We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”
Review of Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel was one of the finest stay of my tour in Kashmir. I read on net about it but was not sure about it but after being in this hotel I must say that this is realy a nice place to stay. Lovely view from my room, fortunetly I had lake view room and it gives a superb view of nageen lake. Being west facing it gives a superb sunset view from the room. Central heating is very nice plus it has heating blanckets. The quality of blanckets are very nice, coushion of bed is also very good. Being in this hotel is also giving you chance to see some of the finest antique collection. There are few living rooms in hotel where one can take seat and chitchat, it is decently & elegently desigened with antique arts. Cleanliness is remarkable in hotel. Another worth watching is the garden of hotel. The varity of flowers is superb in the garden. Hotel has a nice dining hall where you can eat with elegant dining room. Running hot water is also available. Hotel also arranges bone fire in the night after dinner which all can enjoy in garden. It is a royal hotel in real sense.
There are some small areas of improvement I wish to suggest like an exhust fan is needed in bathroom. Similarly a bucket is also required in bathing area.
I also want to mention that the hotel is so well managed that I can share with an example: we requsted room cleaning in the morning when we returned in the evening we found not just hotel items but our personal belongings lying in the room were also kept very nicely. This was something really very interesting and remarkable. I wish the hotel more & more success and best of such service in future so that it result in delighted customers like us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pallavanjaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 351 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Plus points - Nice location and a nice garden/lawn
Minus points - Small room size, expensive buffet (breakfast and dinner) given the number of items. Taste ok.

If you are looking for staying in the hotel and relax/enjoy the view/lawn/garden, its worth the money spent. However if you want to make it a base and use it primarily for the night stay, I would not recommend staying here.

The staff was helpful, food was ok but variety was limited. For Rs. 1200(600 per person) dinner and Rs 700 (350 per person), I would expect a lot more variety in the buffet.

Tips - Do not opt for plans including meals

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in the dar-es-salam. The interiors of the hotel were excelled above what I expected. They had a majestic feel. The rooms were quite comfortable with a good view of the nagin lake and fancy kashmiri interiors. The Indian food was also delicious. Only the service was a bit sloggy but tolerable.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhrumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Run by the warm & quite young Mr. Khurram Hussain & his family, this boutique hotel having some 14 rooms in total, is one of the high points of our srinagar stay. Set by the quaint Nigeen lake, far from the madding crowd of the more commercial Dal lake, with a sprawling & extremely well maintained lush green lawn with beautiful trees & flowers, a personal 'shikara' ghat, personalized service & staff who are eager to the smallest of your problems, Dar Es Salam is an abode of peace, tranquility & leisure. One more important factor that goes for this property is that extremely transparent & forthcoming approach to business that the family holds. We needed 2 rooms as we were not getting one big room to accommodate my 80 year old mother whom we wanted to keep closer to us. But though 2 rooms would make more financial sense to the management they called me up & informed us about one big room getting released & thus being available at the very last moment. In-fact even my wife is extremely happy with the way the hotel accommodated & catered to my 3 year old's less spicy & sometimes last moment food requisition and that too with a smile...always. Lastly the travel desk is awesome. It's not a desk. they simply put you onto a car owner who has 4/5 well maintained Innova. They are one of the fewest hotels who do not make money from travel agents and always suggest the most trusting & reliable guys to take you around the valley & beyond.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prof_shonku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel located on the banks of the Nagin Lake, offers wonderful natural views. They have a plush garden, which is a treat for having your morning tea/coffee or just plain relaxing facing the charming lake and the hills behind. Room Service, Cleanliness, upkeep of the property and above all the food was great. I stayed here with my family for 3-nights (25 to 28-Apr'13). The travel guy recommended by them was very helpful and courteous. This is a 2-floor, boutique hotel, with spacious rooms, reading hall, dining area and a verandah. They have around 14 rooms, out of which 3 are lake facing. They do not commit a lake facing room, but do try to help you out if one is available at time of check-in. If you travel during season (Mar to May),the hotel is in high demand, and you will need to pay 100% deposit. They do have a 10-day cancellation policy, and if one is booking months in advance, it is always better to speak to them and reconfirm all the terms. They are ethical and stand by their word.
Recommended for people with a Rs. 10,000 per night (2 adults) budget.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back whenever we decide to visit Kashmir again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, and get confirmation over e-mail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KunalBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Dar es Salam is a visual treat. Located right on the Nageen lake, the views are excellent. They have a beautiful garden, which is a treat both for children and adults. There are large shared spaces like living rooms, covered balconies and dining room which are exquisitely furnished with traditional kashmiri artefacts. The staff is extremely polite and helpful and go a long way in making your experience a warm and personal one.

Room Tip: ask for a lake facing room and make a phone call to the hotel before you arrive to ensure you get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdityaJha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Perfect setting by the lake, quiet surroundings, beautiful view, good garden with large and well kept flowers, clean and well maintained rooms, colonial interiars, clean linen, delicious food, by and large good service. Just two very small issues - one has to struggle hard with the room keys to open the lock; and service in the dining room can improve.

However, these very minor issues are very well ignorable.

Do stay at this small property. It will be a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shraddha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.8 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
2.7 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
0.7 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
3.4 mi away
The Heritage By Heevan
The Heritage By Heevan
#20 of 136 in Srinagar
139 reviews
2.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#31 of 136 in Srinagar
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar-Es-Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Address: Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Business Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $130 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar-Es-Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing