We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome place”
Review of Sonamarg

Sonamarg
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Full-Day Private Trip to Thajiwas Glacier and Zero Point from Srinagar
Ranked #5 of 70 things to do in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An awesome place”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place is awesome but really the ponywalas create a lot of problem. If they are not there then I must give this place a 5 star. Except this is the one of the best place in Kashmir. The scenic beauty is awesome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sourav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    223
    79
    27
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Crowded place" beautiful spots are far off”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Sonamarg was a disappointment. It has become just too commercialized. The businesses (esp. the restaurants) unabashedly try to make fool of the tourists. My wife went to purchase a bottle of water and that fool of shop-owner asked Rs. 25 for a bottle that was priced at Rs. 18! We politely said no thank you and bought one from the adjoining shop at Rs. 20. Most of the restaurants serve Rotis that are as hard as a plastic plate. I mean, we were so disappointed that we ate only maggie the whole day (at least that was piping hot and palatable).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Lko_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“loved it ...”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We njoied the most in sonmarg because of the spectacular views, nice weather and the maximum snow we found in the August trip ... loved having maggi sitting in the stream of water ... njoied every bit of our time spent ....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ankuraquarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sonamarg - a jewel in the Paradise”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Sonamarg offers an excellent view of the mountains and Indus river. It is easiest to reach snow clad areas among all destinations in Kashmir even as late as June. Thajwas glacier is a place of great beauty. And more beautiful is the journey to the glacier. I would suggest trekking along the route rather than take a pony ride or by road. The journey by a vehicle ends a bit ahead of glacier (you need to commission only local vehicles). A trekking journey will keep you away from the tiring touts as well.

More important - do stay there overnight.(though most tour operators recommend a day trip from Srinagar). The morning view of the river and mountains is amazing. We stayed at Snowland and the manager Kaleem was very helpful.

And yes do not forget to have a Paratha breakfast at the Jai Mata Di - a Vaishno Dhaba there. A great place to have Jain food as well and very hospitable owner. (see attached snap)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Shah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coonoor, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A night mare!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Disliked everything about Sonamarg - It should be renamed Narakmarg. Unfathomable organised fleecing of the Tourists in every way. Was really happy when we turned our car towards Srinagar, albeit a lighter wallet. It's a sham played on the people who actually feed them. The tour which could actually cost some where Rs.2500, will cost you anything up to 12000/. There is no fixed rate even though they have been doing this for ages. The Tourist Police work in hand in glove with them and is no help at all. Before embarking up on the sight seeing trip fix the rate, around Rs.3000/ They will not agree, act like you are no more interested in the tour and turn back. Then they will call you back to haggle and agree for couple of hundred more. The lousy dirty toilet will make you lighter by 10Rs. same charge to enter Shalimar or Mughal Gardens.We returned hungry and thirsty, because we were caught unaware! The cartel is formed by the Local tribes and the Government has given them a free hand to run scam. It's a real pity as the Kashmir trip is otherwise a beautiful experience. Remember your own four wheel drives are not allowed - only their Taxis. So you are left with no choice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vjrnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonamarg also viewed

Srinagar, Srinagar District
Srinagar, Srinagar District
 
Srinagar, Srinagar District
Srinagar, Srinagar District
 

Been to Sonamarg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing