We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Ranked #7 of 139 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Blooming Dale. The location is very good as far as access to the Dal Lake and the main happening part of Srinagar is concerned. The hotel has a nice back lawn and garden where you can have breakfast in the morning. Mr. Firdous, the owner, is super friendly and ever ready to help. He voluntarily took us around in his car. The staff is also friendly and easy going.
The only problem we faced was that our room was towards the road, and every night we were woken up several times by the incessant barking of street dogs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amaitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 314 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two days from 5th to 7th May 2014. It's a very simple but a good staying option. Did our bookings well in advance but transferring some partial amount. Got a phone call two days before confirming on whether we needed some Help. This is Good.

Fortunately we were staying in near by Dal lake house boat hence for us it was just transfer from Ghat no :09 of Dal lake to Ghat no:02. This hotel is located slightly off the main Dal lake road & is very near to ghat or gate no 02 of Dal lake (walking distance). It's a small off street leading to this hotel at almost dead end. campus has two buildings with small garden in between. Hotel building has around 18-20 rooms, I guess six on each floor. In between they have a small garden with sit out arrangement, wihle on the other side it's the owner bunglow. Though the hotel is very simple but they maintain very high level of customer courtesy. Many times you are greeted by the owner who welcome you with kawa & fresh cookies. The owner do tries to understand your plan & where ever possible suggests you some Good things which are genuine to agree on.

We stayed in extra large room as we were two plus two kids. Rooms are big enough, well maintained, clean, proper ventilation, with electric blankets etc. You feel safe in this hotel. We did not had any food here as it is near to the main Dal lake road which houses many restaurants like Shamiyana, Strem etc. Check in & check out was smooth. It would be incomplete without mention of the owner & his excellent courtesy. He is a very good gentlemen, tries to Help up every visiting guests with his age old experience & above that if time permits even sometimes take then out in the market - Keep it up. Would surely suggest to be a part of it.

Room Tip: If possibel go for ground floor rooms, they are large in size with attached rear side sitout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DhanrajKalbhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Reached srinagar at 4.30 pm on 24th may 2014. we were served kashmir special Kahwa (tea) by Meera .Were alloted room by Mr. Firdos .The room a bit small as it accommodate s one double and one single bed, as we were three members. hot water provision for 24hrs as mentioned. Heating blankets also provided wish are a must for temps like srinagar. As regards Mr. Firdos bhai the owner a wonderful person. Dropped us to the ghats for shikara ride himself with his own vehicle, and also advised regarding the charges .He even arranged for the tour program from srinagar to Sonmarg ,Gulmarg, local sight seeing. The simplicity of Mr. Firdos bhai is beyond imagination. He even himself transferred us on his own to another hotel which was booked due to extention of tour. I can recommend this hotel property to travellers with family /without family. Another Plus point is the close proximity to Dal lake, shopping, restaurants .... all walkable distance. 2min from ghat no.2.
.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank PRAJESHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Kashmir was new territory for our otherwise well-travelled family of four. And we found the best hotel, nay home in unfamiliar territories that made our stay in Srinagar such a wonderful experience. Firdous bhai, owner and the soul of this quaint and cosy boutique hotel went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed Kashmir to its umpteenth. We knew we were in for a good time, when we entered after a tiring journey from Jammu to be served fragrant kahwa and fresh cookies. The food served in the hotel is delicious and fresh, the beds are comfortable, bathrooms spotless, nothing ostentatious but very tastefully decorated with Kashmiri bedspreads and blankets, and high speed wi-fi, a saviour in Srinagar, since prepaid phones don't work there. Firdous bhai takes personal care of every guest, an experience quite unheard of and something we experienced for the first time. This included everything from planning our itinerary, making maps for us to follow on our trip to Gulmarg, booking taxis, advising us about places to eat and shop at, picking us up personally from the Tourist Reception Centre in the rain, driving us to shops with the best wares and best prices for everything from walnuts to embroidered clothes. Hospitality is second nature to Kahmiris, and Bloomingdale is an embodiment of that. Staying at Blooming Dale was the high point of our Kashmir trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank PayelMajumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Great host, lovely rooms, very talented family (particular mention to Firoud's singing and art and his son's wonderful photography). We stayed in July 2012 and had a very lovely stay. Taken on a tour and revelled in Firoud's knowledge and worldliness. 'Travel is a great school' is a comment you made that we will not forget. It is also a fitting phrase for the experience you gave us. Thank you. Kev and rach.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Kathmanduo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the summer of 2012 and had a fantastic stay. Firoud was a great host and gave us a wonderful tour of the city. His intellect and worldliness added to the experience and he has a beautiful singing voice too (rendition of you fill up my senses was pitch perfect!). Thank you for your hospitality and hope to see you again one day. Kev and rach.

Stayed: May 2014
9  Thank Kathmanduo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Mr. Firdaus and his team gave us a warm reception and a very homely stay. It was very reasonably priced and he made all the arrangements for us to travel around in Srinagar and to Gulmarg. We were there in winter but the staff kept our room warm and clean. They made all the Kashmiri delicacies for us and we had a very comfortable stay. We were there during the Bandh but Mr. Firdaus made sure that we reached the airport safely. He is very informative and gave us good information about the history,geography and culture and crafts of Kashmir as well as narrated his own difficult experiences of life in Kashmir. As we promised him we continue to pray for PEACE in Kashmir. I

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoshniTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
0 mi away
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
0 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
0 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages

Address: Dalgate,Buchwara | Buchwara, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: $31 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLOOMING DALE is located in the heart of Srinagar just 2 - 3 minutes walk from world famous Dal Lake.Our rooms are spacious and the baths neat and spotless. Food is served with great sense of hospitality and strictly as per choice of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing