We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blissful and economical stay; hats off to Blooming Dale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A blissful and economical stay; hats off to Blooming Dale”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Blooming Dale was recommended to us by a family friend in Kerala. We, a family of 5 people, stayed there for 4 nights. Mr. Firdaus and his team at the Hotel won our hearts over by their amicable nature and extreme efforts to make our Kashmir visit unforgettable.

When we did not like one of the rooms initially offered to us, we were immediately shown other rooms and given the freedom to choose the one we liked the best. During our stay, we did not have to worry about anything, right from food to taxi, sight seeing, shopping and booking cable car tickets. Another advantage of staying at Blooming Dale is that Dal lake is just a few minutes walk away.

For our visit to Gulmarg, Mr. Firdaus even drew us a map of the place to ensure that we are not cheated by pony riders. The chauffeur too was extremely helpful, guiding us during each phase of our journey. It would be unfair if I do not mention how, each time we returned to the hotel, we used to eagerly look forward for a hot cup of kahwa and yummy cookies.

While our conversations with Mr. Firdaus ranged from the scenic beauty of Kashmir to skiing and literature, his son impressed us with his photography skills.

Really felt at home! I recommend this place to anyone looking for a simple, peaceful and economical stay in Srinagar :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A_J0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    78
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
156
65
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had booked this place on the basis of reviews of other people on Trip advisor. This review and the place is all about Mr Firdaus, his personal touch to make you feel at home, his genuine try to make your stay comfortable, his passion for Kashmir and Kind heartedness to ensure you get a glimpse of kashmir as a part of it and not as a guest makes it worthwhile to stay at Bloomingdale. We felt like we were being driven around in the city of Srinagar with an old friend not a hotel owner. He also takes care of taxi and other travel related services ast a very economical costs. We love travelling and arranging everything on our own to be economical, but we left it on Mr Firdaus for travel this time and didnt regret a bit . Thanks Mr Firdaus and team for a memorable stay and a heartwarming experience . Appreciate it.

Room Tip: rooms on the 1st floor give more privacy. This place is not for views or rooms , Its for experiencin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WanderlustJigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I choose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor ratings.

The first experience of booking the accommodation through phone was pleasant. Firdous was warm and welcoming.

The airport pickup was hassle free and the check in process was quick.

The experience I had during the 3 day and 2 night stay in the property was excellent.

Here is a quick summary of the plus and the not-so plus

Big Plus:
1. Hospitality.Warm. Friendly. Genuine.
2. Food. Simple, homely and delicious. Dont forget to savour the namkeen tea and Qawah
3. Accessibility to Dal Lake. (3 min walk to Ghat 2 in Boulevard road of Dal Lake)
4. Travel and tourism tips from Firdous. He understands the tourist needs much better.
5. Absolute Value for Money.

Not-so plus

1. The lighting can be brighter in the rooms. The cold weather and the colour combination of the upholstery in the room, makes it feel even more colder.

2. Heating insulation. The room turns cold within few minutes the heater is turned off. Since, it is my first experience in traveling to a place with near zero deg. Celsius, I can not say if it could be the same experience in other properties.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vishy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I visited kashmir from 4-10 nov 2013. I had booked hotel blooming dale for the 1st day based on trip advisor recommendation. we were 2 families with six people. I had planned 2 stay for a day or two at Blooming Dale but ended up staying for 5 days. I will recommend this property who want a cosy, clean, comfortable & friendly stay at srinagar.
Pros:
1) The owner:
Mr firdaus ahmed the owner is a warm & welcoming person. He gave us amazing & helpful tips throughout our tour & helped us to enjoy the beauty of kashmir. He never tries to force or intimidate u for any of the services which some of our fellow travellers have experienced at other places. He is a very well read person as well as very good singer.
2) Rooms:
Rooms are neat & clean with all the basic facilities including hot water with a friendly staff. A small & well maintained garden is there in hotel campus.
3)Transport
We hired hotel's car & felt safe & satisfied with the friendly services of the chauffeur Mr shabbir. We felt that all the fears about visiting kashmirs r really unfounded in present days.
4)Location:
Market & food joints are a minute walk away at Boulevard-Dal lake. How ever don't expect any room with a view at the hotel as it is situated in a narrow lane.
5)Dining:
A friendly cook-Mir with in house dining is also available but we have to order the food before hand for timely services.
CONS:
I don't think any.
Overall a very good place to stay with value for money.
Looking forward to visit the place again for srinagar to leh trip may be in next summer.
Dr shyamal Padh-Ahmedabad-Gujarat-India

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dr shyamal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

visited kashmir in march"13 despite of all controversies going on about this "jannat" on earth . we feel lucky to find a fantastic person firdous bhai & his small but very good hotel cottage BLOOMING DALE. we had a gr8 saty here for four nights & we never thaught of eating outside d hotel. the food is soo tasty made by hotel satff. very polite & humble owner & staff. rooms are good & comfortable. not very luxurious but u can enjoy sleeping on elerctric blankets. firdous bhai is not only d owner of d hotel but he is everybody friend, guide, brother, singer,a learned person & above all a GEM. he take care of all dthings including tansport, sight seeing, shopping,food,water..
all u hav to do is just contact him & reach his place . every thing will be ready at ur service. & d hospitality starts from d airport itself with his driver waiting to welcome u.
thnku fidrous bhai for such a wonderful memories..
overfull a must stay budget hotel.
amber jasvi..indore

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I visited Srinagar with my family and stayed at Blooming Dale for 3 days. I enjoyed my stay at the Blooming Dale which was more like a homestay rather than a hotel. The owner, Mr. Firdous was very warm and welcoming person, also a good singer. He even gave us a few useful tips on various tourist places. Food here is normal home cooked food with limited options. One of the biggest advantages with this place is its close proximity to Dal Lake (about 500mts walk from Dal Gate Shikara stand 2). However, dont expect any scenic beauty in the immediate surroundings of the hotel as it is situated in a narrow alley. Overall I was very impressed with the staff and overall experience we had. Definitely a good economical option near the Dal Lake

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Varun_Unnikrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manipal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Bloomingdale is a very good place to stay at srinagar. Mr Firdous is awesome. I never felt I stayed in a hotel. The hospitality was so good that I felt I stayed at Mr Firdous's home. Mr Firdous's knowledge about Kashmir, his suggestions and advice are amazing indeed. The room was average one (comfortable, though), but the host of the hotel is the star attraction. Mr. Mir and his assistant cooked well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krishna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 129 in Srinagar
217 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 129 in Srinagar
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#27 of 129 in Srinagar
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#21 of 129 in Srinagar
335 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages

Property: Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Address: Dalgate,Buchwara | Buchwara, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Family Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLOOMING DALE is located in the heart of Srinagar just 2 - 3 minutes walk from world famous Dal Lake.Our rooms are spacious and the baths neat and spotless. Food is served with great sense of hospitality and strictly as per choice of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing