We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of RK Sarovar Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RK Sarovar Portico
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Memorable Visit”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stay at Sarovar Portico Kashmir will be the most memorable one. Hotel condition, room service and hospitality has been outstanding. Staff was very friendly and good in nature. We will recommend the hotel to anyone who woud like to visit Srinagar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar !!

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our services to your complete satisfaction which is indeed most encouraging and your feedback continuously motivate us to provide you with services of the highest quality at all the time. We would also like to thanks you for giving details of services liked by you and mentioning your stay as comfortable one.

We value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to R K Sarovar Hotel, where we will make every effort to ensure you have a pleasant and a memorable stay with us again and recommending our services.

Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    137
    65
    31
    34
See reviews for
177
87
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me & my husband went for an extended weekend holiday to Kashmir RK Sarovar Portico Hotel on tripadvisor reviews and we really did enjoy every bit of it. We booked a suite room with wonderful view of valley. We loved the attentive and personalised service specially of our room boy yousuf. Food was served in the restaurant with a good variety of indian, kashmiri, cuisine and all Staff were pleasant and welcoming. A perfect place & hotel for leisure trip....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archana_Pokhriyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Greetings from R K Sarovar Hotel, Srinagar!!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our property and services to your expectations, specially mentioning overall experience as Classically Excellent Stay.

It is through valuable feedback like yours that we strive to improve our services

We value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to R K Sarovar Hotel, where we will make every effort to ensure you have a pleasant and a memorable stay with us again.

Cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at Sarovar for three nights, on a family/business trip. The hotel had its own pro and cons. Srinagar is a beautiful place, and the hotel's location is definitely a plus. Even though while we checked in it took us time and it was a time consuming process, but alas the rooms were comfortable and relaxing. The level of Sarovar group is higher to maintained yet, but this is a good try. I took a presidential suite and deluxe room, the rooms size is good enough and the so is the hygiene. There can be a bit of maintenance problem with the equipment provided by the hotel (like hair dryer, electric kettle and others) but rest is fine. For the price the hotel seems fine. Breakfast is def an average considering the 4 star image of hotel, but its not bad for custom made bfast. Chef in hotel has great local skills of food, and makes you taste kashmir in every bite. Hotel located o such a location can be not suggested to handicap people, as its not handicap friendly. The view is awesomely nice and peaceful. I would be an added benefit to have an airport pick n drop service and wifi in rooms complimentary. Hotel staff is way to helpful and keen on improvements of all type. Major issues like wifi and airport services are found in all hotels in srinagar irregardless of hotel type. It does leave a big room for improvements with little issues but overall it was a lovely stay. Comforting on all levels, it would be great to see it grow in a better form. Suggested for couples, family and business stays. i had a great experience thanks to Imran Wani, who helped me book the rooms, and made us feel like home. Thanks to him we got a great hotel, and he was a good help in suggesting us place to visit and things to do. He took care of all issues that were troubling us to make our stay better. The hotel though was completely jam packed but we didnt regret the service, we were given good preference and were made to feel special. All though there were many problems, the staff was helpful n eager to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AarshiAiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar!!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our property and services to your expectations, specially mentioning Home away from Home.

It is through valuable feedback like yours that we strive to improve our services

We value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, where we will make every effort to ensure you have a pleasant and a memorable stay with us again.

Cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURBAN SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
367 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

we stayed at the Sarovar Portico hotel in Srinagar for a few nights, the hotel staff were excellent , gave as very good service ,restaurant staff very helpful especially Nisar Ahmad Bhat-the manager went out of his way to make our stay memorable and comfortable . Ahmad bhat made sure we had our food in time, meals were excellent. I would recommend any one to stay at this hotel, rooms are decent size, n location is good. Ahmad Bhat hospitality is excellent .he is a peoples person and knows how to treat his guests, keep up the excellent work Mr Nisar Ahmad Bhat.! IF u ever go to Sarovar Portico hotel pls ask for nisar ahmad and sure to God he will help u all the way throughout your stay well done I will definitely go back there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar!!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our property and services to your expectations,

It is through valuable feedback like yours that we strive to improve our services

We value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, where we will make every effort to ensure you have a pleasant and a memorable stay with us again.

Cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

we stayed at sarovar on our leisure trip. We had our nine month old baby with us. The hotel staff did everything to make us comfortable. They helped us with separate baby food made in request by us, for which they did not charge us. Special mention for the house keeping staff-ambreen ,who arranged a tub for us,so that u could give my baby a safe bath!also the chef at the hotel is not only courteous he is extremely humble. He would personally attended to people eating at the restaurant and interact very often. Being a first time mom and the first trip out with an infant -me and my hubby were jittery, the entire staff chef and Gm Mr. Shafiul helped us all along making us feel at home! Thanks a lot once again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zingy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar!!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our property and services to your expectations,

It is through valuable feedback like yours that we strive to improve our services

We value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, where we will make every effort to ensure you have a pleasant and a memorable stay with us again.

Cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

In my last trip to Srinagar stayed in sarovar portico for a couple of nights. The location of the hotel is very nice however was disappointed by the service .

Breakfast was very average and the restaurant staff not very helpful. Had to remind them twice about everything .

Rooms were ok, bathrooms manageable. The hotel didnt have a covered area approaching the lobby , our luggage got pretty wet as it was raining while we were checking out.

Overall ok experience and a bit low on value given the price vs. service provided.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JI009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar !!

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

I have personally made a note of your feedback and have shared it with the concerned Department Head's.

We value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, where we will make every effort to ensure you have a pleasant and a memorable stay with us next time.

cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great location, good price in comparison to others as i came back, good food

seems sarovar has lifted the standards at the hotel what it was earlier as this was my second visit

thank you for arranging gulmarg trip also

Keep up the good work

Room Tip: Choose for hotel location and food
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinkuAgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar !!

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our services to your complete satisfaction which is indeed most encouraging and your feedback continuously motivate us to provide you with services of the highest quality at all the time. We would also like to thanks you for giving details of services liked by you and mentioning your stay as comfortable one.

We value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to R K Sarovar Hotel, where we will make every effort to ensure you have a pleasant and a memorable stay with us again and recommending our services.

Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
93.4 mi away
Royal Khazir Boutique
Royal Khazir Boutique
#58 of 129 in Srinagar
69 reviews
4.8 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 129 in Srinagar
344 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Heritage By Heevan
The Heritage By Heevan
#20 of 129 in Srinagar
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Mumtaz Srinagar
Grand Mumtaz Srinagar
#45 of 129 in Srinagar
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#21 of 129 in Srinagar
335 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RK Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RK Sarovar Portico

Property: RK Sarovar Portico
Address: Next to United Nations Head Office, Sonwar, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RK Sarovar Portico 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
R K Sarovar Portico, Srinagar, is a contemporary and elegant retreat for the discerning business as well as leisure traveller. The hotel offers 55 well designed centrally heated guest rooms and suites equipped with all modern amenities such as LCD Televisions, tea / coffee maker, well stocked Mini Bar, direct dial telephones, electronic safes etc. The hotel is located just 15 Kms from the Jammu - Srinagar Highway, 12 Kms From the airport, half a km to the dal lake, half a km to the commercial hub lalchowk, 3 kms to the famous mughal gardens. The meeting and conference venues here are perfect to address requirements for MICE groups and social events. Guests will have the opportunity to unwind by the state-of-the-art gymnasium.Srinagar Local Information :Set in the heart of the Kashmir Valley, Srinagar is dominated by the imposing Dal Lake and its twisting waterways, Nagin Lake and the Jhelum River break up the urban area. Not just the expanse of water, the lakes is filled with houseboats, villages, narrow water canals, lotus & vegetable gardens and houses and shops. Life on the lakes, as witnessed from the confines of a Shikara, is unique. On land, a stroll through the terraced hillsides of the 400 year old Mughal Gardens is a treat to the eyes. Apart from this, the city is also famous for its traditional Kashmiri handicrafts – like hand woven silks and embroidered shawls, and dry fruits. PLACES OF INTEREST: Dal Lake: (1 km) : The Dal Lake is Srinagar’s most distinctive landmark. It is divided by causeways into four parts, the Nagin Lake being one of them. The best way of exploring the lake and the sites on its shores by Shikara boat.Hari Parbat (12 kms) : the hill of Hari Parbat is considered sacred to the Hindus, Muslim and Sikhs alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your RK Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RK Sarovar Portico Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing