We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property,overlooking Nagin”
Review of Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Amazing property,overlooking Nagin”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Selected this hotel based upon ratings on Tripadvisor.Pleasantly surprised with this small but elegant, well maintained personal villa converted into a hotel. You can spend the whole evening on its lush green lawns, admiring the beautiful Nagin lake and the lighted fort far away; very courteous staff, good food, well appointed rooms; slightly far from town centre; overall good value for money

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrithviHaldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    96
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
184
90
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

qietly tucked on the banks of Nageen lake, this is an amazing property.More so because of the effprt to retain the original ambience of the place.
it gives a very Vicorian type of a feel with all the artifacts well displayed.The common sitting areas on the 1st floor are delight to spend time at.
The quality and variety of food offered is just o.k.But it is compensated through the smiling staff and service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spiralsDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our stay at Dar Salam was absolutely memorable! The homely warmth, food, view of the Nagin lake and specially the courtesy abd hospitality of the staff is indeed worth a mention. The place is a complete five starrer and my family and me are waiting for our next visit here soon. :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vrindaparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi, india
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

While deciding to book a hotel, we were torn between the lalit, taj , and this hotel. we randomly decided to go for dar-es-salaam. and we sure were pleased that we chose it. the hotel is at the edge of nagin lake and is surrounded by the lake waters on two sides. we chose a room which had huge windows on two walls overlooking the lawns and lake. the view was magical. the food too is excellent. the owner is a very warm and hospitable gentleman and asked us whether we would be interested in eating traditional kashmiri cuisine for dinner on our last night. we were delighted and relished a fabulous kashmiri meal. the staff is very courteous and several hotel chains could learn or two from the hospitality extended at this hotel.
the hotel is the owners family home with sprawling gorgeous lawns with a chinar tree at the centre of the law. the interiors too are tastefully done and the place is warm and welcoming.
i cant wait to return !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simranb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were very keen about Dar-es-salam the moment we laid our plans for kashmir, the reviews about the hotel were fantastic, and so was the hotel. Right from the location, the ambiance, the artistic and tasteful decoration, we have clicked our camera on almost everything of this hotel. The staff is very keen in co-operating with the guests, the service is quick, the food is also very tasty, we loved the garden which overlooks the dal-lake. we would like to congratulate the owner for maintaining such a beautiful property, in such manicured manner, hats off.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms which faces the dal-lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdmubaresorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

At times, you land at places you never planned and end up falling in love with them and wishing that you should have planned to be there. This is exactly what happened with us and Dar es Salam.
We were to spend the night at one of the houseboats on Dal Lake and were all set to do so. However, when we returned around 9pm from the shikara ride, we were told that they have had a power cut due to a transformer burn out and requested to look for an alternate abode for the night.
While most of the the decent hotels were full for the night, it being peak season, we were lucky that we got through to Mr Khurram of Dar es Salam and even luckier to be told that he had just 2 rooms available. 'Phewww...we atleast got a shelter for the night' was the thought with which we checked in, an hour and a half later at this property.
And what a place!!! The interiors were very tastefully done up and it never felt like one is checking into a hotel. You feel that you are staying at the home of a royal Kashmiri family. Right from the lobby to the artifacts on the staircase, everything is classy.
The rooms are very comfortable and elegantly done up. The first floor view of the overlooking nagin lake and the hotel's very own gardens is something we will always remember.
We already had bookings for the remaining two nights, else where in Srinagar and hence had to check out the next afternoon, much to our disappointment. Hence, we didnot try the food at the hotel and cannot comment on it. The phirni we had as a late night dessert was yum!
I know for sure, if I were to ever go back to Srinagar, this is the place I would like to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The location is excellent and the way it is done up but they need to upgrade on the service badly. Drinking Water in the rooms is not available, one needs to ask for water to be placed in the rooms and please they should learn what Buffet Meal is, they need to upgrade they meal service. Over all it is good just because of the location it has.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Numan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.7 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 135 in Srinagar
357 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
0.7 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#30 of 135 in Srinagar
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
0.6 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar-Es-Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Property: Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Address: Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar-Es-Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing