We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Nearby Hotels
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Akbar Inn(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
$34
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,237
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Renaissance Hotel(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
$46
$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
$34
$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel New Mamta(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
$26
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hillscape Inn(Srinagar)
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
232
96
21
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
232
96
21
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelnagin lakeshikara ridea lake view roommanicured gardensthe ownerlovely lawnhari parbatfull bloomkashmiri cuisineawesome foodmain citystayed for nightsexcellent viewpersonal touchparathacomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 357 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I visited the hotel during my Kashmir vacation with my husband & infant daughter.

Based on the various TA reviews, we were sure that we absolutely did not want to stay on the Dal lake. This property was also rated very highly & hence we zeroed in on this one & even changed out itinerary dates since it was not available for one of the days as per our earlier plan.

The hotel was originally a bunglow/house & converted in to a boutique hotel with 14 rooms. We were lucky to get a lawn-facing, lake-view room on the ground floor. The room was very pleasant and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean.

The hotel is beautifully themed up & has a heritage feel. The lawn is also very well-maintained & has nice sitting / relaxing / playing options. The restaurant is also cosy & well-done. (Pls note there is no high-chair and it may be a good idea for them to invest in one since they have expensive cutlery all around ;).

The food was also fine. We had taken a breakfast inclusive package. While there was no buffet breakfast, there were good enough choices for us to order from. We also took 2 dinner meals at the hotel & realized that it was cheaper to order dinner at the restaurant than include in the room package.

The kawa at the hotel was one of the best kawa we sipped in the Kashmir trip. The cookies that accompanied the kawa were so very delicious and I still long for them!

The staff were all excellent & prompt in the services. No complaints at all. Khurram, the owner, was also very helpful & approachable. It was nice seeing him spend good time talking to all his guests and making each one feel comfortable.

The location is on the Nagin lake, which is far more peaceful compared to the chaotic Dal lake.
We had booked all-day cabs for ourselves & hence did not mind the "remoteness" of the place. There were not enough street lights on the road to Daressalam at the night time and this can be a factor if you are planning to take rickshaws or public transport. Finding a rickshaw from hotel to other sights / places may also be a challenge after dark. There is not much of activity to do in the area where the hotel is located. However, we were absolutely okay since we had all-day cab & never wanted to be in the "thick of things". The property is so amazing that you will not regret sitting on the lawn chairs or swing sipping kawa :)

Lastly - a general tip. Houseboats may fancy you but I do not recommend staying overnight. Shikara ride should be enough for experience sake. Hotel stay gets my thumbs up over the house boat stay even if it means staying at a hotel on Dal lake! We spent 3 nights in hotel & 2 nights in a houseboat in Srinagar and I would never ever choose a houseboat stay now on. There was nothing exciting about the houseboat at all. Pls read my houseboat review if interested.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms facing the lake & the lawn.. one on the ground floor & other 2 on the first floor... Good views!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank willseedworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just perfect ! 14 rooms. Spacious...lot's of space.

Most important. VERY WELL KEPT. Everything is really well maintained which is quite rare for small hotels. Everything is kept as per international standards...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tarun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Finally after a lot of change-of-plans we decided to go for a long trip to Kashmir, Srinagar. We were a group of 12 people. We had taken a tour package from Antilog Vacations , after due diligence , to find out the best tour operator for Srinagar-Pahalgam-Gulmarg-Sonmarg which can give us Cheap rates & good value.They gave us Dares Salam/Taj/Lalit etc to choose from

We asked operator to give us four rooms for our three nights stay at hotel dar es Salam ( after reading TA Reviews). The hotel looks very beautiful from outside. We really got enthralled and this was truly the best place we visited in our life.

The rooms are modernly built. It’s ranked 1 out of 69 hotels in Srinagar for a reason. We were surprised to see the beautiful view of the hotel from the Nageen Lake & vice versa. It’s located in the vicinity of the peaceful and serene nageen lake left exterior.

Our rooms were spacious and the ceiling was in wooden and the wall was painted in white color & trust me , it looked very pretty. Well decorated with modern amenities. The room windows are very well anointed. We felt like staying at home. The rooms are very comfortable with a huge bed and we 3 ppl stayed in one room without any disturbance. The views from the windows are awesome, gorgeous, very naturalistic scenery. We really got very much impressed.

The garden was very well maintained and we sit and get relax with a gang of friends and make a great fun. We spend our mornings in garden and got entertained a lot. The dining room KHASA offers the delicious mouth watering variety of buffet foods. We had Indian items which make us feel heavenly taste.

Staff actually didn’t understand our language (Hindi) so only they smile to watever u say The food is outstanding & non veg primarily The service is good. Waiters are young and they did their job perfectly and they too enjoyed with us without wringing their face.

Needless to say , good option in Srinagar . Loved this amazing tour to Kashmir

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nagendra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

What an experience !!! We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel has a lot of character. Every piece of furniture, decoration , ceilings (with wood engravings) in there seems to have a story to tell. Mr. Khurram who is the owner was very welcoming and courteous.
The rooms, beds, blankets (all down comforters) were top notch. Steaming hot water all the time. The gardens are immaculate and picture perfect. Photographs just cannot do justice. The staff is extremely courteous. One of the Staff members has been working there for the last 20 years or something. The food was very gourmet (sweet dishes were to die for :-) ) The hotel is right on the bank of of Nageen lake. So one can actually board a Shikara from the hotel premises with a cup of tea do some mobile shopping and be dropped off at the hotel. Did just that!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepali100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel has reinforced my faith in tripadvisor reviews after a few misses. It is indeed the best hotel in Srinagar as the rating suggests. We stayed in the Taj for 3 nights and in Dar es Salaam for 4 nights and can confirm that the Hotel Dar es salaam is an experience in hospitaility beyond what any five star can achieve (By the way- the Taj is an excellent property as well).

This is a house built by the current owner's grandfather and seems the old man had taste! The bathrooms are extremely clean. The rooms are large, clean, cosy and well furnished with access to the really nice common areas. The house is full of beautiful collections of porcelain, paintings and wood carvings. Charming country house would be the apt description.

Located by the peaceful and serene Nageen Lake- they have their own shikara wala (Farooq)available where the garden ends. Farooq will take you through the most intricate water lanes of the Dal and make you hot Kawha to boot! Recommend taking the early morning ride to see the floating vegetable markets.

The food is outstanding. Each dinner and lunch menu has one or more Kashmiri delicacy. They have a set menu which is very extensive but you can choose to order ala- carte from the set menu. Service is excellent and timely.

The gardens are a throwback to a different era. We took half a day to just laze around in the gardens and absolutely loved it.

The staff is courteous, well trained and friendly. Khurram (the owner) is around generally and is a delightfully polite and helpful young man.

If the peace lasts, this hotel will be booked months in advance!

We had a great time and thank all the staff and the owners for their hospitality. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: The rooms with the lake view are sought after!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BhaktaPatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews