We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and classy”
Review of Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a great stay this last week of March and the feeling i got was that I was was staying in some kind of royal palace.Even the staff was very cool and nice.
The pros;
1) The view from the room ,( if you get lake side) is fantastic.
2) Very elegant and classy. Makes you feel as if you are royalty. Maintenance of Hotel and grounds is very uptodate,clean and quality of all furnishings and fittings is rich and neat.
3) Beautiful manicured garden makes you feel like sitting out there and enjoying the evening in peace and quiet with beautiful tranquil views of the lake.
4) Good prompt and courteous service. Reception manager was thoughtful and helpful.
5) Decent breakfast and Dinner quality.
6) Very clean rooms and tea coffee maker in the room was good to have in cold season.

Minor cons;
1) The hot water in taps flows only after you let the water flow for 10- 15 minutes.
( I dont like wasting so much water.)
2)Dinner was always late no matter what time you came( maybe they start to lay the buffet only after you arrive)
3)Both Non -veg items were very oily on 2 days( there was oily red chicken curry on both days), but veg was good.
4) Quiet far from Dal Lake and Dalgate( approx 13 kms) but its ok if you have your own private taxi.

Would very much recommend for a classy, peaceful and heritage stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murtuza707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 353 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Thank you Mr Khurram for an excellent stay & hospitality. It was truly a memorable stay cherished by all of us. Already dreaming & planning for another stay at Dar-es-Salam. Beautiful garden with tulips about to flower, perfect picturesque surroundings with Nageen lake in front & snow-clad mountains looming beyond the lake. Perfect setting to enjoy & relax away from hustle bustle of the city

Room Tip: 1st floor room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanuPrakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hi All,
I had planned my trip to Kashmir which got cancelled due to CURFEW imposed in the city in Feb'13. Though I could not visit the place but the experience I had over phone was superb. These guys refunded my money in full amount without much ado. I am quite positive about the property and hospitality of these guys yet and looking forward to visit the hotel next time I plan a trip to Srinagar.
Thanks for being considerate.

Br,
Shubham Agarwal

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ShubhamDaruka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed in the dares salaam hotel during the first week of Feb and I must say it was a pleasure to stay here. First of all it ws a cheap nd nice package by Kashmirmagic.com this hotel never made us felt anything less than a home away from home. The hotel is located on a very good location and is right on the bank of the nageen lake.

I got the room with the beautiful lake view and it was great to have such nice views right in front of my eyes all the time. The rooms with the beautiful views are a little bit far away from the lounge area and this is the only drawback here! The hotel is a heritage property and hence the original charm of this hotel has been retained. The lounges and the common areas of this hotel are very well done and have exquisite settings. The reception area also has anice range of carpets and the paintings are also fabulous. There is also a tea and coffee maker in all the rooms here.

Our transport arrangements were prebooked nd saved us frm hassles. it was great experience to visit the beautiful gulmarg and pahalagam.

The hotel is also very well maintained and special attention is paid to the level of cleanliness here. My room was cleaned twice daily. The bathroom also had well to do toiletetries. The staff here is also very immaculate in its service. The food here is also good and a decent variety of cuisines is also available.

Must visit!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nirmalthakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

There was great expectation from this hotel as people gave great review about same. They are a perfect host who go extra mile to make sure you receive a customize service. Though we njoyed every moment but an example to quote we reached before check in time (6 AM) and we were welcomed by the owner himself they made us get in one of the living room and made arrangement for our room as hotel was sold out. If you are in Kashmir and want a perfect service then please go ahead and book this place you won't be cheated I assure you.
They also introduced us to a cab person (Javeed bhai) who was equally great and made sure that we are secure during our visiit as there was curfew and tension in valley.
A perfect team of people who redefined hospitality

Room Tip: Get any room you will njoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Abhaydev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having read only good reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to book this hotel for my honeymoon. Whatever has been said about the helpful nature of the staff is very true, the manager was extremely courteous and helpful during our stay and acted as the concierge as well. However, despite the lake facing view in our room, I still found the place to be overpriced, especially because of the food and also the overall facilities. It was my first visit to Srinagar so I am not sure how the other hotels are but if you are a tourist who will mostly be sight seeing throughout the day, this probably isn't the hotel for you.

Important: The heating isn't centralized and relies on old fashioned radiators and electric blankets, which is OK, except the bathroom where it is freezing!

Room Tip: Ask for the lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karuna_AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Corner of Nageen lake...a very good location. Great views of the sunset! if you step out early in the cold along the adjoining road you can also have great sunrise views. Rooms are well appointed but lake view choices are very limited. this is compensated by large, comfy, cosy lake view common areas. the staff is very cooperative. we stayed for two nights - but woke up both mornings at about 6.15 am due to the noise of the generator. Also as the hotel is located adjacent to a very busy road leading to north kashmir - so exposure to traffic noise and pollution...we were spared because there was strike/civil curfew during our stay. They do not have a-la-carte food service- you have to buy their pricey buffets. No nearby food joints exist to explore food options outside the hotel. Nageen club is situated very near providing an option to use their facilities for a fee including their restaurant( we had dinner their once- Rs1200/- for six people) - recommended. We left several messages to meet Mr Khurram, the owner, or even talk to him on phone, but he was too busy to respond. Maybe next time....

Room Tip: choose rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agarwalbharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.7 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar - Member ITC's Hotel Group
3.4 mi away
The Heritage By Heevan
The Heritage By Heevan
#16 of 142 in Srinagar
152 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#19 of 142 in Srinagar
517 reviews
2.7 mi away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#23 of 142 in Srinagar
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar-Es-Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Address: Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#8 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $114 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar-Es-Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing