We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good property but poor quality of food.”
Review of Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel dar es salaam's location is outstanding near nagin lake.a huge garden with lots of cherries which will keep u busy during ur leisure in hotel but poor quality of food and breakfast an be more of concern and can do alot better in this department.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 350 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Seeing the first impression of the hotel on the website would make you doubt about the property and so would the same be when you see the hotel at the entrance. Located near to the Nageen Lake Club and taxi stand, a property just at the end of the bridge, a property which may be a easy miss if you ain't careful. But I must say your perspective is totally going to change once you enter the premises.
Surrounded by lush green gardens, calm and serene lake; this property is in to completely woo you. I am sure you would never regret your booking here. The rooms provide all the required amenities including AC, Heater, LED TV, Coffee Machine, Hot water and enough plug points for your devices. The property is a old British Bungalow converted into a Hotel, at the same time trying to revive the old world charm.
The Front desk manager Mr.Hamid gave us the best possible room(our luck) with views of the nageen lake from the bed and Hari Parbat Fort on the left (Room No 108). However it is sheer luck that makes you avail a good room and nothing else. No premium charges assure you a room with best views. The property is into 2 wings. Try taking taking the front wing as the rooms are facing the lake.However for all those who do not get the rooms facing the lake, need not worry as they have a huge common space facing the lake.
The service and hospitality of the property will impress you from the entry till your departure. The food is awesome though restricted with limited choices , but good enough to take care of your needs and at the same time very homely.
The charges for the food(ala carte) snacks are reasonable. However for Lunch and Dinner they have a fixed buffet @ 600+ taxes. You may feel they are too much for the variety they provide. But be rest assured its not the spread but their quality that matters, and believe me its worth every penny.
All in All, a fantastic stay, awesome views and lovely homely yet pleasing hospitality makes our honeymoon stay cozy, pleasing and memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st Floor, Room no. 8 or Ground Floor Room Number 1 (Next to the Reception)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BK_TheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

a real lovely boutique hotel on the banks of nageen lake . very quiet and with highly motivated and friendly staff. the food was excellent and the rooms very cozy. loved my stay on the 14th may 2013.i selected tto stay in this hotel based on the reviews i saw in trip advisor.all my friends enjoyed it. compliments to Mr Khurram and his team. keep up the good work

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bras56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

simply best hotel .everything is plus point . location , hospitality, comfort, etc......
we were welcome by owner mr.Khurram hussain, from that point to when we left we were fully enjoyed .BEING PURE VEG JAIN ON OUR REQUEST WE GET GOOD QUALITY JAIN FOOD WHICH WERE HAPPILY MADE BY THEM .
location is bit far from city or say dallake but it is nothing compare to it proximate to nagine lake whice is just on garden it self .which is very calm and sailent compare to dallake.

Room Tip: lake view room on first floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumbaiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My sincere compliments to Mr. Khurram and his staff and high standards.
We stayed with a group of friends after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Believe me, when I say each and every good review is absolutely true.
We loved our stay here and would never ever consider another hotel in Srinagar even though Srinagar boasts of The Lalit and The Taj.
The dar e Salem is indeed a home away from home. With its beautiful well maintained rooms to the lovely sitting rooms to the immaculate lawns to the beautiful fresh roses and flowers in their vases from their own gardens to home style cooking and phulkas, we really loved it all.
Mr Khurram and staff are extremely helpful and polite and humble.
I highly recommend staying there especially if you are travelling with small children.
Loved it. Thank you Mr Khurram and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riya2677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel was one of the finest stay of my tour in Kashmir. I read on net about it but was not sure about it but after being in this hotel I must say that this is realy a nice place to stay. Lovely view from my room, fortunetly I had lake view room and it gives a superb view of nageen lake. Being west facing it gives a superb sunset view from the room. Central heating is very nice plus it has heating blanckets. The quality of blanckets are very nice, coushion of bed is also very good. Being in this hotel is also giving you chance to see some of the finest antique collection. There are few living rooms in hotel where one can take seat and chitchat, it is decently & elegently desigened with antique arts. Cleanliness is remarkable in hotel. Another worth watching is the garden of hotel. The varity of flowers is superb in the garden. Hotel has a nice dining hall where you can eat with elegant dining room. Running hot water is also available. Hotel also arranges bone fire in the night after dinner which all can enjoy in garden. It is a royal hotel in real sense.
There are some small areas of improvement I wish to suggest like an exhust fan is needed in bathroom. Similarly a bucket is also required in bathing area.
I also want to mention that the hotel is so well managed that I can share with an example: we requsted room cleaning in the morning when we returned in the evening we found not just hotel items but our personal belongings lying in the room were also kept very nicely. This was something really very interesting and remarkable. I wish the hotel more & more success and best of such service in future so that it result in delighted customers like us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pallavanjaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Plus points - Nice location and a nice garden/lawn
Minus points - Small room size, expensive buffet (breakfast and dinner) given the number of items. Taste ok.

If you are looking for staying in the hotel and relax/enjoy the view/lawn/garden, its worth the money spent. However if you want to make it a base and use it primarily for the night stay, I would not recommend staying here.

The staff was helpful, food was ok but variety was limited. For Rs. 1200(600 per person) dinner and Rs 700 (350 per person), I would expect a lot more variety in the buffet.

Tips - Do not opt for plans including meals

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.8 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
2.7 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
0.7 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Heritage By Heevan
The Heritage By Heevan
#21 of 135 in Srinagar
136 reviews
2.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#29 of 135 in Srinagar
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar-Es-Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Address: Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Srinagar
#4 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Business Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $78 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar-Es-Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing