We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Ranchi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality like Home”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Located in a bye-lane near Dal Lake, at first we were not sure after reaching the building whether we had selected the right place for a vacation for our group of three couples and a child. All doubts were dispelled when we entered the small Hotel and were greeted with hot Kashmiri tea and the yummiest of cakes. We were given the first floor rooms and the staff was most friendly and ready to do anything at our bidding. We had reached the friendliest place in town.

What was still more welcome was the special care Mr. Firdaus, the owner, took in planning our day-to-day sightseeing activities. He gave us valuable tips and always was available to make our trip most enjoyable and comfortable. We had rented two Innovas fom him and the drivers were very courteous and showed us Srinagar, Sonmarg, Gulmarg, Pahalgam and all the way to Katra.

Highly recommended specially for families..

Room Tip: First floor rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunnaRanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    78
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
162
66
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I'm writing this post after almost 30 months of my visit to Srinagar.

I had decided to visit Srinagar, Pahalgam and Gulmarg. We had booked tickets to and from Srinagar. As my parents accompanied us (and also a 3 year old kid), we decided to have an accomodation in Srinagar the moment we land to avoid searching an accomodation with parents, kid and luggage and decided Blooming Dale (there was no trip advisor in India then). Had some e-mails exchanged with Mr. Firdous and decided to go only with accomodation for 2 days (no full package).

After we landed, we realised it is not a hotel per se, but almost a homestay. The place is about 200 mtrs from Dal Lake and also about 400 mtrs from busy market place of Srinagar. As per our original plan, our stay at Blooming Dale would be for two days and then we had booked a place in Pahalgam for a night. Then come back to Srinagar, stay in a house boat and then leave for Mumbai..

Though I did not take the entire package of Mr. Firdous, we ended up almost going to him for everything. He arranged for a vehicle for us to go to Pahalgam. He enquired the place where we had booked and called the owner of the hotel to take good care of us !! We told him that we planned to stay in a house boat. He asked us to come back from Pahalgam and he would take us to the house boat.

After our return from Pahalgam, we stayed for a night in his place. He took us to a house boat, negotiated for us. One point of great mention was that, as we were 4 adults and a kid and our trip was for a week, he made two trips in his Alto to Dal Lake to ferry us and luggage for shifting to houseboat. When we vacated from Houseboat, he arranged for a vehicle to pick us and drop at his place. As we were pure vegetarians, we did not have any food in his place and he was ok with that, but ensured we had Qahwah (Kashmiri tea) with him.

Mr. Firdous also came along with us when we wanted to buy Kashmiri sarees and negotiated on our behalf. One should not miss the artifacts he has at the first floor of his hotel. He is very warm and I have to mention about his father. A very knowledgeable person who spent lots of time with my dad sharing his experiences.

Overall, thanks to Mr. Firdous and his hospitality, we never felt we were away from our home.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GalatiIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

There would be many hotels giving excellent service but if you need personal attention & homely stay Blooming Dale is the place. Actually I shortlisted & recommended Blooming Dale based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. And to my surprise my uncle & his family not only enjoyed their stay with Blooming Dale but also extended it. In fact they covered almost all the locations by taking a day trip around & preferred staying with Blooming Dale except 2 days trip to Pahelgam. I am personally very happy to receive such a nice feedback from my uncle about my recommendation & thank to hotel personnel for their personal attention & service.

After having heard about the experiences from my guests what I believe is........for Blooming Dale word "Professionalism" won't be enough to describe their service. They try to go beyond it to help you best. It's the "Passion" & "Dedication". I have traveled a lot due to my profession but haven't seen such devotion. I would definitely recommend Blooming Dale for next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Bloomingdale from Nov 14th to Nov 17th. The hotel is very homely, clean, quiet and has Wi fi. Mr Firdous was very helpful with all the arrangements and also helped us book Gondola tickets online. Mr. Yakub took us around in his Tavera and he knows most places. We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was pretty good, especially, the Kahwa. There are very good vegetarian joints at walking distance and you get both South and North Indian cuisine. The hotel is also very close to Ghat 2 and you can take a shikara from there for your ride!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manusrikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at Blooming Dale for 3 nights from Nov 10th to Nov 13th. The only reason we booked this hotel is because of Mr. Firdous. He will never ever let you feel that you are in a hotel. He helped us to manage the whole Srinagar trip (local sight seeing, sonmarg, gulmarg). The best part was he helped us to book the "Gulmarg Gondola" tickets online. Otherwise its very tough to get them from the ticket counters in Gulmarg.
Food is nice and we got a homely feeling in that. Food is prepared by Mr. Mir (he is also very nice person). Only concern could be the variety, there is not so much variety in the food (i think this part should be improved). But the food tastes awesome, specially the Kashmiri "Khawa" (green tea).
Location wise this hotel is also quite good. Located very near to Dal Ghat-2. Shops and other restaurants are within 5 minutes of walk. 3 cheers for this hotel if you want a homestay and not so choosy about food.

Room Tip: Choose the garden facing room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SohelDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here for a week with my wife. I found the place to be clean and with decent facilities. The staff were very helpful and food was great. Firdous uncle planned all our visits and arranged for our stay in Pahalgam as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilSasidharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were on our way from Bangkok to Leh, Ladakh and found a stop in Srinagar would help alleviate possible altitude problems. We followed the advise from Tripadvisor and that was how we booked Blooming Dale. A good choice. The service was excellent, we got good hints on what to see and do. Mr. Firdous even went out of his way when we wanted to go to a confluence point outside the city, N34E75. He also helped us getting a good car with a good driver for our onwards journey on NH1 to Kargill, a driver who in Kargill organised our travel to Leh.

Our two rooms were very satisfactory. A place I would stay at if I come back to Srinagar.

Room Tip: Our two rooms on the ground floor were facing the garden. Peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.8 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 133 in Srinagar
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
0.3 mi away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#22 of 133 in Srinagar
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#32 of 133 in Srinagar
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages

Property: Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Address: Dalgate,Buchwara | Buchwara, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Best Value Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLOOMING DALE is located in the heart of Srinagar just 2 - 3 minutes walk from world famous Dal Lake.Our rooms are spacious and the baths neat and spotless. Food is served with great sense of hospitality and strictly as per choice of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing