We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Gants Hill, London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

And what a location - the banks of the Nagin/Dal lake! Congratulations to Quuran for managing to keep the serenity and idyllic atmosphere within the beautiful gardens and tastefully decorated building.

Hotel very cosy, clean and comfortable with helpful staff.

Room Tip: One or two rooms have carpets as opposed to wooden floor. The wooden floors are lovely, and are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    96
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
183
90
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed there for few nights. It was in good location. Our room was lake view. The room was fine, I would not say wonderful, but possibly it can be good standard in Kashmir. Ashtray all over the hotel and guests are smoking which I did not like. Food was wonderful first time, but I could not eat every night. If you are indian,maybe you can enjoy. However, it is too heavy for foreigner and similar dishes every night. But the quality was good. Location was in good area. But some room is quite close to road side. I took a boat from main center of city and took me about 2 hours, but I really enjoyed the journey. The hotel garden was really beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is as beautiful located as It overlooks the Nigeen Lake.The food was very good but lacked variety in menu.The rooms are clean and quiet spacious but lack basic facilities like Tea/coffee maker in the room .Would suggest only the lake view rooms . But finally very happy with the place and staff who have maintained this boutique property it so beautifully.

Room Tip: Select only & only lake view rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildSudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures. It overlooks the Nigeen Lake, which is much cleaner than the Dal lake. The garden is beautifully manicured but does not look artificial. The hotel has very few rooms but they are spacious. The bathrooms, though spacious, could do with exhaust (the only negative in the place). The food, surprisingly, was the best we got in Srinagar. To top it all, the service was prompt and excellent. Highly recommended - only problem is that you may not feel like stepping out of the hotel !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChandramaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

As a gateway to our first family vacation in Kashmir, we could not have possibly made a better choice. Just beyond the main city with its narrow lanes, dust and crowds, set against the gently lapping waters of Nagin Lake and within a couple of miles of the exquisite Hazratbal mosque, this lovely little boutique hotel makes for a perfect retreat. the garden is beautifully maintained, yet just wild enough to be a magnet for all the birds of the region. Shikaras - the local rowboats - dock just beyond the hedge and can take you all the way across the city at a dreamily gentle pace past the everyday lives of the local populace. The staff are knowledgeable, friendly and prompt. The food - compared with every other place we ate at in Kashmir- was simply outstanding.

Room Tip: If you like a very quiet room, it is better to take one on the upper floor. The rooms below are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixie0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we considered this trip as an adventure and rewinding of our honeymoon memories since we are now in our sixties. Although we do not possess good health, but with the help and support of the owner, Mr. Hussain and his staff, this trip became a grand success for us and now we have committed to ourselves to visit Srinagar every year and stay in this hotel "only" for as long as we can. The moment you enter the hotel, you can see the tastefully groomed garden with awesome background of serene Nageen Lake. During our stay, we were very pleased with the courtesy and etiquette of the staff and attention to our specific needs for food. Individualized service was a bonus and room was just superb. They all went out of way to to help us. with best wishes

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinodsogani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
196 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visted this Hotel in September though I stayed at the Comrade in and wanted to check out this hotel as it was rated No 1 on tripadvisor . I was shown around by the father of the owner of this property. Compared to the Taj or the Lalit which are the two 5 star Hotels, this is a small bungalow, furnished in period furniture, spotlessly clean, lovely rooms and they even have a/c. The bed are comfortable, toilets spacious and spotless and the restaurant tastefully done. They even have a lounge on the first floor that overlooks the lake. The highlight is the lovely lawn and garden overlooking the serene nigeen lake. All in all, a lovely heritage property and would love to stay here some day ! There is something about this place that is so warm and welcoming, so british..... so pristine and neat...keep it up Dar Es Salam !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank vinn_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.7 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 133 in Srinagar
356 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
0.7 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#30 of 133 in Srinagar
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
0.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar-Es-Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Property: Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Address: Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Business Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar-Es-Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing