august 2013 for three days out of which we stayed in Dar es Salam hotel for one night . The stay was very pleasant . the best part of the stay was the food which was the best we had in srinagar . we also stayed in Taj Srinagar after our stay here but the pleasant experience and care of this hotel even left the above average service of Taj behind

Room Tip: pl request for a room with lake or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajguruira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel in Jul 2013 for 3 nights. We were on family holiday with parents and little kids.
Its a beautiful boutique hotel and can be described as a home away from home.
The owner Mr. Khurram was very polite and welcoming. The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful.
Its a beautiful property , very elegant at an excellent location.It has beautifully maintained laws and the food was the best part of the hotel .
Overall a memorable stay and I definitely recommned the hotel to my fellow travellors for the value for money that it brings with it.
I will definitely go back to the hotel given a choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docritika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.7 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
2.8 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
0.7 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#31 of 135 in Srinagar
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
0.6 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar-Es-Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Property: Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Address: Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Business Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar-Es-Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing